Our Pick: NOW Foods

Check price on Amazon →

Best High-Dose Melatonin (2026): Why 20 mg Is the Ceiling

Buy NOW Maximum Strength Melatonin 20 mg for $14.50 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) if, and only if, a high amount is an established part of your routine and you have discussed it with a doctor or pharmacist. Twenty milligrams is the highest amount any recognized brand sells; above it the shelf belongs to sellers without accountability, and this site does not rank them. Here are the seven credible 12 mg and 20 mg products, with the caution they deserve.

By The Sleep Desk2026-09-05~12 min read Ranked on verified label facts, never box claimsHow we research

NOW Maximum Strength Melatonin 20 mgBest Overall

NOW Maximum Strength Melatonin 20 mg

NOW Foods · 4.4

$14.50

Nutricost Melatonin 20 mg, 240 CapsulesBest Value

Nutricost Melatonin 20 mg, 240 Capsules

Nutricost · 4.2

$13.95

Pure Encapsulations Melatonin 20 mg, 60 CapsulesUpgrade Pick

Pure Encapsulations Melatonin 20 mg, 60 Capsules

Pure Encapsulations · 4.4

$39.00

Buy NOW Maximum Strength Melatonin 20 mg at $14.50 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026). It is the highest labeled amount any recognized brand sells, from the manufacturer with the longest published quality program in the category, and the title does not state the count so we cannot give you a cost per night. If you want 20 mg from a practitioner brand, Pure Encapsulations 20 mg, 60 capsules for $39.00. For value, Nutricost 20 mg at 240 capsules for $13.95. For a softgel, BulkSupplements. For 12 mg, Natural Vitality, Nutricost or Carlyle.

This page has a ceiling, and the ceiling is the point. Amazon sells melatonin at 30, 50 and 60 mg, and none of it comes from a brand with the accountability our pick slots require: no pharmacy-shelf name, no published quality program, no practitioner reputation, no history. At those amounts a labeling error is a very large absolute error, and a 2017 published analysis found melatonin content in supplements varying widely from the label across the products sampled. So the site's rule is simple: we rank up to 20 mg, which is where NOW, Pure Encapsulations, Nutricost and BulkSupplements stop, and we say plainly why nothing above it appears.

The other thing to say before the cards: 20 mg is more than six times the top of the 0.5 to 3 mg range many sleep clinicians cite as a sensible starting point, and next-day grogginess is the most consistent owner complaint at every amount from 10 mg up. Nothing here is a first bottle, a second bottle, or a recommendation of an amount. It is a ranking of the credible products at the top of the range for people whose routine already includes a high amount and who have discussed it with a doctor or pharmacist. Every fact comes from the Amazon listing title or the Supplement Facts panel, every price was verified live on September 5, 2026, no brand paid for a placement, and if you buy through our links we may earn a commission at no cost to you.

The short version

  • Our Pick: NOW Maximum Strength Melatonin 20 mg, $14.50, from the manufacturer with the longest published quality program in the category. Count not published in the title, so no cost per night.
  • Practitioner brand: Pure Encapsulations Melatonin 20 mg, 60 capsules, $39.00, about 65 cents a night. Value: Nutricost Melatonin 20 mg, 240 capsules, $13.95, about 5.8 cents a night.
  • Softgel: BulkSupplements Melatonin 20 mg, 360 softgels at 2 per serving, $20.97, about 12 cents per serving. Fast-dissolve 20 mg: Micro Ingredients, 400 tablets, $19.95.
  • The 12 mg tier: Natural Vitality Melatonin 12 mg Softgels, $14.10; Nutricost 12 mg, 240 tablets, $11.95; Carlyle 12 mg Fast Dissolve, 180 tablets, $9.99.
  • Twenty milligrams is the ceiling because only sellers without brand accountability go higher. Nothing above 20 mg is ranked on this site, and the grogginess caution applies to every product on this page.

At a glance

ProductMelatoninFormCountCost per nightPrice (9/5/26)Check price
NOW Maximum Strength 20 mg20 mgCapsuleNot publishedn/a$14.50Check price on Amazon
Pure Encapsulations 20 mg20 mgCapsule60$0.65$39.00Check price on Amazon
Nutricost 20 mg20 mgCapsule240$0.058$13.95Check price on Amazon
BulkSupplements 20 mg20 mg per 2 softgelsSoftgel360 (180 servings)$0.12 per serving$20.97Check price on Amazon
Micro Ingredients 20 mg Fast Dissolve20 mgFast-dissolve tablet, strawberry400$0.05$19.95Check price on Amazon
Natural Vitality 12 mg Softgels12 mgSoftgelNot publishedn/a$14.10Check price on Amazon
Nutricost 12 mg12 mgTablet240$0.05$11.95Check price on Amazon

Seven high-dose melatonin products from recognized brands, 12 mg to 20 mg. Amount, form and count are from the Amazon listing title; prices are live figures verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026. Cost per night is price divided by servings where the title publishes the count.

Our PickBest High-Dose Melatonin
NOW Maximum Strength Melatonin 20 mg

NOW Maximum Strength Melatonin 20 mg

NOW Foods

The highest amount from the manufacturer with the longest published quality program.

4.4

Our verdict: If a high amount is an established part of your routine, this is the credible bottle. NOW is the manufacturer with the longest published quality program in the category, and 20 mg is the ceiling of its line. The title does not state the count, so we cannot give a cost per night. The caution on every card here applies with the most force to the pick.

Verified: Labeled 20 mg melatonin per serving, stated maximum strength, from NOW; count not published in the listing title. Live at $14.50 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The top of the credible range, from the brand we trust most at any amount. NOW Maximum Strength Melatonin 20 mg states 20 mg and maximum strength, with the label's structure/function language ("Healthy Sleep Cycle*, Free Radical Scavenger*"). The listing title is truncated before the count, so we do not publish one; the bottle does.

Why NOW is the pick at 20 mg: the brand has published its own quality standards for decades. In a category where a 2017 analysis found label variance across the products sampled, that program is the strongest accountability signal short of a third-party mark, and its value scales with the amount: at 20 mg a labeling error is twenty times the error at 1 mg. This is not a claim we verified the capsule's contents; it is why NOW holds the top slot over a value brand at a lower price.

NOW's line runs 1 mg, 3 mg, 5 mg (immediate and sustained release), 10 mg and this 20 mg, which means every step down is available from the same manufacturer. The whole line is reviewed in the NOW melatonin review, and the 10 mg tier, where most high-amount buyers should be looking first, is ranked in our best 10 mg melatonin guide.

Who should buy it

Buy it only if a high amount is already an established part of your routine, you have discussed it with a doctor or pharmacist, and you want the manufacturer with the strongest accountability at the top of the range.

What we don't like

The count is not in the title so the cost per night is unknowable from the listing, 20 mg is more than six times the top of the commonly cited starting range, and grogginess is the consistent owner complaint at every high amount.

Melatonin per serving
20 mg
Form
Capsule (per NOW's line), swallowed
Count
Not published in the title
Added ingredients
Not published in the title
Sugar
None stated
Cost per night
Not computable; count not published
Age on label
Adults

What we like

  • Manufacturer with the longest published quality program in the category
  • Every lower amount available from the same brand
  • Structure/function label language, no overclaiming

Worth noting

  • Count not stated, so no cost per night
  • Far above the commonly cited starting range
Upgrade PickBest Practitioner-Brand 20 mg
Pure Encapsulations Melatonin 20 mg, 60 Capsules

Pure Encapsulations Melatonin 20 mg, 60 Capsules

Pure Encapsulations

The practitioner brand's 20 mg, 60 capsules, about 65 cents a night.

4.4

Our verdict: The 20 mg that practitioners specify. Pure Encapsulations states 20 mg and 60 capsules at $39.00, about 65 cents a night, the most expensive melatonin on the site by a wide margin. It exists because a practitioner line needs a top of its range, and it is the bottle to buy when a practitioner has asked for it by name.

Verified: Labeled 20 mg melatonin per capsule, 60 count. Live at $39.00 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

A practitioner product, priced like one. Pure Encapsulations Melatonin 20 mg states 20 mg and 60 capsules. The title says nothing else, in the brand's usual minimal style. At $39.00 it is about 65 cents a night.

Who this is for, exactly: the person whose practitioner has specified both the amount and the brand. Pure Encapsulations is a practitioner line with a reputation for minimal formulas and clinical distribution, and that reputation is what the price buys. It does not buy a different 20 mg than NOW's at a third of the price or Nutricost's at a tenth. If you are choosing on your own, the case for paying it is thin.

The same brand makes the other end of the range, a 0.5 mg capsule that is the pick in our best low-dose melatonin guide, which says something about how wide the range of clinical use is. The brand is reviewed in the Pure Encapsulations melatonin review, and the practitioner-brand head-to-head is Life Extension vs Pure Encapsulations.

Who should buy it

Buy it if a practitioner has specified 20 mg and named Pure Encapsulations, or if you already buy the brand and your routine includes a high amount discussed with a doctor.

What we don't like

About 65 cents a night is the most expensive melatonin on the site, the title states nothing about the capsule material, and the standing high-amount caution applies.

Melatonin per serving
20 mg (1 capsule)
Form
Capsule, swallowed
Count
60
Added ingredients
Not published in the title
Sugar
None stated
Cost per night
$39.00 / 60 = about $0.65
Age on label
Adults

What we like

  • Practitioner brand with clinical distribution
  • Minimal formula
  • Same brand makes the 0.5 mg at the other end of the range

Worth noting

  • Most expensive melatonin on the site
  • No advantage in amount or form over cheaper 20 mg capsules
Best ValueBest Value 20 mg
Nutricost Melatonin 20 mg, 240 Capsules

Nutricost Melatonin 20 mg, 240 Capsules

Nutricost

240 capsules of 20 mg for $13.95, about 5.8 cents a night, stated non-GMO and gluten free.

4.2

Our verdict: The value 20 mg. Nutricost states 20 mg, 240 capsules, non-GMO and gluten free at $13.95, about 5.8 cents a night, a tenth of the Pure Encapsulations per-night cost. It is a value brand rather than a manufacturer with NOW's program, which is why it holds the value slot and not the pick, and 240 capsules of 20 mg is an enormous amount of melatonin to commit to in one purchase.

Verified: Labeled 20 mg melatonin per capsule, 240 count, stated non-GMO and gluten free in the listing title. Live at $13.95 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Eight months of 20 mg for fourteen dollars. Nutricost Melatonin 20 mg states 20 mg, 240 capsules, non-GMO and gluten free. At $13.95 that is about 5.8 cents per capsule.

The value trade at the top of the range: Nutricost is a recognized direct-to-Amazon brand with a broad line and consistent owner reports, which earns it a slot. It does not have NOW's published quality program, and at 20 mg the accountability gap matters more than it does at 3 mg. If your routine is an established high amount and price decides, it is a sound buy; if you are choosing between this and NOW on anything other than price, choose NOW.

Nutricost's line covers 10 mg capsules (240 for $12.95) and the 12 mg tablets below, so stepping down within the brand is easy. The brand is reviewed in the Nutricost melatonin review.

Who should buy it

Buy it if a high amount is an established part of your routine, you have discussed it with a doctor or pharmacist, and you want the lowest cost per night at 20 mg from a recognized value brand.

What we don't like

A value brand without NOW's published program at the amount where that matters most, 240 capsules is an enormous commitment, and the title does not state the capsule material.

Melatonin per serving
20 mg (1 capsule)
Form
Capsule, swallowed
Count
240
Added ingredients
Not published beyond non-GMO, gluten free
Sugar
None stated
Cost per night
$13.95 / 240 = about $0.058
Age on label
Adults

What we like

  • About 5.8 cents a night, cheapest 20 mg here
  • Stated non-GMO and gluten free
  • 10 mg and 12 mg in the same line for stepping down

Worth noting

  • Value brand at the amount where accountability matters most
  • Eight-month commitment to 20 mg
Best 20 mg Softgel
BulkSupplements Melatonin 20 mg Softgels, 2 per Serving, 360 Count

BulkSupplements Melatonin 20 mg Softgels, 2 per Serving, 360 Count

BulkSupplements

Twenty milligrams as two 10 mg softgels, 360 count, which means 180 servings.

4.2

Our verdict: The 20 mg softgel, and the one product here whose serving structure gives you a lower amount for free. BulkSupplements states 20 mg per 2 softgels, 360 count, at $20.97: 180 servings at about 12 cents each, or 360 softgels of 10 mg at about 6 cents. That built-in half-step is the most useful thing on this page.

Verified: Labeled 20 mg melatonin per serving of 2 softgels per the listing title, 360 count. Live at $20.97 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Two softgels are 20 mg, which means one is 10. BulkSupplements Melatonin 20 mg Softgels state 20 mg per serving, 2 softgels per serving, 360 count. At $20.97 that is 180 full servings at about 12 cents, and it is the only 20 mg product here whose title tells you the per-piece amount.

Why the serving structure matters at the top of the range: a single-capsule 20 mg is all or nothing. A two-softgel 20 mg lets someone take one, which is a 10 mg amount, and that is the direction the general guidance points. BulkSupplements is a recognized bulk-ingredient brand with a broad line; it does not have NOW's published program, which is why this is the softgel slot rather than the pick.

The brand also sells 10 mg softgels, 5 mg softgels and 1 mg softgels, a full ladder in one format. Softgels are commonly gelatin unless labeled otherwise; the title does not state the shell.

Who should buy it

Buy it if your routine includes a high amount discussed with a doctor, you prefer a softgel, and you value a serving structure that lets you take half the labeled amount without splitting anything.

What we don't like

A bulk brand without NOW's program at the amount where it matters most, the shell material is not stated, and 360 softgels is a year-long commitment.

Melatonin per serving
20 mg per 2 softgels (10 mg each)
Form
Softgel, swallowed
Count
360 (180 servings)
Added ingredients
Not published in the title
Sugar
None stated
Cost per night
$20.97 / 180 servings = about $0.12
Age on label
Adults

What we like

  • Title states 2 softgels per serving, so one softgel is 10 mg
  • About 12 cents per full serving
  • 1 mg, 5 mg and 10 mg softgels in the same line

Worth noting

  • Shell material not stated; likely gelatin
  • Year-long commitment
Best 20 mg Fast-Dissolve
Micro Ingredients Melatonin 20 mg Fast Dissolve, Strawberry, 400 Tablets

Micro Ingredients Melatonin 20 mg Fast Dissolve, Strawberry, 400 Tablets

Micro Ingredients

The only 20 mg fast-dissolve from a recognized brand, 400 tablets.

4.1

Our verdict: The one 20 mg that dissolves on the tongue. Micro Ingredients states 20 mg, fast dissolve, strawberry, 400 tablets, drug free and vegetarian, at $19.95, about 5 cents a night. Four hundred tablets of 20 mg is more than a year of the highest amount on the site in a single jar, which is a purchase to make deliberately.

Verified: Labeled 20 mg melatonin per fast-dissolve strawberry tablet, 400 count, stated 100% drug free and vegetarian in the listing title. Live at $19.95 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Twenty milligrams, no water. Micro Ingredients Melatonin 20 mg Fast Dissolve states 20 mg, 400 tablets, strawberry, fast dissolve, 100% drug free and vegetarian. At $19.95 it is about 5 cents a night.

Why a fast-dissolve at 20 mg deserves extra thought: the format is built for taking a tablet in bed without water, which is a convenience at 3 mg and a very easy way to take a large amount casually at 20. Micro Ingredients is a recognized bulk brand with a broad line; it does not have NOW's program. This is the fast-dissolve slot because it is the only credible one at this amount, not because the format suits the amount.

The same brand sells 20 mg gummies whose title states 10 mg per gummy and sugar free, 120 count, at $13.99. For the fast-dissolve format at mainstream amounts from the brand that defined it, our best fast-dissolve melatonin guide starts at 1 mg.

Who should buy it

Buy it if your routine includes a high amount discussed with a doctor, you specifically need a fast-dissolve at 20 mg, and a bulk brand is acceptable at that amount.

What we don't like

A bulk brand without NOW's program, a format that makes a large amount very easy to take casually, sweetened with the sweetener not named, and 400 tablets is more than a year of 20 mg.

Melatonin per serving
20 mg (1 tablet)
Form
Fast-dissolve tablet, strawberry, vegetarian
Count
400
Added ingredients
Not published in the title
Sugar
Sweetened; sweetener not named in title
Cost per night
$19.95 / 400 = about $0.05
Age on label
Adults

What we like

  • Only 20 mg fast-dissolve from a recognized brand
  • Stated vegetarian and 100% drug free
  • About 5 cents a night

Worth noting

  • Format makes a large amount very easy to take
  • More than a year's supply of the top amount in one jar
Best 12 mg Softgel
Natural Vitality Melatonin Softgels, 12 mg Maximum Strength

Natural Vitality Melatonin Softgels, 12 mg Maximum Strength

Natural Vitality

The Calm brand's 12 mg softgel, the only 12 mg here from a Tier A name.

4.3

Our verdict: The 12 mg from a brand with a national name. Natural Vitality, the company behind Calm magnesium, states 12 mg and maximum strength in a softgel at $14.10. The title does not state the count, so we cannot give a cost per night. Twelve milligrams is the step between 10 and 20, and this is the credible way to buy it.

Verified: Labeled 12 mg melatonin per softgel, stated maximum strength, from Natural Vitality; count not published in the listing title. Live at $14.10 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

A household brand's ceiling. Natural Vitality Melatonin Softgels 12 mg state 12 mg and maximum strength. The listing title is truncated before the count, so we do not publish one; the bottle does.

Why 12 mg exists: it is the tier above the 10 mg that every pharmacy brand tops out at, and it is sold almost entirely by value brands. Natural Vitality is the exception, a Tier A name best known for Calm magnesium, which is what earns it the 12 mg softgel slot over the value-brand 12 mg products.

Natural Vitality's other sleep products, Calm Sleep (melatonin with ashwagandha, L-theanine and GABA) and its Sleep Gummies (magnesium, melatonin and L-theanine), are combination formulas covered in best melatonin with magnesium. Softgels are commonly gelatin unless labeled otherwise; the title does not state the shell.

Who should buy it

Buy it if your routine includes a high amount discussed with a doctor, 12 mg is specifically your amount, and you want it from a national brand rather than a value label.

What we don't like

The count is not in the title so the cost per night is unknowable from the listing, the shell material is not stated, and the high-amount caution applies.

Melatonin per serving
12 mg (1 softgel)
Form
Softgel, swallowed
Count
Not published in the title
Added ingredients
Not published in the title
Sugar
None stated
Cost per night
Not computable; count not published
Age on label
Adults

What we like

  • Only 12 mg here from a Tier A brand
  • The company behind Calm magnesium
  • Combination sleep formulas in the same line

Worth noting

  • Count not stated, so no cost per night
  • Shell material not stated
Best Value 12 mg
Nutricost Melatonin 12 mg, 240 Tablets

Nutricost Melatonin 12 mg, 240 Tablets

Nutricost

240 tablets of 12 mg for $11.95, about 5 cents a night.

4.2

Our verdict: The value 12 mg tablet. Nutricost states 12 mg, 240 tablets, gluten-free and GMO-free at $11.95, about 5 cents a night. For a 12 mg fast-dissolve from a value brand, Carlyle's 180-count is $9.99. Both are the value tier at an amount that pharmacy brands do not make, and both carry the high-amount caution.

Verified: Labeled 12 mg melatonin per tablet, 240 count, stated gluten-free and GMO-free in the listing title. Live at $11.95 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The 12 mg tier, at value-brand prices. Nutricost Melatonin 12 mg states 12 mg, 240 tablets, gluten-free and GMO-free. At $11.95 it is about 5 cents per tablet and an eight-month bottle.

12 mg is mostly a value-brand amount, which tells you something: the pharmacy brands stop at 10, and the tier above is where the value labels compete on "more." Nutricost is a recognized brand with consistent owner reports, which is why it holds the slot. The general guidance that more is not better applies with full force here.

For a 12 mg fast-dissolve, Carlyle Melatonin 12 mg Fast Dissolve is 180 tablets for $9.99, about 5.6 cents a night, and Carlyle also sells 12 mg softgels (180 for $9.88). Nutricost's 10 mg tablets (240 for $10.00) are the step down within the brand, ranked in our best melatonin tablets guide, and the brand is reviewed in the Nutricost melatonin review.

Who should buy it

Buy it if your routine includes a high amount discussed with a doctor, 12 mg is your amount, and you want the lowest cost per night from a recognized value brand.

What we don't like

A value brand at an amount pharmacy brands do not make, 240 tablets is a long commitment, and the title does not state inactive ingredients.

Melatonin per serving
12 mg (1 tablet)
Form
Tablet, swallowed
Count
240
Added ingredients
Not published beyond gluten-free, GMO-free
Sugar
Not published in the title
Cost per night
$11.95 / 240 = about $0.05
Age on label
Adults

What we like

  • About 5 cents a night
  • Stated gluten-free and GMO-free
  • 10 mg and 20 mg in the same line

Worth noting

  • Value brand at a value-brand amount
  • Eight-month commitment to 12 mg

The bedtime kit

The six things that round out a melatonin routine: the standard fast-dissolve, a sub-milligram option, a time-release tablet for staying asleep, a magnesium for melatonin-free nights, a bedtime tea, and a kids bottle. Prices are approximate at time of writing.

More picks worth comparing

Beyond this guide, the highest-rated picks across every category and budget, with a live price check on each.

Natrol 5 mg Fast Dissolve

Best Overall

Natrol 5 mg Fast Dissolve

5 mg · 90 ct · ~$9

Check Price
OLLY Sleep Gummies 3 mg

Best Gummy

OLLY Sleep Gummies 3 mg

3 mg · 70 ct · ~$16

Check Price
Nature Made 3 mg Tablets

Best Value

Nature Made 3 mg Tablets

3 mg · 120 ct · ~$7

Check Price
Life Extension 300 mcg

Best Low Dose

Life Extension 300 mcg

300 mcg · 100 ct · ~$8

Check Price
Natrol 10 mg Time Release

Best Time Release

Natrol 10 mg Time Release

10 mg · 100 ct · ~$17

Check Price
Zarbee's Kids 1 mg Gummies

Best for Kids

Zarbee's Kids 1 mg Gummies

1 mg · 60 ct · ~$15

Check Price

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no cost to you.

Quick shop: every pick

Skip the scroll: the whole lineup, with a live price check on each.

  1. NOW Maximum Strength Melatonin 20 mgBest High-Dose MelatoninNOW Foods · $14.50Check price on Amazon
  2. Pure Encapsulations Melatonin 20 mg, 60 CapsulesBest Practitioner-Brand 20 mgPure Encapsulations · $39.00Check price on Amazon
  3. Nutricost Melatonin 20 mg, 240 CapsulesBest Value 20 mgNutricost · $13.95Check price on Amazon
  4. BulkSupplements Melatonin 20 mg Softgels, 2 per Serving, 360 CountBest 20 mg SoftgelBulkSupplements · $20.97Check price on Amazon
  5. Micro Ingredients Melatonin 20 mg Fast Dissolve, Strawberry, 400 TabletsBest 20 mg Fast-DissolveMicro Ingredients · $19.95Check price on Amazon
  6. Natural Vitality Melatonin Softgels, 12 mg Maximum StrengthBest 12 mg SoftgelNatural Vitality · $15.99Check price on Amazon
  7. Nutricost Melatonin 12 mg, 240 TabletsBest Value 12 mgNutricost · $11.95Check price on Amazon

How we chose

High-dose products are ranked on the site's standard protocol with one rule applied more strictly than anywhere else: brand accountability. Every product here is from a recognized brand (NOW, Pure Encapsulations, Nutricost, BulkSupplements, Micro Ingredients, Natural Vitality, Carlyle), because at 12 and 20 mg a labeling error is a large absolute error and the seller's record is the only hedge a buyer has. Within that, we rank on the melatonin per serving as labeled, the form, the count, the cost per night where the title publishes the count, and the honesty of the listing. We read the Supplement Facts panel and the live Amazon listing and verify price and availability through the Amazon Creators API (this page: September 5, 2026). We weigh consistent owner reports, we do not run a lab, and we never claim physical testing. Products above 20 mg exist only from sellers who do not meet the accountability bar, and they are not ranked.

Melatonin is a dietary supplement in the United States. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. We report what labels direct and the general guidance many clinicians cite that lower amounts, often 0.5 to 3 mg, are a sensible starting point; every amount on this page is far above that range, and this page is not a recommendation of any amount. Next-day grogginess and vivid dreams are the most consistent owner complaints at high amounts. Melatonin can interact with blood thinners, immunosuppressants, blood-pressure and diabetes medication; ask a pharmacist. Do not drive after taking it. Seniors often favor lower amounts. If pregnant or nursing, consult a doctor. Nothing on this page is for children.

Questions, answered

What is the highest dose of melatonin you can buy?

From a recognized brand, 20 mg: NOW Maximum Strength Melatonin 20 mg ($14.50, verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026), Pure Encapsulations Melatonin 20 mg (60 capsules, $39.00), Nutricost Melatonin 20 mg (240 capsules, $13.95) and BulkSupplements Melatonin 20 mg Softgels (2 per serving, 360 count, $20.97). Amazon lists 30, 50 and 60 mg products, but none come from a brand with the accountability this site requires, so nothing above 20 mg is ranked.

Is 20 mg of melatonin safe?

Melatonin is a dietary supplement and the FDA has not evaluated the statements on any label; we do not make safety claims. What we can report is that 20 mg is more than six times the top of the 0.5 to 3 mg range many sleep clinicians cite as a starting point, that grogginess and vivid dreams are the most consistent owner complaints at high amounts, that melatonin can interact with blood thinners, immunosuppressants, blood-pressure and diabetes medication, and that a doctor or pharmacist is the right person to ask before any high amount. Do not drive after taking it.

Why don't you rank 30 mg or 50 mg melatonin?

Because no brand with accountability sells it. Every pick slot on this site goes to a recognized brand, and above 20 mg the only sellers are labels without a pharmacy-shelf name, a published quality program, a practitioner reputation or a history. At those amounts a labeling error is a very large absolute error, and published analyses have found melatonin content varying widely from the label across the products sampled. We would rather state the ceiling and the reason than fill a slot with a random-caps seller.

What is the best high-dose melatonin?

NOW Maximum Strength Melatonin 20 mg, $14.50, because NOW is the manufacturer with the longest published quality program in the category and accountability matters most at the top of the range. The count is not in the title, so we cannot give a cost per night. For a practitioner brand, Pure Encapsulations 20 mg; for value, Nutricost 20 mg at about 5.8 cents a night; for a softgel whose serving structure lets you take half, BulkSupplements. All of them are for people whose routine already includes a high amount discussed with a doctor.

Is there a 12 mg melatonin from a major brand?

Natural Vitality, the company behind Calm magnesium, makes Melatonin Softgels 12 mg Maximum Strength ($14.10; count not in the title). Otherwise 12 mg is a value-brand amount: Nutricost 12 mg (240 tablets, $11.95), Carlyle 12 mg Fast Dissolve (180 tablets, $9.99), Carlyle 12 mg softgels and Nature's Truth 12 mg tablets. Pharmacy brands like Nature Made and Natrol stop at 10 mg.

Does high-dose melatonin cause grogginess?

Next-day grogginess is the most consistent owner complaint at every amount from 10 mg up, and it is reported more often as the amount rises and more often with slow-release formats. Many clinicians favor the lowest effective amount for exactly that reason. Do not drive after taking it. Our explainer on melatonin hangover and grogginess covers what owners report and what the commonly cited cautions are.

Can I take two 10 mg melatonin tablets instead of buying 20 mg?

Only if the label allows more than one, and most direct one. The products on this page exist so that a high amount, where it is part of a routine discussed with a doctor, comes from a labeled serving rather than an improvised one. BulkSupplements' 20 mg softgels are the reverse case: two 10 mg softgels per labeled serving, so taking one is a labeled half. A pharmacist is the person to ask about your amount.