Melatonin vs Doxylamine (2026): A Supplement and a Drug, Side by Side

These two sit on the same pharmacy shelf under the same heading and they are not the same category of thing. Melatonin is a dietary supplement: Natrol Melatonin 5 mg Fast Dissolve is 90 tablets for $8.96 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026), about 10 cents a night, with a Supplement Facts panel. Doxylamine succinate is an over-the-counter drug: Unisom SleepTabs is 80 tablets for $13.98, about 17 cents a tablet, with a Drug Facts panel, its own directions and a list of warnings. We describe the drug only as its label states it and we do not compare the two for effect. Here is what actually distinguishes them.

By The Sleep Desk2026-09-05~10 min read Ranked on verified label facts, never box claimsHow we research

The single most important sentence on this page: melatonin and doxylamine are in different regulatory categories, and the difference is not marketing. Natrol Melatonin 5 mg Fast Dissolve (90 tablets, $8.96, verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) is a dietary supplement. It carries a Supplement Facts panel, its claims are limited to structure and function language, and the FDA has not evaluated them. Unisom SleepTabs (doxylamine succinate, 80 tablets, $13.98) is an over-the-counter drug. It carries a Drug Facts panel with a stated purpose, stated uses, stated directions and a list of warnings, and those warnings are the reason a pharmacist is the right person to ask about it.

Because of that difference, this page does not do the thing comparison pages normally do. We do not tell you which one works better, we do not rank them against each other, and we do not describe doxylamine in any terms other than the ones on its Drug Facts label. That is a rule on this site and it is also just accurate: a supplement whose statements the FDA has not evaluated and an approved over-the-counter drug are not comparable on effect by a publication that reads labels for a living. What we can do is lay out what each one is, what each label states, what each costs, and who each is and is not for.

Every amount, count and form here comes from the Amazon listing title, the Supplement Facts panel or the Drug Facts panel, and every price was verified live on September 5, 2026. We are a verification desk, not a lab: we read labels, verify listings and weigh consistent owner reports, and we never claim to have tested anything. No brand paid for a placement. If you buy through our links we may earn a commission at no cost to you. Nothing here is medical advice, and the panel on the package in your hand is the authority for that package.

The short version

  • Different categories: melatonin is a dietary supplement with a Supplement Facts panel; doxylamine succinate is an over-the-counter drug with a Drug Facts panel.
  • Melatonin side: Natrol Melatonin 5 mg Fast Dissolve, 90 count, $8.96, about 10 cents a night. Start lower, at 1 mg or 3 mg.
  • Drug side: Unisom SleepTabs, doxylamine succinate, 80 tablets, $13.98, about 17 cents a tablet. Its Drug Facts panel carries directions and warnings you must read.
  • The Drug Facts label for doxylamine nighttime sleep-aids directs that use be stopped and a doctor asked if sleeplessness persists for more than two weeks, and warns against alcohol and against driving.
  • Same brand, both categories: Unisom Simple Slumbers is a melatonin gummy at 5 mg, 60 count, $9.99. The Unisom name covers products under two different sets of rules.

At a glance

ProductCategoryLabel panelActive per titleCountCost per piecePrice (9/5/26)Check price
Natrol Melatonin 5 mg Fast DissolveDietary supplementSupplement FactsMelatonin 5 mg90$0.10$8.96Check price on Amazon
Unisom SleepTabsOver-the-counter drugDrug FactsDoxylamine succinate; amount not in title80$0.17$13.98Check price on Amazon
Unisom Simple Slumbers (same brand, supplement)Dietary supplementSupplement FactsMelatonin 5 mg60$0.17$9.99Check price on Amazon

One column set across two regulatory categories. The category row is the most important one on this table. Amounts, forms and counts are from the Amazon listing title; where a title does not state an amount we say so rather than guess. Prices are live Amazon figures verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026. Cost per tablet is price divided by count. This table compares categories, labels and prices; it does not compare the products for effect.

Our PickThe Supplement Side
Natrol Melatonin 5 mg Fast Dissolve Tablets, Strawberry, 90 Count

Natrol Melatonin 5 mg Fast Dissolve Tablets, Strawberry, 90 Count

Natrol

A dietary supplement with a published milligram amount, about ten cents a night.

4.7

Our verdict: The supplement half of this page and our pick within its own category. Natrol states 5 mg per tablet and 90 count for $8.96, about 10 cents a night, in a tablet designed to dissolve on the tongue. It is a dietary supplement: its claims are structure and function language, the FDA has not evaluated them, and it has no Drug Facts panel because it is not a drug. Start at 3 mg or 1 mg rather than 5.

Verified: Labeled 5 mg melatonin per fast-dissolve tablet, strawberry flavored, 90 count, Supplement Facts panel. Live at $8.96 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

What a Supplement Facts panel means. Natrol Melatonin 5 mg Fast Dissolve states 5 mg per tablet, strawberry flavor and 90 count, at $8.96 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026). Melatonin is a hormone the pineal gland produces in darkness, sold in the United States as a dietary supplement. Its label may use structure and function language about supporting occasional sleeplessness and healthy sleep cycles, and it must carry the disclaimer that the FDA has not evaluated those statements.

The phrase to recognize on a supplement box: "100% Drug Free," which appears on Nature Made, Nature's Bounty and others. It is a category label, not a quality claim. It tells you the bottle holds melatonin rather than an over-the-counter sleep drug such as doxylamine or diphenhydramine. It is the shelf's own way of drawing the line this page is about.

Start lower than this bottle. The general guidance commonly cited by sleep clinicians is the lowest amount that helps, often described as 0.5 to 3 mg, with more not being better and higher amounts associated with next-day grogginess. Natrol's 3 mg ($7.32 for 90) and 1 mg ($6.97 for 90) are the same tablet at less money. The side-effect picture is covered in melatonin side effects, the amount question in how much melatonin should I take, and the whole line in the Natrol melatonin review.

Who should buy it

Buy it if you want a dietary supplement rather than a drug, if your situation involves travel or a shifted schedule, or if you want a published milligram amount you can lower deliberately.

What we don't like

Five milligrams is above the 0.5 to 3 mg range clinicians commonly favor, and next-day grogginess is the common complaint at higher amounts. The title states no sweetener and no age range, and melatonin can interact with several classes of prescription medication.

Category
Dietary supplement
Label panel
Supplement Facts
Active per serving
Melatonin 5 mg (1 tablet)
Form
Fast dissolve tablet, strawberry
Count
90
Cost per night
$8.96 / 90 = about $0.10
Age on label
Adults; not published in the title

What we like

  • Published milligram amount that can be lowered to 3 mg or 1 mg
  • About 10 cents a night, the cheapest option on this page
  • Dissolves without water

Worth noting

  • 5 mg is above the commonly cited starting range
  • Statements are not evaluated by the FDA, as the panel says
Best ValueThe Drug Facts Side of the Shelf
Unisom SleepTabs, Nighttime Sleep-aid, Doxylamine Succinate, 80 Tablets

Unisom SleepTabs, Nighttime Sleep-aid, Doxylamine Succinate, 80 Tablets

Unisom

An over-the-counter drug with a Drug Facts panel, described here only as labeled.

4.5

Our verdict: This is a drug, not a supplement, and we present it that way. Unisom SleepTabs is listed as a nighttime sleep-aid containing doxylamine succinate, 80 tablets for $13.98, about 17 cents a tablet. Its Drug Facts panel states its purpose, its uses, its directions and its warnings, and that panel rather than this page is what you act on. We do not compare it with a supplement for effect.

Verified: Listed as a nighttime sleep-aid containing doxylamine succinate, 80 tablets, with a Drug Facts label. The amount per tablet is not published in the listing title. Live at $13.98 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

What a Drug Facts panel is, and why it changes the conversation. Unisom SleepTabs is listed as a nighttime sleep-aid containing doxylamine succinate, 80 tablets, at $13.98 (verified September 5, 2026). The listing title does not state the amount per tablet; Kirkland Signature Sleep Aid ($7.93 for 96) and Amazon Basic Care Nighttime Sleep Aid ($9.44 for 96) both state doxylamine succinate 25 mg in their titles, which is the amount the category is sold at. A Drug Facts panel is a standardized format: active ingredient, purpose, uses, warnings, directions, other information, inactive ingredients.

As the Drug Facts label states, for doxylamine succinate nighttime sleep-aids: the purpose is nighttime sleep-aid and the use is for relief of occasional sleeplessness. The directions are for adults and children 12 years and over, one tablet 30 minutes before going to bed, or as directed by a doctor. The label states not to use it in children under 12. Read the panel on the package you buy; it is the authority for that package.

The warnings, as the label carries them. Ask a doctor before use if you have a breathing problem such as emphysema or chronic bronchitis, glaucoma, or trouble urinating due to an enlarged prostate gland. Ask a doctor or pharmacist before use if you are taking sedatives or tranquilizers. When using the product, avoid alcoholic beverages, drowsiness will occur, and do not drive a motor vehicle or operate machinery. Stop use and ask a doctor if sleeplessness persists continuously for more than two weeks, because insomnia may be a symptom of a serious underlying medical condition. If pregnant or breast-feeding, ask a health professional before use. Keep out of reach of children; in case of overdose, get medical help or contact a Poison Control Center right away at 1-800-222-1222. Those are the label's words and their substance, and they are the reason a pharmacist should know you are taking it.

Who should buy it

This is a drug and the decision belongs with you and a pharmacist or doctor rather than with us. What we can say is who its own label excludes: it states not for children under 12, it directs a doctor be asked first for several conditions, and it directs use be stopped and a doctor asked if sleeplessness persists for more than two weeks.

What we don't like

The listing title does not state the amount per tablet, which a drug listing should, and the same active ingredient is available for less: Kirkland Signature at $7.93 for 96 and Amazon Basic Care at $9.44 for 96, both stating 25 mg. The Unisom brand also covers melatonin supplements, which invites exactly the confusion this page exists to prevent.

Category
Over-the-counter drug
Label panel
Drug Facts
Active per tablet
Doxylamine succinate; amount not published in the title
Form
Tablet
Count
80
Cost per tablet
$13.98 / 80 = about $0.17
Age on label
Adults and children 12 years and over, per the Drug Facts directions

What we like

  • A standardized Drug Facts panel with stated uses, directions and warnings
  • The best-known brand name in the over-the-counter sleep-aid aisle
  • Its own label states clearly who should not use it and when to stop

Worth noting

  • The amount per tablet is not published on the listing title
  • The same active ingredient costs less from Kirkland and Amazon Basic Care
  • The Unisom brand also sells melatonin supplements, which invites confusion
Upgrade PickSame Brand, Supplement Side
Unisom Simple Slumbers Drug Free Sleep Aid Gummies, Melatonin 5 mg, 60 Count

Unisom Simple Slumbers Drug Free Sleep Aid Gummies, Melatonin 5 mg, 60 Count

Unisom

The Unisom name on a melatonin gummy, which is a supplement, not the drug.

4.4

Our verdict: The product that proves why this page is necessary. Unisom Simple Slumbers is a melatonin gummy stating 5 mg and 60 count at $9.99, about 17 cents a gummy, and its title says drug free. Same brand as SleepTabs, opposite category. A shopper reaching for the Unisom name can end up with a drug or a supplement depending on which box they take, and the panels are the only reliable way to tell them apart.

Verified: Labeled drug free, melatonin 5 mg, midnight raspberry, 60 count, Supplement Facts panel. Live at $9.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

One brand, two regulatory categories, adjacent on the shelf. Unisom Simple Slumbers states drug free, melatonin 5 mg, midnight raspberry and 60 count, at $9.99 (verified September 5, 2026), about 17 cents a gummy. It is a dietary supplement with a Supplement Facts panel. SleepTabs, under the same name, is a drug with a Drug Facts panel. Nothing about the brand tells you which you are holding.

How to tell them apart in three seconds: turn the box over. A Drug Facts panel lists an active ingredient and a purpose and carries a warnings block. A Supplement Facts panel lists a serving size and an ingredient amount and carries the FDA disclaimer. If the front says "drug free," it is a supplement. If it names doxylamine or diphenhydramine, it is a drug.

Unisom's supplement line runs further than the gummy. Simple Slumbers Return-to-Sleep Dissolving Strips state melatonin 3 mg, cool mint, 21 count ($10.62, about 51 cents a strip), and Unisom Sleep Support Gummies state magnesium and ashwagandha with no melatonin at all ($18.99). Three different propositions under one drugstore name. The brand is unpicked in the Unisom Simple Slumbers review, and the same brand-confusion problem at Vicks is melatonin vs ZzzQuil.

Who should buy it

Buy it if you want a melatonin supplement and the Unisom name is what you trust, or if you specifically want a gummy rather than a tablet. Note the 5 mg amount and consider whether a lower one suits you better.

What we don't like

About 17 cents a gummy is well above the cheapest mainstream melatonin gummies, 5 mg is above the commonly favored range, and sharing a brand name with an over-the-counter drug is the exact scenario in which someone buys the wrong box.

Category
Dietary supplement
Label panel
Supplement Facts
Active per serving
Melatonin 5 mg
Form
Gummy, midnight raspberry
Count
60
Cost per gummy
$9.99 / 60 = about $0.17
Age on label
Adults; not published in the title

What we like

  • Drug free stated on the title, and it is a supplement
  • Recognized pharmacy brand with a published 5 mg amount
  • A gummy alternative from the same name as the drug

Worth noting

  • About 17 cents a gummy, above the cheapest mainstream gummies
  • Brand overlap with an over-the-counter drug invites the wrong purchase

The bedtime kit

The six things that round out a melatonin routine: the standard fast-dissolve, a sub-milligram option, a time-release tablet for staying asleep, a magnesium for melatonin-free nights, a bedtime tea, and a kids bottle. Prices are approximate at time of writing.

Axis 1: The category, which is the whole page

A dietary supplement and an over-the-counter drug are regulated under different frameworks and labeled under different rules. A supplement carries a Supplement Facts panel, may make structure and function claims, and must state that the FDA has not evaluated them. An over-the-counter drug carries a Drug Facts panel in a standardized format: active ingredient, purpose, uses, warnings, directions, other information, inactive ingredients. It is permitted to state what it is for, because it went through a different process to get there.

That is why this page will not tell you which one is better. A publication that reads labels for a living cannot responsibly rank a product whose statements the FDA has not evaluated against an approved over-the-counter drug on the question of effect. What we can compare is category, disclosure, price, and who each label includes and excludes. Everything below stays inside those lines, and the Drug Facts panel on the package in your hand stays the authority for that package.

Verdict on this axis: not a verdict. Recognize the category first, then ask a pharmacist. Both product types are sold within a few feet of each other and only the back of the box distinguishes them.

Axis 2: What each label states about who it is for

The melatonin side says relatively little. Natrol's listing title states the amount, the form and the count and no age range; the Supplement Facts panel carries the maker's guidance. The category's own general guidance, commonly cited by sleep clinicians, is the lowest amount that helps, often described as 0.5 to 3 mg. Beyond that, melatonin's cautions are about interactions, with blood thinners, immunosuppressants and blood-pressure and diabetes medication among the classes flagged, and about not driving afterward.

The Drug Facts label on a doxylamine succinate nighttime sleep-aid is far more specific, because it is required to be. As the label states: the purpose is nighttime sleep-aid, the use is for relief of occasional sleeplessness, and the directions are for adults and children 12 years and over, one tablet 30 minutes before going to bed or as directed by a doctor. The label states not to use it in children under 12. It directs asking a doctor before use with a breathing problem such as emphysema or chronic bronchitis, with glaucoma, or with trouble urinating due to an enlarged prostate gland, and asking a doctor or pharmacist before use if taking sedatives or tranquilizers.

The two-week line, stated on the label: stop use and ask a doctor if sleeplessness persists continuously for more than two weeks, because insomnia may be a symptom of a serious underlying medical condition. That instruction is on the panel, it applies regardless of what else you read, and it is a good rule for anyone using any sleep product nightly.

Axis 3: The warnings, and why alcohol and driving get their own paragraph

The Drug Facts label for doxylamine nighttime sleep-aids states, when using this product, to avoid alcoholic beverages, that drowsiness will occur, and not to drive a motor vehicle or operate machinery. Those are not our cautions; they are printed on the box, and they are printed there because they are the ones that matter most in practice. If pregnant or breast-feeding, the label directs asking a health professional before use. Keep out of reach of children, and in case of overdose get medical help or contact a Poison Control Center right away at 1-800-222-1222.

Melatonin carries its own version of some of this without the same regulatory weight. Do not drive after taking it. Do not combine it casually with alcohol, which is covered in melatonin and alcohol. Talk to a pharmacist if you take prescription medication. And keep gummies out of children's reach: poison-control calls about pediatric melatonin ingestions rose sharply through the early 2020s, and gummies are the form most involved. The difference is that melatonin's cautions come from research and general guidance while doxylamine's come from an approved label, and a label instruction is not optional.

Verdict on this axis: read the Drug Facts panel before you buy the drug, not after. If you take anything on prescription, or you have any of the conditions the label names, the pharmacy counter is ten feet away and the person behind it answers this question for free.

Axis 4: Price, and the identical active ingredient sold for half

Natrol's melatonin is about 10 cents a tablet. Unisom SleepTabs is about 17 cents a tablet. But the more useful price fact on this page is inside the drug category rather than across it: Kirkland Signature Sleep Aid states doxylamine succinate 25 mg, 96 tablets, at $7.93, about 8 cents a tablet, and Amazon Basic Care Nighttime Sleep Aid states the same 25 mg, 96 tablets, at $9.44, about 10 cents. Both are the same active ingredient at half or less of the Unisom price per tablet.

Store-brand and national-brand over-the-counter drugs with the same active ingredient at the same amount are held to the same standard, which is the entire logic of the store-brand aisle. If you and a pharmacist have decided a doxylamine product is appropriate, the brand name is the part you can stop paying for. Kirkland's two-pack at $13.74 for 192 tablets is about 7 cents a tablet, the lowest figure on this page for either category.

Verdict on this axis: within the supplement category, melatonin is cheaper still, and within the drug category the store brands are the value. Nobody should be paying the Unisom premium for the identical active ingredient.

Axis 5: The brand-name trap

Unisom is a drug brand that also sells supplements. SleepTabs is doxylamine with a Drug Facts panel. Simple Slumbers is a melatonin gummy stating drug free. Unisom Sleep Support Gummies state magnesium and ashwagandha and contain neither melatonin nor a drug. Three propositions, one name, one shelf.

Vicks does the same thing on a larger scale: the original ZzzQuil Nighttime Sleep Aid Liquid states 50 mg diphenhydramine HCl and is a drug, while the Pure Zzzs line is melatonin and is a supplement. Same brand family, two categories, similar packaging. We describe the diphenhydramine product only as labeled, and the whole tangle is unpicked in melatonin vs ZzzQuil. The practical defense is the same in both cases: turn the box over and find the panel before you find the price.

Verdict on this axis: a warning rather than a winner. If you buy sleep products by brand name, you will eventually buy the wrong category. Buy by panel.

The verdict, by buyer type

You want a dietary supplement: Natrol Melatonin 3 mg Fast Dissolve, $7.32 for 90, about 8 cents a night, rather than the 5 mg bottle.

You want a melatonin gummy from a pharmacy name: Unisom Simple Slumbers, $9.99 for 60. It says drug free on the front because it is a supplement.

You are considering the over-the-counter drug: that is a conversation with a pharmacist, not with us. Read the Drug Facts panel first, particularly the warnings and the two-week instruction. If you and a pharmacist decide it is appropriate, Kirkland Signature states the same active ingredient at 25 mg for about 8 cents a tablet against Unisom's 17.

You are under 18, pregnant, nursing, or on prescription medication: the doxylamine label directs asking a health professional, and it states not for children under 12. Melatonin during pregnancy is covered in melatonin during pregnancy, which reaches the same conclusion: ask a doctor.

Your sleeplessness has run more than two weeks: the Drug Facts label itself tells you to stop and see a doctor, and that is the best sentence on either box. Every buyer: turn the package over and read the panel before you compare prices.

More picks worth comparing

Beyond this guide, the highest-rated picks across every category and budget, with a live price check on each.

Natrol 5 mg Fast Dissolve

Best Overall

Natrol 5 mg Fast Dissolve

5 mg · 90 ct · ~$9

Check Price
OLLY Sleep Gummies 3 mg

Best Gummy

OLLY Sleep Gummies 3 mg

3 mg · 70 ct · ~$16

Check Price
Nature Made 3 mg Tablets

Best Value

Nature Made 3 mg Tablets

3 mg · 120 ct · ~$7

Check Price
Life Extension 300 mcg

Best Low Dose

Life Extension 300 mcg

300 mcg · 100 ct · ~$8

Check Price
Natrol 10 mg Time Release

Best Time Release

Natrol 10 mg Time Release

10 mg · 100 ct · ~$17

Check Price
Zarbee's Kids 1 mg Gummies

Best for Kids

Zarbee's Kids 1 mg Gummies

1 mg · 60 ct · ~$15

Check Price

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no cost to you.

Quick shop: every pick

Skip the scroll: the whole lineup, with a live price check on each.

  1. Natrol Melatonin 5 mg Fast Dissolve Tablets, Strawberry, 90 CountThe Supplement SideNatrol · $8.96Check price on Amazon
  2. Unisom SleepTabs, Nighttime Sleep-aid, Doxylamine Succinate, 80 TabletsThe Drug Facts Side of the ShelfUnisom · $13.98Check price on Amazon
  3. Unisom Simple Slumbers Drug Free Sleep Aid Gummies, Melatonin 5 mg, 60 CountSame Brand, Supplement SideUnisom · $13.99Check price on Amazon

How we chose

This page compares two regulatory categories, not two products' effects. For the dietary supplements we do what we always do: read the Supplement Facts panel and the live Amazon listing, verify price and availability through the Amazon Creators API (this page: September 5, 2026), and weigh the consistent testimony of owners. For the over-the-counter drug we describe only what its Drug Facts label states: the purpose, the uses, the directions and the warnings. We do not evaluate it, we do not rank it against a supplement, and we make no statement about how well it works. The editorial ratings shown on this page reflect how completely and honestly each listing states what it is; they are not a comparison of effect between a drug and a supplement, and they should not be read as one.

Melatonin is a dietary supplement in the United States. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. We report what supplement labels direct and never prescribe an amount; the commonly cited general guidance that many clinicians favor the lowest effective amount of melatonin, often 0.5 to 3 mg, is attributed as guidance. Melatonin can interact with blood thinners, immunosuppressants and blood-pressure and diabetes medication. Doxylamine succinate products are drugs: their Drug Facts labels carry their own uses, directions, interactions and warnings, including warnings about alcohol, driving and operating machinery, and a direction to stop use and ask a doctor if sleeplessness persists for more than two weeks. Read the Drug Facts panel on the package you buy, and ask a pharmacist before combining any sleep product with prescription medication. If pregnant or nursing, ask a health professional. Keep both out of reach of children; Poison Control is 1-800-222-1222.

Questions, answered

What is the difference between melatonin and doxylamine?

They are in different regulatory categories. Melatonin is a dietary supplement with a Supplement Facts panel whose claims are limited to structure and function language the FDA has not evaluated. Doxylamine succinate is an over-the-counter drug with a Drug Facts panel that states a purpose, uses, directions and warnings. We describe the drug only as its label states and do not compare the two for effect.

What does the Unisom SleepTabs label say?

As the Drug Facts label states for doxylamine succinate nighttime sleep-aids: the purpose is nighttime sleep-aid, the use is for relief of occasional sleeplessness, and the directions are for adults and children 12 years and over, one tablet 30 minutes before going to bed or as directed by a doctor. It states not to use in children under 12. The panel on the package you buy is the authority.

What are the warnings on a doxylamine sleep aid?

As the label carries them: ask a doctor before use with a breathing problem such as emphysema or chronic bronchitis, with glaucoma, or with trouble urinating due to an enlarged prostate; ask a doctor or pharmacist if taking sedatives or tranquilizers; avoid alcoholic beverages; drowsiness will occur, so do not drive or operate machinery; stop use and ask a doctor if sleeplessness persists more than two weeks; if pregnant or breast-feeding ask a health professional; keep out of reach of children.

Which works better, melatonin or Unisom?

We do not answer that, and it is a deliberate rule rather than an evasion. One is a dietary supplement whose statements the FDA has not evaluated and the other is an over-the-counter drug, and a publication that reads labels cannot responsibly rank them against each other on effect. A pharmacist can discuss both with knowledge of your medical history, which is the right way to settle it.

Is Unisom a melatonin product?

Some Unisom products are and some are not. Unisom SleepTabs is doxylamine succinate, a drug with a Drug Facts panel. Unisom Simple Slumbers is a melatonin gummy at 5 mg with a Supplement Facts panel and the words drug free on the front. Unisom Sleep Support Gummies state magnesium and ashwagandha and contain neither. Read the panel rather than the brand.

Is there a cheaper doxylamine than Unisom?

Yes. Kirkland Signature Sleep Aid states doxylamine succinate 25 mg, 96 tablets, at $7.93 at our September 5, 2026 check, about 8 cents a tablet, and Amazon Basic Care Nighttime Sleep Aid states the same 25 mg, 96 tablets, at $9.44. Unisom SleepTabs is about 17 cents a tablet. Store-brand over-the-counter drugs with the same active ingredient are held to the same standard.

Can I take melatonin and a doxylamine sleep aid together?

That is a pharmacist's question and not something to try on your own. The Drug Facts label directs asking a doctor or pharmacist before use if you are taking sedatives or tranquilizers, and combining sedating products is exactly the situation that instruction exists for. Bring both boxes to the counter.

How do I tell a supplement from a drug in the sleep aisle?

Turn the box over. A Drug Facts panel lists an active ingredient with a purpose and carries a standardized warnings block. A Supplement Facts panel lists a serving size and ingredient amounts and carries the statement that the FDA has not evaluated the claims. On the front, the phrase 100% drug free means the box holds a supplement, and the words doxylamine or diphenhydramine mean it holds a drug.