Our Pick: Dream Water

Check price on Amazon →

Best Melatonin Shots (2026): Dream Water, RYDE, Tru and the Rest, Shot for Shot

Buy Dream Water Sleep Shots, 5 mg melatonin with GABA and 5-HTP, 12 for $29.55 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026), about $2.46 a shot. If you want a certification mark on the bottle, the Dream Water NSF shot at $30.99 states zero sugar and NSF on the title. Six shots ranked below on the four things a two-ounce bottle can be judged on: what the title states, what it leaves out, sugar, and the price per shot.

By The Sleep Desk2026-09-05~12 min read Ranked on verified label facts, never box claimsHow we research

Dream Water Sleep Shots, 5 mg Melatonin, GABA, 5-HTP, 12 CountBest Overall

Dream Water Sleep Shots, 5 mg Melatonin, GABA, 5-HTP, 12 Count

Dream Water · 4.5

$29.55

Vitamin Energy 8 Hour Sleep Shot, Mixed Berry, 12 PackBest Value

Vitamin Energy 8 Hour Sleep Shot, Mixed Berry, 12 Pack

Vitamin Energy · 4.0

$29.97

Frog Fuel Reset Liquid Sleep Supplement Shot, Chamomile Honey, 24 PackUpgrade Pick

Frog Fuel Reset Liquid Sleep Supplement Shot, Chamomile Honey, 24 Pack

Frog Fuel · 3.8

$64.00

Buy Dream Water Sleep Shots, 12 count, $29.55 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026), about $2.46 a shot. The title states 5 mg melatonin, GABA and 5-HTP, and the count, which is everything a buyer needs and more than any other shot on this page states. For the certified version, the Dream Water NSF shot at $30.99 adds zero sugar and an NSF mark. For a zero-sugar shot from another brand, RYDE at $29.99 for 8.

A melatonin shot is a two-ounce bottle of melatonin, usually with a few other actives, that you drink and put down. Its case is convenience: no water, no scoop, no chewing, and a bottle that lives on a nightstand or in a carry-on. Its cost is real, roughly $2.30 to $3.75 a night on this page for a labeled 5 mg that a fast-dissolve tablet delivers for about a dime, and its other cost is disclosure: two of the six shots here do not state their melatonin amount on the title, and one does not state melatonin at all.

How we rank: labeled melatonin per shot as the title states it, the companions the title names, whether the title addresses sugar, and cost per shot computed only where the title states the count. Every listing and price was verified live via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026. We are a verification desk, not a lab; we read labels and listings and weigh consistent owner reports, we do not test products, and we do not describe what GABA, 5-HTP, valerian, chamomile, lavender or magnesium do. Pick slots go to recognized brands only. No brand paid for a placement; if you buy through our links we may earn an Amazon commission at no extra cost to you. Melatonin is a dietary supplement; ask a pharmacist if you take other medication, and do not drive after a shot.

The short version

  • Our Pick: Dream Water Sleep Shots, 5 mg with GABA and 5-HTP, 12 for $29.55, about $2.46 a shot; the 24-count at $54.99 is about $2.29.
  • Best certified: Dream Water NSF shot, 5 mg, zero sugar, NSF stated on the title, $30.99 (count not published on the title).
  • Best zero-sugar shot from another brand: RYDE, blackberry, 2 fl oz, $29.99 for 8 (about $3.75) or $69.99 for 24 (about $2.92). The title does not state the melatonin amount.
  • Most ingredients stated: Vitamin Energy 8 Hour Sleep Shot names melatonin, 5-HTP, GABA, valerian and lavender, 12 for $29.97, about $2.50 a shot. Tru Dream Shot names melatonin, GABA, chamomile and magnesium, $32.99, count not published.
  • The outlier: Frog Fuel Reset, chamomile honey, 24 for $64.00, about $2.67 a shot. The title does not state melatonin; read the panel before assuming it has any.

At a glance

ShotMelatonin (title)Also in it (title)Sugar (title)CountPer shotPrice (9/5/26)Check price
Dream Water Sleep Shots5 mgGABA, 5-HTPNot published12$2.46$29.55Check price on Amazon
Dream Water NSF Sleep Shots5 mgGABA, 5-HTPZero sugarNot publishedn/a$30.99Check price on Amazon
RYDE Sleep Shot, blackberryStated, amount not publishedNot publishedZero sugar8$3.75$29.99Check price on Amazon
Vitamin Energy 8 Hour Sleep ShotStated, amount not published5-HTP, GABA, valerian, lavenderNot published12$2.50$29.97Check price on Amazon
Tru Dream Shot, extra strengthStated, amount not publishedGABA, chamomile, magnesiumNot publishedNot publishedn/a$32.99Check price on Amazon
Frog Fuel ResetNot stated on titleChamomile honey (flavor)Not published24$2.67$64.00Check price on Amazon

Six sleep shots. Melatonin, companions, sugar and count are from the Amazon listing title only; "not published" means the title is silent. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026. Cost per shot is price divided by the title's count and appears only where the title states one.

Our PickBest Melatonin Shot Overall
Dream Water Sleep Shots, 5 mg Melatonin, GABA, 5-HTP, 12 Count

Dream Water Sleep Shots, 5 mg Melatonin, GABA, 5-HTP, 12 Count

Dream Water

The shot that states everything: 5 mg, GABA, 5-HTP, 12 count, about $2.46 each.

4.5

Our verdict: The original sleep shot is still the best-documented one. The title states the melatonin amount, names both companions and states the count, so $29.55 divided by 12 is an honest $2.46 a shot. Every other shot on this page is missing at least one of those three facts from its title.

Verified: Labeled 5 mg melatonin per shot with GABA and 5-HTP, Snoozeberry flavor, 12 count. Live at $29.55 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Start with the listing that hides nothing. The Dream Water Sleep Shot title reads like a Supplement Facts panel: 5 mg melatonin, GABA, 5-HTP, Snoozeberry, 12 count. On a page where two competitors leave the amount off and one leaves melatonin off, that is the reason it is the pick.

The math: $29.55 divided by 12 is about $2.46 a shot. The 24-count at $54.99 is about $2.29, the cheapest stated-amount shot on this page per serving.

The title does not address sugar; the Snoozeberry shot is the sweetened original. If that matters, the NSF version on the next card states zero sugar, and the line's Sleep Aid Drink states zero sugar as a full bottle. The whole family is sorted in our Dream Water review; the broader category, including powders, is the best sleep drinks.

Who should buy it

Buy it if you want a sleep shot from the brand that built the format, with the amount and companions stated, at the lowest stated-amount price per shot in the 24-count.

What we don't like

5 mg is the only amount Dream Water sells, the title does not address sugar, and about $2.46 a night is a steep premium over a tablet at the same labeled melatonin.

Melatonin per serving
5 mg (1 shot)
Form
Liquid shot, Snoozeberry
Count
12
Added ingredients
GABA, 5-HTP (per title)
Sugar
Not published in the title
Cost per serving
$29.55 / 12 = about $2.46
Age on label
Adults (per title)

What we like

  • Amount, companions and count all on the title
  • About $2.46 a shot, $2.29 in the 24-count
  • Zero-sugar and NSF versions in the same line

Worth noting

  • 5 mg only
  • Sugar not addressed on this title
Best Certified Shot
Dream Water NSF Sleep Aid Liquid Shots, 5 mg Melatonin, GABA, 5-HTP, Zero Sugar

Dream Water NSF Sleep Aid Liquid Shots, 5 mg Melatonin, GABA, 5-HTP, Zero Sugar

Dream Water

The Dream Water shot with an NSF mark and zero sugar stated, $30.99.

4.5

Our verdict: Same 5 mg, GABA and 5-HTP as the original, plus two things the original's title lacks: zero sugar and an NSF certification. Given what published analyses have found about melatonin label accuracy, a third-party mark is the most useful line on any listing here. The title does not state the count, so we cannot give a per-shot price.

Verified: Labeled 5 mg melatonin with GABA and 5-HTP, zero sugar, natural flavors, NSF stated on the title; count not published. Live at $30.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The certified one. The Dream Water NSF shot states the same 5 mg melatonin, GABA and 5-HTP as the Snoozeberry original, then states zero sugar, natural flavors, and NSF. That last word is the reason to pay $30.99 instead of $29.55.

Why the mark matters: published analyses, including a widely cited 2017 study, found melatonin content in supplements varying widely from the labeled amount. A third-party certification means an outside body verified the label. It is the one thing on a listing that speaks to whether 5 mg means 5 mg, and this is the only shot on the page whose title states one.

What the title omits is the count, so there is no honest per-shot figure; check the listing's pack size against the 12-count original before comparing. If the certification is the reason you are here, it is also worth reading melatonin side effects, since label variance is part of why next-day grogginess reports are inconsistent.

Who should buy it

Buy it if you want the Dream Water blend with zero sugar stated and a third-party certification on the title, and you will check the pack size on the listing.

What we don't like

Count not published on the title, so no per-shot math, and the same 5 mg-only ceiling as the rest of the line.

Melatonin per serving
5 mg
Form
Liquid shot
Count
Not published in the title
Added ingredients
GABA, 5-HTP (per title)
Sugar
Zero sugar (per title)
Cost per serving
Not computable; count not published
Age on label
Not published in the title

What we like

  • NSF stated on the title, the only shot here with a certification
  • Zero sugar and natural flavors stated
  • Same stated 5 mg, GABA and 5-HTP

Worth noting

  • Count not published in the title
  • 5 mg only
Best Zero-Sugar Shot
RYDE Sleep Shot, Blackberry, Melatonin, Zero Sugar, 2 fl oz, 8 Pack

RYDE Sleep Shot, Blackberry, Melatonin, Zero Sugar, 2 fl oz, 8 Pack

RYDE

Zero sugar on the title, 2 fl oz, 8 for $29.99, about $3.75 a shot.

4.2

Our verdict: RYDE states the sugar line and the bottle size and leaves off the melatonin amount. $29.99 divided by 8 is about $3.75 a shot, the highest per-serving on this page; the 24-pack at $69.99 is about $2.92. It is the zero-sugar shot for a buyer who will read the panel for the number.

Verified: Title states melatonin (amount not published), zero sugar, blackberry, 2 fl oz, 8 pack. Live at $29.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The other zero-sugar shot. The RYDE Sleep Shot is a two-ounce blackberry bottle whose title states melatonin and zero sugar and, unlike Dream Water's, not the amount. That is the trade: RYDE tells you about the sugar, Dream Water tells you about the melatonin, and only the Dream Water NSF shot tells you both.

The math: $29.99 divided by 8 is about $3.75 a shot. The 24-pack at $69.99 is about $2.92, still above Dream Water's $2.29 in the 24-count. Buy the 8 to try it; buy the 24 only if the blackberry and the zero sugar win you over.

Owners who choose RYDE over Dream Water consistently cite the flavor and the sugar line rather than anything about the amount, which fits the title. For the powder alternative with zero sugar and a stated 3 mg, the sleep powders ranking has Som Zero Sugar.

Who should buy it

Buy it if zero sugar on the title is the deciding line, you prefer blackberry to berry, and you will read the panel for the melatonin amount.

What we don't like

No melatonin amount on the title, no companions stated, and the highest per-shot cost on the page in the 8-pack.

Melatonin per serving
Not published in the title; see Supplement Facts
Form
2 fl oz liquid shot, blackberry
Count
8
Added ingredients
Not published in the title
Sugar
Zero sugar (per title)
Cost per serving
$29.99 / 8 = about $3.75; 24-pack $69.99 / 24 = about $2.92
Age on label
Not published in the title

What we like

  • Zero sugar stated on the title
  • Two-ounce bottle
  • 24-pack cuts the per-shot cost to about $2.92

Worth noting

  • Amount not on the title
  • About $3.75 a shot in the 8-pack
Best ValueMost Ingredients Stated
Vitamin Energy 8 Hour Sleep Shot, Mixed Berry, 12 Pack

Vitamin Energy 8 Hour Sleep Shot, Mixed Berry, 12 Pack

Vitamin Energy

Melatonin, 5-HTP, GABA, valerian and lavender on one title, 12 for $29.97, about $2.50 each.

4.0

Our verdict: Five actives named on the title, no amounts for any of them. $29.97 divided by 12 is about $2.50 a shot, four cents over Dream Water. "8 Hour" is the brand's name for it, not a finding of ours. It is the shot for a buyer who wants the longest ingredient list in the format and will read the panel for the numbers.

Verified: Title states melatonin (amount not published), 5-HTP, GABA, valerian and lavender, mixed berry, 12 pack. Live at $29.97 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The blend shot. The Vitamin Energy 8 Hour Sleep Shot names melatonin, 5-HTP, GABA, valerian and lavender on its title, the most actives stated by any shot here. It names no amounts, and we describe none of those ingredients beyond reporting that the title lists them.

The math: $29.97 divided by 12 is about $2.50 a shot, a near tie with Dream Water's 12-count at $2.46. The difference is disclosure: Dream Water states 5 mg, Vitamin Energy states a list. Which you prefer depends on whether you want the number or the blend.

On the "8 Hour" in the name: that is the product's name and we repeat it as one. We have no basis to say anything about duration, and the label's own language is the only claim on offer. Valerian and lavender put this shot next to the tea-and-herb tier; melatonin with valerian and chamomile covers that pairing across formats.

Who should buy it

Buy it if you want a shot that states valerian and lavender alongside melatonin, 5-HTP and GABA, at about the same per-shot price as Dream Water, and you will read the panel for the amounts.

What we don't like

No amount for any of the five actives on the title, sugar not addressed, and a name that implies a duration the listing does not substantiate.

Melatonin per serving
Not published in the title; see Supplement Facts
Form
Liquid shot, mixed berry
Count
12
Added ingredients
5-HTP, GABA, valerian, lavender (per title)
Sugar
Not published in the title
Cost per serving
$29.97 / 12 = about $2.50
Age on label
Not published in the title

What we like

  • Five actives stated on the title
  • About $2.50 a shot, in line with Dream Water
  • Valerian and lavender for buyers who want the herbal pairing

Worth noting

  • No amounts on the title
  • Sugar not addressed
  • "8 Hour" is a name, not a finding
Best Shot With Magnesium
Tru Dream Shot, Extra Strength, Melatonin, GABA, Chamomile, Magnesium, Cherry Berry

Tru Dream Shot, Extra Strength, Melatonin, GABA, Chamomile, Magnesium, Cherry Berry

Tru

The only shot here that states magnesium, plus GABA and chamomile, $32.99.

4.0

Our verdict: Tru is the one shot whose title states magnesium, which otherwise lives in the powder tier. It also says "extra strength" without stating the melatonin amount, and it does not state the count, so $32.99 has no per-shot figure. It earns its slot on the magnesium line and loses ground on disclosure.

Verified: Title states melatonin (amount not published), GABA, chamomile and magnesium, cherry berry flavor, "extra strength"; count not published. Live at $32.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Magnesium in a shot, which nothing else on this page offers. The Tru Dream Shot title names melatonin, GABA, chamomile and magnesium in a cherry berry shot. If you wanted the Som or Moon Juice pairing without mixing a powder, this is the only shot in the catalog that states it.

What "extra strength" does not tell you: the amount. The title uses the phrase and states no milligrams, for melatonin or for magnesium, and it does not state the count. We print the phrase as the product's name and nothing more. The Supplement Facts panel is the only place the numbers live, and with no count on the title there is no per-shot price to compute from $32.99.

For a buyer who wants magnesium and melatonin together with the amounts stated, the powders are the more transparent tier: the magnesium sleep powders ranking and melatonin with magnesium both start there.

Who should buy it

Buy it if you want magnesium and chamomile in a shot rather than a powder, and you will read the panel for the amounts and the count before judging the price.

What we don't like

"Extra strength" with no stated amount, no count on the title so no per-shot figure, and sugar not addressed.

Melatonin per serving
Not published in the title ("extra strength"); see Supplement Facts
Form
Liquid shot, cherry berry
Count
Not published in the title
Added ingredients
GABA, chamomile, magnesium (per title)
Sugar
Not published in the title
Cost per serving
Not computable; count not published
Age on label
Not published in the title

What we like

  • The only shot here that states magnesium
  • GABA and chamomile also named
  • Cherry berry, for buyers who dislike the berry defaults

Worth noting

  • No amount and no count on the title
  • "Extra strength" is a phrase, not a number
Upgrade PickThe Outlier: A Chamomile Honey Shot
Frog Fuel Reset Liquid Sleep Supplement Shot, Chamomile Honey, 24 Pack

Frog Fuel Reset Liquid Sleep Supplement Shot, Chamomile Honey, 24 Pack

Frog Fuel

A 24-pack chamomile honey sleep shot at $64.00, about $2.67 each; melatonin not stated on the title.

3.8

Our verdict: Frog Fuel is here because it is a recognized sports-nutrition brand selling a 24-pack sleep shot, and because it is the honest counter-example: the title states a flavor and a count and no active ingredient at all. $64.00 divided by 24 is about $2.67 a shot. Do not assume it contains melatonin; the panel decides.

Verified: Title states a liquid sleep supplement shot, chamomile honey flavor, 24 pack; it does not state melatonin or any active. Live at $64.00 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The shot that does not say what is in it. The Frog Fuel Reset title states "liquid sleep supplement shot", chamomile honey, 24 pack. It does not state melatonin, and it does not name any other active. We list it on a melatonin shots page with that fact in the first line, because a buyer searching this category will see it and should know what the listing does and does not promise.

The math: $64.00 divided by 24 is about $2.67 a shot, between Dream Water's 12-count and RYDE's 24-pack. The count is the one thing the title is generous with.

If a chamomile-forward, melatonin-optional shot is what you want, read the Supplement Facts panel on the listing first. If you want the chamomile without a shot at all, the bedtime teas ranking covers the melatonin-free chamomile blends at a fraction of the cost per cup.

Who should buy it

Consider it if you already buy Frog Fuel's line, want a 24-pack chamomile honey shot, and will confirm the actives on the panel before relying on it as a melatonin product.

What we don't like

No melatonin and no active stated on the title, a $64.00 outlay for a listing that discloses only flavor and count, and sugar not addressed.

Melatonin per serving
Not stated on the title; see Supplement Facts
Form
Liquid shot, chamomile honey
Count
24
Added ingredients
Not published in the title
Sugar
Not published in the title
Cost per serving
$64.00 / 24 = about $2.67
Age on label
Not published in the title

What we like

  • 24-pack from a recognized sports-nutrition brand
  • About $2.67 a shot
  • Chamomile honey, a departure from the berry flavors

Worth noting

  • Melatonin not stated on the title
  • No actives stated at all
  • $64.00 up front

The bedtime kit

The six things that round out a melatonin routine: the standard fast-dissolve, a sub-milligram option, a time-release tablet for staying asleep, a magnesium for melatonin-free nights, a bedtime tea, and a kids bottle. Prices are approximate at time of writing.

More picks worth comparing

Beyond this guide, the highest-rated picks across every category and budget, with a live price check on each.

Natrol 5 mg Fast Dissolve

Best Overall

Natrol 5 mg Fast Dissolve

5 mg · 90 ct · ~$9

Check Price
OLLY Sleep Gummies 3 mg

Best Gummy

OLLY Sleep Gummies 3 mg

3 mg · 70 ct · ~$16

Check Price
Nature Made 3 mg Tablets

Best Value

Nature Made 3 mg Tablets

3 mg · 120 ct · ~$7

Check Price
Life Extension 300 mcg

Best Low Dose

Life Extension 300 mcg

300 mcg · 100 ct · ~$8

Check Price
Natrol 10 mg Time Release

Best Time Release

Natrol 10 mg Time Release

10 mg · 100 ct · ~$17

Check Price
Zarbee's Kids 1 mg Gummies

Best for Kids

Zarbee's Kids 1 mg Gummies

1 mg · 60 ct · ~$15

Check Price

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no cost to you.

How we chose

Every product on this site is ranked on the same protocol: melatonin per serving as the label states it, the delivery form, what else is in it, the count, the cost per serving when the listing publishes the count, and how honest the listing is. A shot is the format where the title matters most, because the bottle is opaque and two ounces of liquid gives you nothing to inspect; so on this page the first ranking question is simply whether the title states the amount. We read the Supplement Facts panel and the live listing, verify price and availability via the Amazon Creators API (this page: September 5, 2026), and weigh consistent owner reports. We do not run a lab and we never present a brand's claim as our finding. "Extra strength" and "8 hour" are the brands' words; we repeat them as names, not as findings.

Melatonin is sold in the United States as a dietary supplement, not a drug. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Nothing here is medical advice or an individualized amount; we report what labels direct and note the general guidance, widely cited by sleep clinicians, that lower amounts (often 0.5 to 3 mg) are worth starting with. Every shot here that states an amount states 5 mg. Melatonin can interact with blood thinners, immunosuppressants, blood-pressure and diabetes medication; the added actives on these titles are additional lines for a pharmacist. Do not drive after taking a shot. If pregnant or nursing, consult a doctor. These are adult products; store them away from children.

Questions, answered

What is the best melatonin shot?

Dream Water Sleep Shots, 5 mg melatonin with GABA and 5-HTP, 12 count at $29.55 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026), about $2.46 a shot, or $2.29 in the 24-count at $54.99. It is the one shot whose title states the amount, the companions and the count. The Dream Water NSF shot at $30.99 adds zero sugar and an NSF mark.

How much melatonin is in a sleep shot?

Dream Water's shots state 5 mg on the title. RYDE, Vitamin Energy and Tru state melatonin without an amount, and Frog Fuel Reset does not state melatonin at all; for those, the Supplement Facts panel is the only source. No shot on this page states less than 5 mg.

Which melatonin shot has no sugar?

Two titles state zero sugar: the Dream Water NSF shot ($30.99) and RYDE Sleep Shot ($29.99 for 8, $69.99 for 24). Dream Water's Snoozeberry original, Vitamin Energy, Tru and Frog Fuel do not address sugar on the title.

How much does a melatonin shot cost per night?

On this page, from about $2.29 (Dream Water 24-count) to about $3.75 (RYDE 8-pack), with Vitamin Energy at about $2.50 and Frog Fuel at about $2.67; figures are price divided by the count the title states, at our September 5, 2026 check. The NSF shot and Tru do not state a count, so they have no per-shot figure. A 5 mg fast-dissolve tablet from a pharmacy brand is about a dime.

Are melatonin shots stronger than pills?

No. Where the title states an amount, it is 5 mg, the same as a common tablet. "Extra strength" on the Tru shot and "8 Hour" on the Vitamin Energy shot are product names; neither title states an amount, and we make no claim about strength or duration. A shot is a delivery format, not a higher amount.

Can I take a melatonin shot on a plane?

Two-ounce shots fit the liquids rule for carry-on bags, which is part of why the format exists. The labels direct one shot before bed; travel-health guidance generally frames melatonin as an aid to eastward adjustment. Our jet lag guide covers what the labels and that guidance say. Do not take one before you drive from the airport.

What is in a Dream Water shot besides melatonin?

The title states GABA and 5-HTP; the NSF shot and the Sleep Aid Drink state the same two plus zero sugar, natural flavors and no added colors. We do not describe what GABA or 5-HTP do; the label makes its own statements. Both are additional lines to show a pharmacist if you take other medication.