Our Pick: Life Extension

Check price on Amazon →

Low Dose vs High Dose Melatonin (2026): Sixty-Six Times Apart on One Shelf

The same aisle sells 300 micrograms and 20 milligrams of the same molecule, and the guidance points at the small end. Life Extension Melatonin 300 mcg states 100 capsules at $7.50 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026), about 8 cents each. NOW Maximum Strength Melatonin 20 mg is $14.50; the listing title does not state a count, so we compute no cost per night for it. This page argues five axes, ends with a verdict per buyer type, and explains why nothing above 20 mg appears anywhere on this site.

By The Sleep Desk2026-09-05~10 min read Ranked on verified label facts, never box claimsHow we research

Life Extension Melatonin, 300 mcg, Sleep Support, 100 CapsulesBest Overall

Life Extension Melatonin, 300 mcg, Sleep Support, 100 Capsules

Life Extension · 4.7

$7.50

Nature Made Melatonin 3 mg Sleep Aids for Adults, 120 TabletsBest Value

Nature Made Melatonin 3 mg Sleep Aids for Adults, 120 Tablets

Nature Made · 4.8

$5.59

NOW Maximum Strength Melatonin 20 mgUpgrade Pick

NOW Maximum Strength Melatonin 20 mg

NOW · 4.3

$14.50

Start low. Life Extension Melatonin 300 mcg states 100 capsules at $7.50 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026), about 8 cents a capsule, and 300 micrograms is three tenths of a milligram: below every mainstream tablet, below every gummy, and inside the range sleep clinicians most commonly point to. The other end of the same aisle is NOW Maximum Strength Melatonin 20 mg at $14.50, sixty-six times the amount in one capsule.

Both are real products from recognized brands and both have legitimate buyers, but they are not two equal options on a dial. The general guidance sleep clinicians commonly repeat is to use the lowest amount that helps, often cited as 0.5 to 3 mg, because more melatonin is not more effective and higher amounts are associated with next-day grogginess. We report that as attributed guidance rather than as a prescription; a doctor or pharmacist is the person to apply it to you, and this page names no amount for any individual.

One structural fact about the shelf shapes this page and every dose page on this site. Above 20 mg, the products that exist come from sellers we do not rank in pick slots, so our high-dose coverage stops at the credible 20 mg products from NOW, Pure Encapsulations and Nutricost, and we say why rather than filling the slot. Every dose, count and price below comes from the listing title or the Supplement Facts panel, verified live on September 5, 2026. Where a title does not state a count, we write not published and compute nothing. We read labels; we do not run a lab. No brand paid for a placement.

The short version

  • Our pick: Life Extension Melatonin 300 mcg, 100 capsules, $7.50, about 8 cents. Three tenths of a milligram, the gentlest credible product on the shelf.
  • The high end: NOW Maximum Strength Melatonin 20 mg, $14.50. The title does not state a count, so no cost per night can be calculated.
  • Twenty milligrams is sixty-six times 300 micrograms, and both sit in the same aisle with no warning label between them.
  • General guidance from sleep clinicians favors the lowest amount that helps, often 0.5 to 3 mg. Attribution, not a prescription.
  • Nothing above 20 mg is ranked on this site: above that line the sellers are not brands we put in pick slots. Fewer credible picks beat more no-name ones.
  • If neither extreme: Nature Made Melatonin 3 mg, 120 tablets, $7.45, about 6 cents, and it halves to an approximate 1.5 mg.

At a glance

ProductMelatonin per unitFormMultiple of 300 mcgCountCost per nightPrice (9/5/26)Check price
Life Extension Melatonin 300 mcg0.3 mgCapsule1x100$0.08$7.50Check price on Amazon
NOW Maximum Strength Melatonin 20 mg20 mgCapsuleAbout 66xNot publishedNot computable$14.50Check price on Amazon
Nature Made Melatonin 3 mg (if neither)3 mgTablet10x120$0.06$7.45Check price on Amazon

The two extremes and the middle option on one column set. Dose, form and count come from the Amazon listing title; anything the title does not state is marked not published, which is why the 20 mg row carries no cost per night. Prices are live Amazon figures verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Our PickBest Low Dose
Life Extension Melatonin, 300 mcg, Sleep Support, 100 Capsules

Life Extension Melatonin, 300 mcg, Sleep Support, 100 Capsules

Life Extension

Three tenths of a milligram, one hundred capsules, about eight cents each.

4.7

Our verdict: The gentlest credible melatonin on the shelf and the right first purchase for most people who have never taken it. Life Extension states 300 mcg per capsule, 100 capsules, at $7.50, about 8 cents each. Three hundred micrograms is 0.3 mg, below the bottom of the 0.5 to 3 mg range general guidance points to, which means it is a genuine floor rather than a marketing position.

Verified: Labeled 300 mcg melatonin per capsule, capsule form, 100 count. Live at $7.50 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Three tenths of a milligram, in an aisle that mostly sells five and ten. Life Extension Melatonin 300 mcg states 300 mcg per capsule across 100 capsules at $7.50 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026). $7.50 divided by 100 is about 8 cents a capsule.

The number that frames this page: 20 mg is about sixty-six times 300 mcg. Both sit on the same shelf, in the same aisle, with nothing between them but the size of the print on the box.

The case for the low end is the case the guidance makes: sleep clinicians commonly favor the lowest amount that helps, often cited as 0.5 to 3 mg, and higher amounts are associated with next-day grogginess rather than better sleep. A 300 mcg capsule lets you sit below even that range. It is also the amount that leaves the most room to move: someone who starts here and finds it insufficient can step to 1 mg, then 3, with a pharmacist's input. Someone who starts at 10 mg has nowhere to go but sideways.

Life Extension builds its whole line at this end: 500 mcg in a value size at $13.50, 1 mg, 60 capsules at $4.39 (about 7 cents), 6 Hour Timed Release 300 mcg at $9.00 and IR/XR 1.5 mg at $9.00. Pure Encapsulations 0.5 mg, 60 capsules at $12.50 is the other low-end specialist. The shelf is ranked in best low-dose melatonin.

Who should buy it

Buy it if you have never taken melatonin, if you have taken more and disliked the next morning, if you are older and want the smallest credible amount, or if you want room to step up rather than a number you cannot get under.

What we don't like

It is a swallowed capsule with no gummy, liquid or fast dissolve equivalent at this amount, 300 mcg may be too little for someone already used to a larger number, and at about 8 cents it is slightly more per night than a 3 mg tablet that contains ten times as much.

Melatonin per serving
300 mcg (0.3 mg) per capsule
Form
Capsule
Count
100
Added ingredients
None stated in the title
Sugar
None stated in the title
Cost per night
$7.50 / 100 = about $0.08
Age on label
Adults

What we like

  • Below the bottom of the commonly cited starting range
  • 100 capsules, about 8 cents each
  • Leaves room to step up rather than only down
  • Brand line also offers 500 mcg, 1 mg and timed-release versions

Worth noting

  • Swallowed capsule only, no gummy or liquid at this amount
  • May be too little for someone already used to a larger number
Upgrade PickThe Credible Top of the Shelf
NOW Maximum Strength Melatonin 20 mg

NOW Maximum Strength Melatonin 20 mg

NOW

Twenty milligrams from a recognized brand, and the last rung we will rank.

4.3

Our verdict: The highest amount this site ranks, from one of the few recognized brands that makes it. NOW states 20 mg maximum strength at $14.50; the listing title does not state a count, so we quote no cost per night. It exists for people who have worked up through smaller amounts with a professional. It is not a starting point, and buying it first is the most common expensive mistake in this category.

Verified: Labeled 20 mg melatonin, maximum strength, gastro-resistant per the listing title. Count not published in the title. Live at $14.50 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Sixty-six times the low-dose capsule, in the same aisle. NOW Maximum Strength Melatonin 20 mg is $14.50 (verified September 5, 2026). The listing title states 20 mg, maximum strength and a gastro-resistant format; it does not state the count, so we write not published and compute no cost per night from it. The Supplement Facts panel on the bottle states both.

Read this before adding it to a cart: the guidance sleep clinicians most commonly repeat is the lowest amount that helps, often 0.5 to 3 mg, and next-day grogginess is the complaint most consistently associated with large amounts. Twenty milligrams is a place some people arrive with a pharmacist, not a place to begin.

The honest case for the product itself: NOW is a recognized brand, the label is clear, and a gastro-resistant capsule is a specific formulation choice rather than a marketing word. If a doctor or pharmacist has agreed you should be at this amount, buying it from NOW is better than buying it from an unfamiliar seller, which is precisely the argument this page makes in the next section.

The other credible 20 mg products are Pure Encapsulations Melatonin 20 mg, 60 capsules at $39.00 (about 65 cents each, the premium option) and Nutricost Melatonin 20 mg, 240 capsules at $13.95 (about 6 cents each, the value option). Below them, NOW Extra Strength 10 mg at $10.40 and Nutricost 12 mg, 240 tablets at $11.95 fill the gap. The shelf is ranked in best high-dose melatonin.

Who should buy it

Buy it only if you have already worked up through smaller amounts and a doctor or pharmacist has agreed that a high amount is reasonable for you, and you would rather buy it from a recognized brand than an unfamiliar one.

What we don't like

The listing title does not state a count, so you cannot price a night before buying. Twenty milligrams is far above the amount most general guidance points to, a capsule cannot be split to take less, and next-day grogginess is the complaint most associated with amounts this size.

Melatonin per serving
20 mg per capsule
Form
Capsule, gastro-resistant per the title
Count
Not published in the title
Added ingredients
None stated in the title
Sugar
None stated in the title
Cost per night
Not computable: count not published
Age on label
Adults

What we like

  • A recognized brand at an amount most of the shelf leaves to unknown sellers
  • Clear label and a specific gastro-resistant formulation
  • The line ladders down to 10, 5, 3 and 1 mg

Worth noting

  • Count not published, so no cost per night
  • Far above the commonly cited starting range
  • Cannot be split, and grogginess is the common complaint at this size
Best ValueIf Neither: The Middle That Splits
Nature Made Melatonin 3 mg Sleep Aids for Adults, 120 Tablets

Nature Made Melatonin 3 mg Sleep Aids for Adults, 120 Tablets

Nature Made

Ten times the low-dose capsule, a fraction of the high, and it halves.

4.8

Our verdict: The answer for the large group of readers who find 300 mcg too cautious and 20 mg alarming. Nature Made states 3 mg per tablet, 120 tablets, at $7.45, about 6 cents a night, the cheapest per-night figure on this page. Three milligrams sits at the top of the commonly cited starting range, and because it is a plain tablet it halves to an approximate 1.5 mg if that proves too much.

Verified: Labeled 3 mg melatonin per tablet, tablet form, 120 count. Live at $7.45 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The middle of the shelf, and the most flexible object on this page. Nature Made Melatonin 3 mg states 3 mg per tablet, 120 tablets, at $7.45 (verified September 5, 2026). $7.45 divided by 120 is about 6 cents. It is ten times the low-dose capsule and less than a sixth of the high-dose one.

The reason it earns a card here rather than a mention is that it covers two amounts. A plain swallowed tablet can be halved, so this bottle is also an approximate 1.5 mg product, and 1.5 mg sits in the middle of the range general guidance points to. Nature Made also prints USP verification across much of its line, which is a meaningful signal in a category where published analyses have found melatonin content varying widely from the label.

If you want the same amount in a deeper bottle, 240 tablets at $10.73 is about 4 cents each. The dose ladder in full is argued in 3 mg vs 5 mg vs 10 mg.

Who should buy it

Buy it if you want the amount the category is actually built around, at the lowest cost per night here, in a format that lets you take half if you want to move toward the low end.

What we don't like

It is a swallowed tablet, 3 mg is the top of the starting range rather than the bottom, and it does not go anywhere near the high end if that is genuinely where you belong.

Melatonin per serving
3 mg (1 tablet)
Form
Tablet
Count
120
Added ingredients
None stated in the title
Sugar
None stated in the title
Cost per night
$7.45 / 120 = about $0.06
Age on label
Adults

What we like

  • About 6 cents a night, the cheapest on this page
  • Halves to an approximate 1.5 mg
  • Nature Made line widely carries USP verification

Worth noting

  • A swallowed tablet
  • Neither a genuine low dose nor a high one

The bedtime kit

The six things that round out a melatonin routine: the standard fast-dissolve, a sub-milligram option, a time-release tablet for staying asleep, a magnesium for melatonin-free nights, a bedtime tea, and a kids bottle. Prices are approximate at time of writing.

Axis 1: What low dose and high dose actually mean here

The words are unregulated, so it is worth fixing them to numbers. On this site, low dose means below 1 mg: 300 mcg, 500 mcg and 0.5 mg products, plus the 750 mcg timed-release capsules. Standard means 1 to 5 mg, where most of the shelf lives. High dose means 10 mg and above, and the credible top is 20 mg.

The spread is the striking part. Life Extension 300 mcg and NOW 20 mg are about sixty-six times apart and sit within a metre of each other in a store, with nothing on either box explaining that gap to a shopper. A person who has never taken melatonin has no way, from the packaging alone, to tell which of those two is the sensible starting point.

It is also worth knowing that the regulatory frame differs by country. In the United States melatonin is sold as a dietary supplement, which is why a 20 mg capsule can sit on an open shelf. In much of Europe it is prescription-only, which is why visitors are often startled by the American aisle. That contrast is context, not advice.

Verdict on this axis: the two ends are not equivalent options. One is inside the range general guidance points to and one is far above it, and the shelf gives you no hint which is which.

Axis 2: What the guidance says, and the next morning

The guidance sleep clinicians most commonly repeat is short: use the lowest amount that helps. The range usually cited is 0.5 to 3 mg. That is attributed general guidance, not a prescription, and it does not tell you your number; a doctor or pharmacist does that, taking your other medication into account. What it does tell you is the direction the evidence-informed advice runs, and it runs down.

The lived version of that is the next morning. Grogginess is the complaint owners report most consistently with larger amounts, and it is the reason a great many people try melatonin once and never again. Very often the bottle they tried was the biggest number on the shelf, because bigger reads as stronger. It is also worth noting that a capsule cannot be split, so someone who reacts badly to a 20 mg capsule has no way to take less from the bottle they own.

The practical rule for either end: try a new amount on a night when the next morning is low stakes, do not drive after taking melatonin, and ask a pharmacist before taking a large amount alongside blood thinners, immunosuppressants, or blood-pressure or diabetes medication. More background is in melatonin side effects and melatonin hangover and grogginess.

Verdict on this axis: low dose, on the guidance and on the reported experience. This is the axis that names our pick.

Axis 3: Cost per night at both ends

The low-dose capsule prices honestly: $7.50 for 100 is about 8 cents a night, and the whole bottle costs less than a takeaway lunch. The high-dose capsule cannot be priced per night from its listing at all, because the title does not state a count. That is not a criticism of NOW so much as a reminder to read the panel: the servings per container line is where the arithmetic lives, and any comparison quoted without it is a guess.

Where counts are published, the pattern is that the biggest numbers are not the best value per night. Pure Encapsulations 20 mg, 60 capsules at $39.00 is about 65 cents a capsule, by far the most expensive thing on this page. Nutricost 20 mg, 240 capsules at $13.95 is about 6 cents, which shows how wide the spread is at a single amount. Meanwhile Nature Made 3 mg, 240 count at $10.73 is about 4 cents.

Verdict on this axis: the middle wins on cost per night, the low end is close behind, and the high end is unpriceable from the listing or expensive when it is priceable. Nobody is saving money by buying a bigger number.

Axis 4: Why this site stops at 20 mg

Search for melatonin above 20 mg and you will find it. The products exist, and some of them carry numbers that would be startling to a pharmacist. What you will not find above that line is a brand we are willing to put in a pick slot. Recognized manufacturers, the ones with quality systems, third-party verification programs and a reputation to lose, stop at 20 mg. Above it, the shelf is unfamiliar sellers, and we do not rank those.

That is a standing editorial rule here rather than a judgment about any specific bottle: pick slots go to recognized brands only, and where there is no credible product at a spec, we say so instead of filling the slot. Fewer credible picks beat more no-name picks. So our high-dose coverage tops out at the three brands that make 20 mg credibly: NOW at $14.50, Pure Encapsulations at $39.00 for 60 and Nutricost at $13.95 for 240.

There is a second reason the line sits there, and it is about what is in the capsule rather than who made it. Published analyses have found melatonin content in supplements varying widely from the labeled amount. A twenty percent overage on a 300 mcg capsule is a rounding error. The same percentage on a very large capsule is a materially different product from the one on the label, and the further up the scale you go, the more the manufacturer's quality system matters and the fewer manufacturers you can name.

Verdict on this axis: not a comparison, a boundary. If a product's amount is only available from sellers you have never heard of, that is information about the amount as much as about the seller.

Axis 5: Who each end actually suits

Low dose suits anyone new to melatonin, anyone who has felt foggy on a standard tablet, older adults where smaller amounts are commonly favored and next-day grogginess is the frequent complaint, and anyone who wants to keep the option of stepping up. It also suits people who want the timed-release idea without the amount, which is what Life Extension 6 Hour Timed Release 300 mcg ($9.00) is. The shelf is ranked in best low-dose melatonin and for older buyers in best melatonin for seniors.

High dose suits a much smaller group: people who have worked up through 3, 5 and 10 mg over time with a doctor or pharmacist involved and settled higher. For that reader the right move is to buy it from a brand with a name, and to keep it away from anyone who might mistake it for something smaller. A 20 mg capsule in a house with children is a different object from a 1 mg one; Poison Control is 1-800-222-1222.

Everyone else, which is most people, belongs in the middle: 1 mg to 3 mg, in whichever format they will actually take. That is the argument of 3 mg vs 5 mg vs 10 mg and how much melatonin should I take.

The verdict, by buyer type

New to melatonin, or cautious: Life Extension Melatonin 300 mcg, $7.50 for 100, about 8 cents. The gentlest credible product on the shelf.

Wants a low dose that is not quite that low: Life Extension 1 mg, $4.39 for 60, or Pure Encapsulations 0.5 mg, $12.50 for 60.

Neither extreme: Nature Made Melatonin 3 mg, $7.45 for 120, about 6 cents, and halve it if 3 mg is too much.

Already at a high amount with a professional's agreement: NOW Maximum Strength 20 mg at $14.50, Nutricost 20 mg, 240 capsules at $13.95 for the value, or Pure Encapsulations 20 mg at $39.00 for the premium.

Looking for something above 20 mg: we do not rank it, because the brands making it are not ones we put in pick slots. That is the answer, and we would rather give it than fill the slot. Every buyer: a pharmacist sees your medication list before any amount, no driving after taking it, and everything out of reach of children.

More picks worth comparing

Beyond this guide, the highest-rated picks across every category and budget, with a live price check on each.

Natrol 5 mg Fast Dissolve

Best Overall

Natrol 5 mg Fast Dissolve

5 mg · 90 ct · ~$9

Check Price
OLLY Sleep Gummies 3 mg

Best Gummy

OLLY Sleep Gummies 3 mg

3 mg · 70 ct · ~$16

Check Price
Nature Made 3 mg Tablets

Best Value

Nature Made 3 mg Tablets

3 mg · 120 ct · ~$7

Check Price
Life Extension 300 mcg

Best Low Dose

Life Extension 300 mcg

300 mcg · 100 ct · ~$8

Check Price
Natrol 10 mg Time Release

Best Time Release

Natrol 10 mg Time Release

10 mg · 100 ct · ~$17

Check Price
Zarbee's Kids 1 mg Gummies

Best for Kids

Zarbee's Kids 1 mg Gummies

1 mg · 60 ct · ~$15

Check Price

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no cost to you.

Quick shop: every pick

Skip the scroll: the whole lineup, with a live price check on each.

  1. Life Extension Melatonin, 300 mcg, Sleep Support, 100 CapsulesBest Low DoseLife Extension · $7.50Check price on Amazon
  2. NOW Maximum Strength Melatonin 20 mgThe Credible Top of the ShelfNOW · $14.50Check price on Amazon
  3. Nature Made Melatonin 3 mg Sleep Aids for Adults, 120 TabletsIf Neither: The Middle That SplitsNature Made · $5.59Check price on Amazon

How we chose

This page compares two ends of one shelf rather than two brands, so the axes are what each amount is, what the general guidance says about the range, what the cost per serving does at each end, the credibility of the brands available at each end, and who each amount actually suits. We read the Supplement Facts panel and the live Amazon listing, verify price and availability through the Amazon Creators API (this page: September 5, 2026), and weigh the consistent testimony of owners. Where a listing title does not state a count, we say not published and compute nothing from it. We do not run a lab and never claim physical testing. Pick slots go to recognized brands only, which is why our high-dose coverage stops at 20 mg.

Melatonin is a dietary supplement in the United States, not an FDA-approved drug. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. We report what labels direct and the general guidance, commonly cited by sleep clinicians, that the lowest effective amount is the place to start, often 0.5 to 3 mg; we never prescribe an amount for any individual, and nothing on this page tells you that a high amount is appropriate for you. Higher amounts are associated with next-day grogginess. Melatonin can interact with blood thinners, immunosuppressants, and blood-pressure and diabetes medication, so ask a pharmacist about your list before taking any amount, and especially before taking a large one. Do not drive after taking it. Anyone pregnant or nursing should consult a doctor. A pediatrician decides for a child, and adult high-dose products are dozens of times what kids products state, so storage out of reach matters more here than anywhere. Poison Control: 1-800-222-1222.

Questions, answered

Is low dose melatonin better than high dose?

The general guidance sleep clinicians commonly repeat is to use the lowest amount that helps, often cited as 0.5 to 3 mg, and higher amounts are associated with next-day grogginess rather than better sleep. We report that as attributed guidance, not as a prescription: your doctor or pharmacist decides what is right for you. What is verifiable is that a low-dose product leaves you room to step up and a high-dose capsule does not let you take less.

What is considered a low dose of melatonin?

On this site, below 1 mg. That covers Life Extension's 300 mcg ($7.50 for 100) and 500 mcg products, Pure Encapsulations 0.5 mg ($12.50 for 60), and the 750 mcg timed-release capsules. Standard is 1 to 5 mg, and high dose is 10 mg and above. The terms are not regulated, so always read the number on the panel rather than the adjective on the box.

Is 20 mg of melatonin safe?

That is a question for a doctor or pharmacist and we will not answer it for any individual. What we can say is that 20 mg is far above the amount most general guidance points to, that next-day grogginess is the complaint most consistently reported at large amounts, and that melatonin can interact with blood thinners, immunosuppressants, and blood-pressure and diabetes medication. If you are considering an amount this size, that conversation should happen first.

Why do you not rank melatonin above 20 mg?

Because above 20 mg the products come from sellers we do not put in pick slots. Our standing rule is that recommendation slots go to recognized brands only, and where no credible product exists at a spec we say so rather than filling the slot with an unknown one. At 20 mg the credible options are NOW ($14.50), Pure Encapsulations ($39.00 for 60) and Nutricost ($13.95 for 240).

How much is 300 mcg of melatonin in milligrams?

Three tenths of a milligram. Micrograms are a thousandth of a milligram, so 300 mcg is 0.3 mg, 500 mcg is 0.5 mg and 750 mcg is 0.75 mg. That means a 20 mg capsule contains roughly sixty-six times what a 300 mcg capsule does, which is the whole point of this page.

Can you take less than a 20 mg melatonin capsule?

Not from the capsule itself. Capsules and time-release tablets should not be split or opened to take a portion, and a fast dissolve tablet crumbles rather than halves. If you want a smaller amount, buy a smaller amount: plain tablets like Nature Made 3 mg do split, and the low-dose shelf starts at 300 mcg.

Does high dose melatonin cost more per night?

Usually, though it varies more than you would expect. Pure Encapsulations 20 mg is about 65 cents a capsule at $39.00 for 60, while Nutricost 20 mg is about 6 cents at $13.95 for 240. The NOW 20 mg listing does not state a count, so no per-night figure can be computed from it. Nature Made 3 mg at 240 count is about 4 cents, cheaper than nearly everything above it.

Is a lower melatonin dose better for older adults?

Smaller amounts are commonly favored for older adults, and next-day grogginess is the complaint most often raised in that group. That is attributed general guidance rather than a recommendation for any individual, and a doctor is the right person to weigh it alongside other medication. Our picks for that reader are in best melatonin for seniors.