Our Pick: Unisom
Check price on Amazon →Unisom Simple Slumbers Review (2026): The Supplement Side of Unisom
Unisom Simple Slumbers is worth buying, and the one to get is the Melatonin 5 mg gummy, Midnight Raspberry, 60 count for $9.99 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026), about 17 cents a gummy from a pharmacy-shelf brand. The important thing to understand about Unisom is that the name covers two different kinds of product: Simple Slumbers is a melatonin dietary supplement, and SleepTabs is an over-the-counter drug. This review sorts the supplement line and describes the drug only as its label does.
By The Sleep Desk2026-09-05~12 min read Ranked on verified label facts, never box claimsHow we research
Best OverallUnisom Simple Slumbers Melatonin 5 mg Gummies, Midnight Raspberry, 60 Count
Unisom · 4.5
$13.99
Buy Unisom Simple Slumbers Melatonin 5 mg Gummies, Midnight Raspberry, 60 count at $9.99 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026). That is $9.99 divided by 60, about 17 cents a gummy before serving size, for a labeled 5 mg gummy the title calls drug free, from a brand on every pharmacy shelf. Among the 5 mg gummies from recognized brands it is one of the cheapest per piece, and it is the Unisom to start with. If you want a lower amount in the line, the Return-to-Sleep Dissolving Strips state 3 mg.
The Unisom name needs a paragraph of its own. For decades it has meant SleepTabs, an over-the-counter sleep-aid drug whose active ingredient is doxylamine succinate and which carries a Drug Facts label. Simple Slumbers is a newer, separate line: melatonin dietary supplements with a Supplement Facts panel, sold as gummies and dissolving strips, plus a melatonin-free Sleep Support gummy built on magnesium and ashwagandha. The two kinds of product are regulated differently, labeled differently, and are not interchangeable. This review is about the supplement line. We describe SleepTabs only as its label does, and we do not compare a drug's effectiveness to a supplement's, because that is not a comparison a review site should make.
How we judged it: every Unisom listing was verified live through the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026, and every amount, count and flavor here comes from the listing title, never from marketing copy. Unisom is a Tier A brand on this site on the strength of its pharmacy-shelf record. We are a verification desk, not a lab; we weigh consistent owner reports rather than the loudest review. No brand paid for a placement. If you buy through our links we may earn an Amazon commission at no extra cost to you. Melatonin is a dietary supplement: talk to a doctor or pharmacist if you take other medication, are pregnant or nursing, or are shopping for a child.
The short version
- Our Pick inside the line: Unisom Simple Slumbers Melatonin 5 mg Gummies, Midnight Raspberry, 60 count, $9.99, about 17 cents a gummy. The cheapest per gummy of the three 5 mg gummies on this page.
- The lower amount in the line: Simple Slumbers Return-to-Sleep Dissolving Strips, 3 mg, cool mint, 21 count, $10.62, about 51 cents a strip. Convenient, and expensive per night.
- The melatonin-free option: Unisom Sleep Support Gummies, a magnesium and ashwagandha formula the title calls drug-free; the title does not state melatonin or a count, $18.99.
- The drug in the family: Unisom SleepTabs, doxylamine succinate, 80 tablets, $13.98. An over-the-counter drug with a Drug Facts label, described here only as labeled and never compared on effectiveness with the supplements.
- Where the benchmarks land: Natrol 5 mg gummies (90 count, $10.97) are about 12 cents each, cheaper than Unisom; Nature Made 5 mg gummies (70 count, $13.99) are about 20 cents, pricier.
At a glance
| Product | Kind | Active (per title) | Count | Per unit | Price (9/5/26) | Check price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Simple Slumbers Melatonin Gummies | Dietary supplement | Melatonin 5 mg | 60 | $0.17 | $9.99 | Check price on Amazon |
| Simple Slumbers Return-to-Sleep Strips | Dietary supplement | Melatonin 3 mg | 21 | $0.51 | $10.62 | Check price on Amazon |
| Unisom Sleep Support Gummies | Dietary supplement | Magnesium, ashwagandha; melatonin not stated | Not published | n/a | $18.99 | Check price on Amazon |
| Unisom SleepTabs | OTC drug (Drug Facts) | Doxylamine succinate | 80 | $0.17 | $13.98 | Check price on Amazon |
| Nature Made 5 mg Gummies (benchmark) | Dietary supplement | Melatonin 5 mg | 70 | $0.20 | $13.99 | Check price on Amazon |
| Natrol 5 mg Gummies (benchmark) | Dietary supplement | Melatonin 5 mg | 90 | $0.12 | $10.97 | Check price on Amazon |
Four Unisom products and two benchmarks. Amounts and counts are from the Amazon listing title; no gummy title states a serving size, so gummy cost is per gummy. SleepTabs is an over-the-counter drug listed as labeled, not compared. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026.
Unisom Simple Slumbers Melatonin 5 mg Gummies, Midnight Raspberry, 60 Count
Unisom
A labeled 5 mg drug-free gummy from a pharmacy brand, 60 for $9.99, about 17 cents each.
Our verdict: The Simple Slumbers product to buy. A labeled 5 mg gummy in a stated Midnight Raspberry flavor, 60 count at $9.99, about 17 cents each, which undercuts Nature Made's 5 mg gummy by three cents and comes from a brand every pharmacy carries. The title calls it drug free, which in Unisom's case is the phrase that separates it from SleepTabs.
Verified: Labeled 5 mg melatonin per the listing title, drug free, Midnight Raspberry, 60 gummies. Live at $9.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
A pharmacy brand's 5 mg gummy at under 20 cents is the whole pitch, and it holds up. The Unisom Simple Slumbers Melatonin 5 mg Gummies state 5 mg, drug free, Midnight Raspberry and 60 count in the title. $9.99 divided by 60 is about 17 cents a gummy. Among the recognized-brand 5 mg gummies, only Natrol (about 12 cents) and Amazon Basics (about 9 cents) come in lower.
Five milligrams is above the 0.5 to 3 mg range many clinicians cite as a starting point, and the title does not state the serving size, so read the panel before assuming one gummy is one serving; if it directs two, the amount doubles and the bottle is 30 nights. Simple Slumbers offers no lower-amount gummy at our check; the 3 mg option in the line is the strip below. The 5 mg gummy field is ranked in our best 5 mg melatonin guide.
Who should buy it
Buy it if 5 mg is your amount, you want a gummy from a pharmacy-shelf brand at under 20 cents each, and you want the flavor stated on the listing. It is the Unisom for a regular gummy user.
What we don't like
5 mg is above the commonly cited starting range with no lower gummy in the line, the serving size and sugar are not in the title, and the shared Unisom name invites confusion with the doxylamine drug.
- Melatonin per serving
- 5 mg (serving size on label)
- Form
- Gummy, Midnight Raspberry
- Count
- 60
- Added ingredients
- Not published in the title
- Sugar
- Sweetened; amount not published
- Cost per gummy
- $9.99 / 60 = about $0.17
- Age on label
- Adults
What we like
- About 17 cents a gummy from a pharmacy-shelf brand
- Amount and flavor stated in the title
- Stated drug free, distinguishing it from SleepTabs
Worth noting
- 5 mg only; no lower gummy in the line
- Serving size and sugar not stated
Unisom Simple Slumbers Return-to-Sleep Dissolving Strips, 3 mg, Cool Mint, 21 Count
Unisom
A 3 mg cool-mint strip that dissolves on the tongue, 21 for $10.62, about 51 cents each.
Our verdict: The most interesting thing Unisom sells and the most expensive per night. A 3 mg strip that dissolves on the tongue, cool mint, 21 to a pack at $10.62, about 51 cents each. The strip format exists for people who wake in the night and do not want to get up for water, which is what the Return-to-Sleep name signals. At 3 mg it is also the only moderate-amount melatonin in the line.
Verified: Labeled 3 mg melatonin per dissolving strip, cool mint, 21 count. Live at $10.62 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
A strip is a format decision, and the label positions this one for the middle of the night. The Unisom Simple Slumbers Return-to-Sleep Dissolving Strips state 3 mg, cool mint and 21 count. The strip dissolves on the tongue with no water, and the product name is the label's positioning: a melatonin to take on waking rather than at bedtime. That is how the maker frames it; we describe the positioning and do not vouch for an outcome.
On the amount: 3 mg sits inside the range many clinicians cite as a starting point, and taking melatonin on waking in the night is exactly the situation where the general caution about next-day grogginess applies most, because there are fewer hours left before morning. The melatonin hangover and grogginess explainer covers what owners report. Do not drive after taking it.
Who should buy it
Buy it if you want a moderate 3 mg in a no-water strip you can keep by the bed, and the convenience is worth about 51 cents a night to you. It is the Unisom for occasional rather than nightly use.
What we don't like
About 51 cents a strip is the priciest per night on this page, 21 count is a small pack, and taking melatonin mid-night raises the grogginess question more than taking it at bedtime does.
- Melatonin per serving
- 3 mg (1 strip)
- Form
- Dissolving strip, cool mint
- Count
- 21
- Added ingredients
- Not published in the title
- Sugar
- Not published in the title
- Cost per night
- $10.62 / 21 = about $0.51
- Age on label
- Adults
What we like
- 3 mg, the only moderate amount in the line
- No water, dissolves on the tongue
- Amount, flavor and count stated in the title
Worth noting
- About 51 cents a strip
- Small 21-count pack
Unisom Sleep Support Gummies, Magnesium and Ashwagandha, Drug-Free
Unisom
A 2-in-1 magnesium and ashwagandha gummy the title calls drug-free; melatonin not stated.
Our verdict: Unisom's answer to the melatonin-free shelf. The title names magnesium and ashwagandha as a 2-in-1 drug-free formula and says it supports healthy sleep routines; it does not name melatonin, state a count, or state the amount of either ingredient. At $18.99 it is the priciest Unisom on the page and the one with the least information on the listing. Buy it only if you have decided you want a magnesium and ashwagandha gummy and prefer the Unisom brand.
Verified: Magnesium and ashwagandha 2-in-1 drug-free formula per the listing title; melatonin, amounts and count not published in the title. Live at $18.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
This card is about what the listing says, which is not much. The Unisom Sleep Support Gummies are described in the title as a 2-in-1 magnesium and ashwagandha drug-free formula that supports healthy sleep routines. The title does not name melatonin. It does not state the count, so we cannot compute a per-gummy cost from $18.99, and it does not state the amount of magnesium or ashwagandha, so we do not.
Within the Unisom family, this gummy is the one for someone who wants to avoid melatonin and also wants to avoid the doxylamine drug. That is a real position, and Unisom is one of the few pharmacy-shelf brands with a product in it. The comparison to draw is with ZzzQuil's melatonin-free Pure Zzzs +Magnesium Capsules ($13.95), which state L-theanine and a four-form magnesium blend in the title; neither listing publishes amounts.
Who should buy it
Buy it if you want a magnesium and ashwagandha gummy with no melatonin from a pharmacy-shelf brand, and you will read the panel for the count and amounts. Skip it if you are shopping for melatonin.
What we don't like
The title states no count, no amounts and no melatonin, so there is almost nothing to compare on, and at $18.99 it is the priciest Unisom on the page.
- Melatonin per serving
- Not stated in the title (melatonin-free formula)
- Form
- Gummy
- Count
- Not published in the title
- Added ingredients
- Magnesium, ashwagandha (amounts not published)
- Sugar
- Not published in the title
- Cost per night
- Not computable; count not published
- Age on label
- Adults
What we like
- Melatonin-free option from a pharmacy-shelf brand
- Magnesium and ashwagandha named in the title
Worth noting
- Count and amounts not published in the title
- Priciest Unisom on the page
Unisom SleepTabs, Doxylamine Succinate, 80 Tablets
Unisom
An over-the-counter nighttime sleep-aid drug, doxylamine succinate, 80 tablets, listed as labeled.
Our verdict: This is not a melatonin product and not a dietary supplement. Unisom SleepTabs is an over-the-counter drug whose title states doxylamine succinate as the active ingredient and 80 tablets as the count, at $13.98. We list it because it shares the Unisom name and shelf with Simple Slumbers and buyers confuse the two. We describe it only as its Drug Facts label does, and we do not compare its effectiveness with any supplement on this page.
Verified: Nighttime sleep-aid, doxylamine succinate, 80 tablets per the listing title; an over-the-counter drug with a Drug Facts label. Live at $13.98 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
Read this card as a label, not a review. Unisom SleepTabs are a nighttime sleep-aid whose listing title states the active ingredient as doxylamine succinate and the count as 80 tablets. Doxylamine succinate is regulated as an over-the-counter drug in the United States, and the product carries a Drug Facts label rather than a Supplement Facts panel. Everything about how it is used, who should not use it, and what it may interact with is on that label, and a pharmacist is the right person to ask about it.
For buyers who arrived here looking for the drug: the same active ingredient is sold under store labels whose titles state 25 mg, including Kirkland Signature Sleep Aid (96 tablets, $7.93) and Amazon Basic Care Nighttime Sleep Aid (96 tablets, $9.44), each also carrying a Drug Facts label. We list them as labeled, for the same reason.
Who should buy it
This is a Drug Facts product; whether it is appropriate for you is a question for the label and a pharmacist, not for a supplement review. If you came to this page for melatonin, it is not what you are looking for.
What we don't like
Nothing about the product itself is within our remit to judge. What we dislike is the shelf confusion: two Unisom lines, one a drug and one a supplement, sharing a name.
- Active ingredient (per title)
- Doxylamine succinate
- Kind
- Over-the-counter drug, Drug Facts label
- Form
- Tablet
- Count
- 80
- Cost per tablet
- $13.98 / 80 = about $0.17
- Use directions
- Per the Drug Facts label
What we like
- Active ingredient and count stated in the title
- Pharmacy-shelf brand
Worth noting
- Not a melatonin product; not comparable to the supplements here
- Shares a name with the Simple Slumbers supplement line
Nature Made Melatonin 5 mg Gummies, 70 Count
Nature Made
Nature Made's 5 mg adult gummy, 70 count, about 20 cents each.
Our verdict: The direct pharmacy-shelf rival at the same amount. Nature Made's 5 mg gummy is 70 for $13.99, about 20 cents each, three cents more than Simple Slumbers. What Nature Made offers for the difference is the longest verification record in the category and a gummy ladder that goes down to 2.5 mg, which Unisom's does not.
Verified: Labeled 5 mg melatonin per the listing title, adult gummies, 70 count. Live at $13.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
Same amount, same kind of brand, three cents more. Nature Made Melatonin 5 mg Gummies state 5 mg and 70 count in the title; $13.99 divided by 70 is about 20 cents a gummy. Unisom's 5 mg is about 17 cents. Both are pharmacy-shelf brands; Nature Made's lines carry third-party verification marks more often than most.
The full Nature Made line is in the Nature Made melatonin review, and every recognized-brand gummy is ranked in best melatonin gummies.
Who should buy it
Buy it instead of Unisom if you want the 5 mg gummy from the brand with the deepest verification record, or if you want the option to step down to 2.5 mg within the same line.
What we don't like
Three cents a gummy more than Unisom for the same stated amount, and the flavor, sugar and serving size are not in the title.
- Melatonin per serving
- 5 mg (serving size on label)
- Form
- Gummy
- Count
- 70
- Added ingredients
- Not published in the title
- Sugar
- Sweetened; amount not published
- Cost per gummy
- $13.99 / 70 = about $0.20
- Age on label
- Adults
What we like
- Pharmacy-shelf brand with a deep verification record
- 2.5 mg and zero-sugar gummies in the same line
Worth noting
- About 20 cents a gummy, more than Unisom
- Flavor not stated in the title
Natrol Melatonin 5 mg Gummies, 90 Count
Natrol
Natrol's 5 mg gummy, 90 count for $10.97, about 12 cents each.
Our verdict: The benchmark that beats Unisom on price. Natrol's 5 mg gummy is 90 for $10.97, about 12 cents each, five cents under Simple Slumbers, from the brand most associated with melatonin. Unisom's advantages are a stated flavor and a smaller bottle; Natrol's is the per-gummy cost and a 10 mg gummy at the same price for people who want to step up.
Verified: Labeled 5 mg melatonin per the listing title, gummy form, 90 count, sleep support for adults. Live at $10.97 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
At 5 mg in a gummy, Natrol is the price to beat, and Unisom does not beat it. Natrol Melatonin 5 mg Gummies state 5 mg, 90 count and adult sleep support in the title. $10.97 divided by 90 is about 12 cents a gummy. Simple Slumbers is about 17 cents. Over a year of one gummy a night that is roughly $18.
Neither title states a serving size or the sugar content, so the per-gummy figures are the honest comparison until the bottle is in hand. Both are adult products at an amount above the commonly cited starting range; the general guidance to start low applies to both, and how much melatonin should I take covers what the labels direct.
Who should buy it
Buy it instead of Unisom if the lowest per-gummy cost at 5 mg from a recognized brand is what you want, and you do not need the flavor stated on the listing.
What we don't like
Flavor, sugar and serving size are not in the title, and 5 mg per gummy is above the commonly cited starting range.
- Melatonin per serving
- 5 mg (serving size on label)
- Form
- Gummy
- Count
- 90
- Added ingredients
- Not published in the title
- Sugar
- Sweetened; amount not published
- Cost per gummy
- $10.97 / 90 = about $0.12
- Age on label
- Adults
What we like
- About 12 cents a gummy, five under Unisom
- The best-known melatonin brand
- 90 count
Worth noting
- Flavor not stated in the title
- Above the commonly cited starting range
The bedtime kit
The six things that round out a melatonin routine: the standard fast-dissolve, a sub-milligram option, a time-release tablet for staying asleep, a magnesium for melatonin-free nights, a bedtime tea, and a kids bottle. Prices are approximate at time of writing.
More picks worth comparing
Beyond this guide, the highest-rated picks across every category and budget, with a live price check on each.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no cost to you.
Quick shop: every pick
Skip the scroll: the whole lineup, with a live price check on each.
- Unisom Simple Slumbers Melatonin 5 mg Gummies, Midnight Raspberry, 60 CountThe One to BuyUnisom · $13.99Check price on Amazon
- Unisom Simple Slumbers Return-to-Sleep Dissolving Strips, 3 mg, Cool Mint, 21 CountThe Lower Amount, No WaterUnisom · $10.62Check price on Amazon
- Unisom Sleep Support Gummies, Magnesium and Ashwagandha, Drug-FreeThe Melatonin-Free UnisomUnisom · $18.99Check price on Amazon
- Unisom SleepTabs, Doxylamine Succinate, 80 TabletsThe OTC Drug in the Family (As Labeled)Unisom · $13.98Check price on Amazon
- Nature Made Melatonin 5 mg Gummies, 70 CountBenchmark: The Other Pharmacy-Brand 5 mg GummyNature Made · $13.99Check price on Amazon
- Natrol Melatonin 5 mg Gummies, 90 CountBenchmark: Cheaper Per GummyNatrol · $10.97Check price on Amazon
How we chose
Every product on this site is ranked on the same protocol: the melatonin per serving as the label states it, the delivery form, what else is in the formula, the count, the cost per night when the listing publishes the count, and how honest the label is about all of it. For a brand review we apply that protocol across the whole line and put one or two competitors on the same table. Unisom is unusual in that its line includes an over-the-counter drug. Our rule for the drugs in our catalog (doxylamine, diphenhydramine) is fixed: describe them only as the Drug Facts label does, never compare their effectiveness with a supplement, and never suggest one in place of the other. We read the Supplement Facts panel and the live Amazon listing, verify price and availability through the Amazon Creators API (this page: September 5, 2026), and weigh the consistent testimony of owners. We do not run a lab and never present a brand's claim as our finding.
Melatonin is sold in the United States as a dietary supplement, not a drug. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Nothing here is medical advice or an individualized amount; we report what labels direct and note the general guidance, widely cited by sleep clinicians, that lower amounts (often 0.5 to 3 mg) are worth starting with. Gummies are the format most implicated in the rise in pediatric melatonin ingestions documented through the early 2020s; store every product on this page out of reach of children. Melatonin can interact with blood thinners, immunosuppressants, blood-pressure and diabetes medication; ask a pharmacist. Do not drive after taking it. If pregnant or nursing, consult a doctor. For any over-the-counter drug, read and follow the Drug Facts label and ask a pharmacist about your other medications.
Questions, answered
Is Unisom Simple Slumbers melatonin?
Yes. Simple Slumbers is Unisom's dietary supplement line: a 5 mg melatonin gummy (Midnight Raspberry, 60 count, $9.99, verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026), a 3 mg Return-to-Sleep dissolving strip (21 count, $10.62), and a melatonin-free Sleep Support gummy with magnesium and ashwagandha ($18.99). It is a separate line from Unisom SleepTabs, which is an over-the-counter drug.
What is the difference between Unisom Simple Slumbers and Unisom SleepTabs?
Simple Slumbers products are dietary supplements with a Supplement Facts panel; the melatonin gummy and strip state melatonin as the active. SleepTabs is an over-the-counter drug with a Drug Facts label whose title states doxylamine succinate as the active ingredient. They are regulated and labeled differently and are not interchangeable. We describe SleepTabs only as its label does and do not compare its effectiveness with the supplements; a pharmacist can explain the drug's label.
How much melatonin is in Unisom Simple Slumbers gummies?
The title states 5 mg. It does not state the serving size, so read the Supplement Facts panel before assuming one gummy is one serving; if the label directs two, that is 10 mg and the 60-count bottle is 30 nights. The Return-to-Sleep strips state 3 mg per strip.
Are Unisom Simple Slumbers gummies good value?
At about 17 cents a gummy (60 for $9.99) they are cheaper than Nature Made's 5 mg gummy (about 20 cents) and pricier than Natrol's (about 12 cents). Among pharmacy-shelf brands they are one of the cheapest 5 mg gummies per piece. The strips, at about 51 cents each, are a convenience buy rather than a value buy.
Does Unisom Sleep Support have melatonin?
The listing title does not name melatonin; it describes a 2-in-1 magnesium and ashwagandha drug-free formula. The title also does not state the count or the amount of either ingredient, so we cannot compute a per-gummy cost. It is the melatonin-free option in the Unisom family.
Can I take Simple Slumbers and SleepTabs together?
That is a question for a pharmacist and for the Drug Facts label on SleepTabs, not for a supplement review. The two are different kinds of product, one a supplement and one a drug, and we do not advise combining them or anything else with a drug on our own authority.
How much Unisom melatonin should I take?
We cannot tell you an amount; melatonin is a dietary supplement and the right amount is a conversation with a doctor or pharmacist. What we can report is that the gummy states 5 mg and the strip states 3 mg, that labels direct use before bedtime, and that many sleep clinicians cite 0.5 to 3 mg as a sensible starting range. The strip is the lower-amount Unisom.
Can kids take Unisom Simple Slumbers?
They are adult products, and that is a pediatrician's decision in any case. The American Academy of Pediatrics advises talking to a pediatrician before giving a child melatonin, keeping gummies out of reach, and using the lowest amount if a pediatrician agrees. Pediatric melatonin ingestions rose sharply through the early 2020s and gummies are the format most involved.
Keep reading
Melatonin vs Doxylamine
A supplement and an over-the-counter drug, explained by their labels, without ranking one over the other.
Best Melatonin Gummies (2026)
Seven recognized-brand gummies ranked on stated amount and cost per gummy.
Best Melatonin Strips
Dissolving strips ranked, with Unisom's Return-to-Sleep on the table against MaryRuth's.
Best Melatonin-Free Sleep Aids
Magnesium, L-theanine, glycine and the other melatonin-free products, on the same label-first standard.













