Our Pick: ZzzQuil

Check price on Amazon →

The Best Melatonin-Free Sleep Aids (2026): Magnesium, L-Theanine, Glycine and Herbal Blends

Buy ZzzQuil Pure Zzzs +Magnesium Capsules, $13.95 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026): a pharmacy-shelf brand, L-theanine and a four-form magnesium blend named in the title, and no melatonin. This page ranks every credible melatonin-free formula on Amazon, from single-ingredient magnesium glycinate to the premium herbal blends, on what each label actually states.

By The Sleep Desk2026-09-05~13 min read Ranked on verified label facts, never box claimsHow we research

ZzzQuil Pure Zzzs +Magnesium Capsules, L-Theanine and 4-in-1 MagnesiumBest Overall

ZzzQuil Pure Zzzs +Magnesium Capsules, L-Theanine and 4-in-1 Magnesium

ZzzQuil · 4.6

$13.95

Double Wood Magnesium Glycinate 400 mg, 180 CapsulesBest Value

Double Wood Magnesium Glycinate 400 mg, 180 Capsules

Double Wood · 4.6

$16.99

Buy ZzzQuil Pure Zzzs +Magnesium Capsules at $13.95 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026). The title names L-theanine and a four-form magnesium blend (citrate and bisglycinate among them), it comes from a pharmacy-shelf brand with a deep verification record, and it contains no melatonin. If you want a gummy, MaryRuth's Melatonin Free Sleep Gummies (L-theanine, sugar free, 60 count, $23.70). If you want one ingredient and nothing else, Double Wood Magnesium Glycinate 400 mg, 180 capsules for $16.99. If money is no object, Thorne Deep Sleep Complex at $52.00.

People search for a melatonin-free sleep aid for a handful of consistent reasons: melatonin left them groggy or gave them vivid dreams, they take it and want a night off, a doctor asked them to avoid it alongside another medication, or they simply want to try the ingredients that turn up next to melatonin on every blend label (magnesium, L-theanine, glycine, GABA, chamomile, valerian) on their own. This page is the shelf for all of those. Every product below states "melatonin-free," "no melatonin," or simply lists a formula that does not include it, and we say for each one exactly which ingredients the title names and which amounts it does not.

Two things this page is not. It is not an efficacy ranking: every product here is a dietary supplement, the FDA has not evaluated the statements on any of these labels, and we credit no ingredient with anything its label does not claim. And it is not a page about over-the-counter sleep drugs: doxylamine and diphenhydramine products carry a Drug Facts label and are a different category, which we describe at the bottom as labeled and do not compare. Pick slots go to recognized brands only, every product is a verified Amazon listing, and every price was checked live on September 5, 2026. If you buy through our links we may earn a commission at no cost to you.

The short version

  • Our Pick: ZzzQuil Pure Zzzs +Magnesium Capsules, $13.95. L-theanine plus a four-form magnesium blend named in the title, pharmacy-shelf brand, no melatonin. Count not published.
  • Best gummy: MaryRuth's Melatonin Free Sleep Gummies, L-theanine, sugar free, 60 count, $23.70, about 40 cents a gummy. Best single ingredient: Double Wood Magnesium Glycinate 400 mg, 180 capsules, $16.99, about 9 cents a capsule.
  • Best premium blend: Thorne Deep Sleep Complex (L-theanine, chamomile, Maizinol), 60 capsules, $52.00, about 87 cents a capsule. Best herbal: Nested Naturals Luna Melatonin-Free, $19.95.
  • Also ranked: Sports Research Sleep Complex (60 veggie capsules, $26.95), Unisom Sleep Support Gummies (magnesium and ashwagandha, $18.99), BEAM Dream Melatonin-Free powder (magnesium, GABA, L-theanine, reishi, $54.99).
  • Disclosure is the weak spot of the category: most titles name their ingredients and not their amounts. We rank on what is stated and say 'not published' where it is not.

At a glance

ProductNamed ingredientsFormCountCost per unitPrice (9/5/26)Check price
ZzzQuil Pure Zzzs +Magnesium CapsulesL-theanine, 4-in-1 magnesium (citrate, bisglycinate)CapsuleNot publishedn/a$13.95Check price on Amazon
MaryRuth's Melatonin Free Sleep GummiesL-theanineGummy, sugar free60$0.40 per gummy$23.70Check price on Amazon
Double Wood Magnesium Glycinate 400 mgMagnesium glycinate 400 mgCapsule180$0.094 per capsule$16.99Check price on Amazon
Thorne Deep Sleep ComplexL-theanine, chamomile, MaizinolCapsule60$0.87 per capsule$52.00Check price on Amazon
Nested Naturals Luna Melatonin-FreeHerbal blend (not itemized in title)CapsuleNot publishedn/a$19.95Check price on Amazon
Sports Research Sleep ComplexNot itemized in titleVeggie capsule60$0.45 per capsule$26.95Check price on Amazon
Unisom Sleep Support GummiesMagnesium, ashwagandhaGummyNot publishedn/a$18.99Check price on Amazon
BEAM Dream Sleep Powder, Melatonin-FreeMagnesium, GABA, L-theanine, reishiPowderNot publishedn/a$54.99Check price on Amazon

Eight melatonin-free sleep aids. Ingredients are as named in the Amazon listing title; amounts are stated only where the title states them. Prices are live figures verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026. Cost per unit is price divided by count where the count is published.

Our PickBest Melatonin-Free Sleep Aid Overall
ZzzQuil Pure Zzzs +Magnesium Capsules, L-Theanine and 4-in-1 Magnesium

ZzzQuil Pure Zzzs +Magnesium Capsules, L-Theanine and 4-in-1 Magnesium

ZzzQuil

A pharmacy-shelf brand's melatonin-free capsule: L-theanine plus four magnesium forms, under fourteen dollars.

4.6

Our verdict: The melatonin-free capsule most people should start with. It names two of the three ingredients buyers in this category are looking for (L-theanine and magnesium, the latter in four forms), it comes from the brand with the widest pharmacy distribution in the sleep aisle, and at $13.95 it is the least expensive named-ingredient blend on the page. The title does not state the count or the amounts, which is the honest caveat.

Verified: Title names L-theanine and a 4-in-1 magnesium blend including citrate and bisglycinate; no melatonin; count not published in the title. Live at $13.95 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The mainstream answer to "what if I do not want melatonin." ZzzQuil Pure Zzzs +Magnesium Capsules are the melatonin-free member of the Pure Zzzs line. The title names L-theanine and a "4-in-1 Magnesium" blend, listing citrate and bisglycinate before it truncates, and calls the product a sleep aid; it does not name melatonin, and it does not state a count or a per-capsule amount for either ingredient.

Why a pharmacy brand wins a category full of boutique labels: most melatonin-free formulas are sold by direct-to-consumer brands with confident names and thin disclosure. ZzzQuil's title is not more forthcoming about amounts, but the brand's listings are verified at a scale the boutiques cannot match, the price is a third of the premium blends, and the ingredients are the two that turn up on nearly every label in the category. That combination is what a first purchase should look like.

What the capsule is not: a stated-amount product. If you need to know the magnesium and L-theanine figures before buying, read the Supplement Facts panel on the listing or choose a single-ingredient product below. The rest of the Pure Zzzs family, all of which contains melatonin, is covered in the ZzzQuil Pure Zzzs review; the melatonin gummy with magnesium is in best melatonin with magnesium. The head-to-head on the brand's two positions is melatonin vs ZzzQuil.

Who should buy it

Buy it if you want a recognized brand, both L-theanine and magnesium in one capsule, and no melatonin, and you are not going to insist on stated amounts before trying it.

What we don't like

Neither the count nor the ingredient amounts are in the title, so there is no cost per night and no way to compare the magnesium figure to a single-ingredient capsule without reading the panel.

Melatonin
None (melatonin-free)
Named ingredients
L-theanine; 4-in-1 magnesium (citrate, bisglycinate and two others)
Form
Capsule, swallowed
Count
Not published in the title
Amounts stated
No
Cost per night
Not computable; count not published
Age on label
Adults

What we like

  • L-theanine plus four magnesium forms, no melatonin
  • Pharmacy-shelf brand, widest distribution in the category
  • Least expensive named-ingredient blend on the page

Worth noting

  • Count and amounts not in the title
  • Capsule needs water
Best Melatonin-Free Gummy
MaryRuth's Melatonin Free Sleep Gummies, L-Theanine, Sugar Free, 60 Count

MaryRuth's Melatonin Free Sleep Gummies, L-Theanine, Sugar Free, 60 Count

MaryRuth's

The clearest melatonin-free gummy label: L-theanine, sugar free, 60 count.

4.5

Our verdict: The gummy for this category. MaryRuth's puts 'Melatonin Free' in the product name, names L-theanine, states sugar free and states 60 count, which is more disclosure than most of the page. $23.70 works out to about 40 cents a gummy; the serving size is on the label. It is the most expensive gummy here, and the L-theanine amount is not in the title.

Verified: Title states Melatonin Free, L-theanine, sugar free, 60 count. Live at $23.70 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

A gummy that says what it is. MaryRuth's Melatonin Free Sleep Gummies state L-theanine, sugar free and 60 count in the title. At $23.70 that is $23.70 / 60 = about $0.40 per gummy; whether a serving is one gummy or two is on the Supplement Facts panel, not in the title, so we report the per-gummy figure and not a per-night one.

Sugar free matters more on a melatonin-free gummy than you would think: the buyer for this product is often someone who already tried a melatonin gummy and is now assembling a bedtime routine they can keep, and a nightly sugared gummy is the thing that routine usually drops first. Sugar-free gummies commonly use sugar alcohols; the sweetener here is on the label. Keep any gummy away from dogs, because xylitol, used in some sugar-free products, is toxic to them.

MaryRuth's also sells two melatonin-free liquids for buyers who prefer a dropper: Liquid Ultra Sleep Support, No Melatonin ($29.95) and the Liquid Nighttime Multimineral ($39.95), whose title names magnesium citrate, calcium and zinc. The whole line, including the 5 mg melatonin gummy, is in the MaryRuth's Sleep review; the L-theanine question on its own is argued in melatonin vs L-theanine.

Who should buy it

Buy it if you want the gummy format without melatonin or sugar, from a brand whose title actually states its count, and you will accept a premium for that clarity.

What we don't like

About 40 cents a gummy is the highest per-unit cost on the page, the L-theanine amount is not in the title, and the serving size (one gummy or two) decides the real nightly cost.

Melatonin
None (stated Melatonin Free)
Named ingredients
L-theanine
Form
Gummy, sugar free
Count
60
Amounts stated
No
Cost per gummy
$23.70 / 60 = about $0.40 (serving size on label)
Age on label
Adults

What we like

  • Melatonin Free, sugar free and 60 count all stated
  • Only melatonin-free gummy on the page from a Tier A brand
  • Melatonin-free liquids in the same line

Worth noting

  • Most expensive per unit here
  • L-theanine amount not in the title
Best ValueBest Single-Ingredient Alternative
Double Wood Magnesium Glycinate 400 mg, 180 Capsules

Double Wood Magnesium Glycinate 400 mg, 180 Capsules

Double Wood

One ingredient, one stated amount, 180 capsules, about nine cents each.

4.6

Our verdict: The disclosure winner. Where every blend on this page names ingredients and hides amounts, this capsule states one ingredient and one number: magnesium glycinate, 400 mg, 180 count. $16.99 / 180 = about $0.094 per capsule. Glycinate is the magnesium form buyers in this category search for by name, and Double Wood is a recognized direct-to-Amazon brand rather than a practitioner line.

Verified: Title states magnesium glycinate 400 mg, 180 capsules, positioned for sleep, relaxation and recovery. Live at $16.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

When the label states the number, it goes to the top of the disclosure ranking. Double Wood Magnesium Glycinate 400 mg states 400 mg magnesium glycinate and 180 capsules; the title positions it for sleep, relaxation and recovery, which is the label's language and the only claim we repeat. How many capsules make a serving is on the panel.

Why a single ingredient is often the smarter first buy: if a blend agrees with you, you do not know which ingredient did the work; if it does not, you do not know which to drop. A single-ingredient magnesium lets you find out, and glycinate is the form most of the blend labels on this page name when they name one at all. It is also, at about nine cents a capsule, the cheapest per-unit product here.

Double Wood's other single-ingredient sleep products are ranked on their own pages: Glycine 1000 mg, 300 capsules ($19.95) in best glycine for sleep, Apigenin 50 mg, 120 capsules ($24.85) in best apigenin supplements, and GABA 1,000 mg, 150 capsules ($14.95). The full magnesium field, including the products that add melatonin, is in best magnesium for sleep.

Who should buy it

Buy it if you want to try one ingredient at a stated amount before committing to a blend, you specifically want the glycinate form, or you want the lowest per-capsule cost on the page.

What we don't like

Double Wood is a value brand rather than a practitioner line, the serving size is on the panel rather than in the title, and a single ingredient is by definition not the whole formula a blend buyer may be after.

Melatonin
None
Named ingredients
Magnesium glycinate
Form
Capsule, swallowed
Count
180
Amounts stated
Yes: 400 mg
Cost per capsule
$16.99 / 180 = about $0.094 (serving size on label)
Age on label
Adults

What we like

  • Only product on the page with a stated amount
  • About 9 cents a capsule, six-month bottle at one a night
  • Glycine, apigenin and GABA siblings in the same line

Worth noting

  • Value brand, not a practitioner line
  • One ingredient, not a blend
Upgrade PickBest Premium Blend
Thorne Deep Sleep Complex, L-Theanine, Chamomile and Maizinol, 60 Capsules

Thorne Deep Sleep Complex, L-Theanine, Chamomile and Maizinol, 60 Capsules

Thorne

Thorne's melatonin-free capsule: L-theanine, chamomile and Maizinol, at practitioner prices.

4.5

Our verdict: The blend from the brand practitioners name. Thorne Deep Sleep Complex names three ingredients (L-theanine, chamomile and Maizinol, a branded corn-leaf extract) and states 60 capsules; $52.00 / 60 = about $0.87 per capsule, the price of the Thorne name. It is the pick for someone who was asked for Thorne, and the wrong pick for someone shopping on price.

Verified: Title names L-theanine, chamomile and Maizinol, 60 capsules; no melatonin. Live at $52.00 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The practitioner brand's answer to the melatonin-free question. Thorne Deep Sleep Complex names L-theanine, chamomile and Maizinol in its title and states 60 capsules. Maizinol is a branded ingredient; the title does not state amounts for any of the three, and we credit none of them with anything the label does not claim.

What $52 buys and does not buy: it buys Thorne's testing reputation and a formula built around ingredients other than melatonin. It does not buy stated amounts in the title, and at about 87 cents a capsule it costs nine times the Double Wood magnesium above per unit. If a practitioner suggested Thorne, this is the bottle; if you are choosing on your own, start lower on this page and step up only with a reason.

Thorne's melatonin capsules, Melaton-3 and Melaton-5, are reviewed in the Thorne Melaton review, and the brand's single-herb Valerian Root 200 mg Sleeproot capsules ($30.00, 30 count, stated melatonin-free) hold a slot in best valerian root supplements. Chamomile on its own, as apigenin, is covered in best apigenin supplements.

Who should buy it

Buy it if a practitioner named Thorne, if you want a three-ingredient blend from the most-cited testing reputation in the category, and if price is not the deciding factor.

What we don't like

About 87 cents a capsule is the most expensive per unit on the page, the amounts are not in the title, and Maizinol is a branded extract most buyers will need to look up.

Melatonin
None
Named ingredients
L-theanine, chamomile, Maizinol
Form
Capsule, swallowed
Count
60
Amounts stated
No
Cost per capsule
$52.00 / 60 = about $0.87 (serving size on label)
Age on label
Adults

What we like

  • Thorne's reputation for testing
  • Three named non-melatonin ingredients
  • Count stated

Worth noting

  • Most expensive per capsule here
  • Amounts not in the title
Best Herbal Blend
Nested Naturals Luna Melatonin-Free Sleep Supplement

Nested Naturals Luna Melatonin-Free Sleep Supplement

Nested Naturals

Luna's herbal formula with the melatonin taken out, under twenty dollars.

4.3

Our verdict: The herbal-blend slot. Luna is one of the best-known direct-to-Amazon sleep blends, and this version states Melatonin-Free in the name. Its title does not itemize the herbs or state a count, so it ranks below the products that do; it earns the slot on the brand's owner-report volume and a $19.95 price.

Verified: Title states Melatonin-Free, non-habit forming, herbal sleep supplement for adults; ingredients and count not itemized in the title. Live at $19.95 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The melatonin-free version of a well-known blend. Nested Naturals Luna Melatonin-Free describes itself in the title as a non-habit-forming herbal sleep supplement for adults, and states Melatonin-Free. The title does not name the individual herbs or the count; the Supplement Facts panel on the listing does, and that is where a buyer should look before ordering.

How to read a title like this one: "herbal" and "naturally sourced" are descriptions, not ingredients. We rank Luna Melatonin-Free below the four products above because they name at least one ingredient in the title and this one names none; we rank it above nothing on efficacy, because we make no efficacy claims about any product. What the brand has is a large body of consistent owner reports and a price under twenty dollars.

Luna's other versions all take a different position: the Luna Herbal 180 vegan capsules ($55.00) name melatonin, valerian root and chamomile, and the Luna and Magnesium Glycinate capsules ($39.80, 180 count) name the magnesium form. The whole family is in the Nested Naturals Luna review.

Who should buy it

Buy it if you want a multi-herb formula rather than a magnesium or L-theanine product, you already know and like the Luna line, and you will read the panel for the herbs and count.

What we don't like

No ingredient and no count in the title, a direct-to-Amazon brand without a practitioner pedigree, and a price that is not low once you factor in the unknown count.

Melatonin
None (stated Melatonin-Free)
Named ingredients
Not itemized in the title (herbal blend)
Form
Capsule, swallowed
Count
Not published in the title
Amounts stated
No
Cost per night
Not computable; count not published
Age on label
Adults

What we like

  • Melatonin-Free stated in the name
  • Well-known blend with a large owner-report base
  • Under twenty dollars

Worth noting

  • Herbs not named in the title
  • Count not published
Best Veggie Capsule
Sports Research Sleep Complex (Melatonin-Free), 60 Veggie Capsules

Sports Research Sleep Complex (Melatonin-Free), 60 Veggie Capsules

Sports Research

A stated melatonin-free complex in 60 veggie capsules from a recognized supplement brand.

4.3

Our verdict: The mid-priced complex from a brand with a broad supplement line. Sports Research states Melatonin-Free and 60 veggie capsules, so the count and the capsule material are known; $26.95 / 60 = about $0.45 per capsule. The formula is not itemized in the title, which is why it sits mid-page rather than near the top.

Verified: Title states Melatonin-Free, Sleep Complex, 60 veggie capsules; ingredients not itemized in the title. Live at $26.95 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Melatonin-free, count stated, capsule stated. Sports Research Sleep Complex puts Melatonin-Free in parentheses in its own name and states 60 veggie capsules. At $26.95 that is about 45 cents a capsule; the serving size and the ingredients are on the panel.

Where it lands and why: above Luna, because it states its count and its capsule type; below Thorne, because it does not name a single ingredient in the title and the brand does not carry a practitioner reputation. Sports Research is a recognized name across fish oil, collagen and vitamin D, which is enough for a slot, and the veggie capsule is a real point for buyers who avoid gelatin.

If the ingredient list on the panel turns out to be mostly magnesium and L-theanine, the ZzzQuil capsule above does the same thing for half the price; if it is mostly herbs, Luna does. The comparison pages that put these ingredients against melatonin are melatonin vs magnesium and melatonin vs valerian root.

Who should buy it

Buy it if you want a melatonin-free complex in a veggie capsule from a brand you already buy other supplements from, and you will check the panel for the formula.

What we don't like

No ingredients in the title, 45 cents a capsule is not cheap for an unlisted formula, and 60 capsules may be one month or two depending on the serving size.

Melatonin
None (stated Melatonin-Free)
Named ingredients
Not itemized in the title
Form
Veggie capsule, swallowed
Count
60
Amounts stated
No
Cost per capsule
$26.95 / 60 = about $0.45 (serving size on label)
Age on label
Adults

What we like

  • Melatonin-Free and 60 veggie capsules stated
  • Recognized multi-category supplement brand

Worth noting

  • Formula not in the title
  • Mid-to-high cost per capsule
Best Magnesium and Ashwagandha Gummy
Unisom Sleep Support Gummies, 2-in-1 Magnesium and Ashwagandha, Drug-Free

Unisom Sleep Support Gummies, 2-in-1 Magnesium and Ashwagandha, Drug-Free

Unisom

Unisom's drug-free, melatonin-free gummy: magnesium and ashwagandha named in the title.

4.3

Our verdict: The pharmacy-brand gummy that avoids both melatonin and the doxylamine drug Unisom is known for. The title names magnesium and ashwagandha and states drug-free; it does not state a count or amounts. At $18.99 it is the mid-priced gummy here and the only one with ashwagandha named.

Verified: Title names magnesium and ashwagandha, states drug-free, supports healthy sleep routines; no melatonin named; count not published in the title. Live at $18.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

A drug company's supplement, without the drug and without melatonin. Unisom Sleep Support Gummies name a "2-in-1 Magnesium Ashwagandha Drug-Free Formula" and the label's phrase "supports healthy sleep routines," which is the only claim we repeat. Neither the count nor the amounts are in the title.

Why "drug-free" is worth a sentence here: Unisom's flagship SleepTabs are doxylamine succinate, an over-the-counter drug with a Drug Facts label. This gummy is a dietary supplement and a different regulatory category. Buyers who know the Unisom name from the drug should read the box: the gummy is the supplement, and it contains no melatonin either. That makes it a genuinely unusual position on a pharmacy shelf.

Unisom's melatonin products, the Simple Slumbers gummies and the Return-to-Sleep strips, are covered in the Unisom Simple Slumbers review. For ashwagandha paired with melatonin rather than without it, see best melatonin with ashwagandha; for the OTC drug side of the Unisom name, see the note at the bottom of this page and melatonin vs doxylamine.

Who should buy it

Buy it if you want a gummy with ashwagandha and magnesium named, from a pharmacy brand, with neither melatonin nor an OTC drug in it.

What we don't like

Count and amounts are not in the title, the sweetener is on the label rather than the title, and the Unisom name may confuse buyers who expect the doxylamine product.

Melatonin
None
Named ingredients
Magnesium, ashwagandha
Form
Gummy
Count
Not published in the title
Amounts stated
No
Cost per night
Not computable; count not published
Age on label
Adults

What we like

  • Magnesium and ashwagandha named, drug-free stated
  • Pharmacy brand
  • Only ashwagandha gummy on the page

Worth noting

  • Count and amounts not published
  • Brand name shared with an OTC drug
Best Melatonin-Free Powder
BEAM Dream Sleep Powder, Melatonin-Free, Magnesium, GABA, L-Theanine and Reishi

BEAM Dream Sleep Powder, Melatonin-Free, Magnesium, GABA, L-Theanine and Reishi

BEAM

The drink-mix option: four ingredients named, no melatonin, premium price.

4.3

Our verdict: The most-named formula on the page, in a powder. BEAM's melatonin-free Dream names magnesium, GABA, L-theanine and reishi, which is more ingredients than any other title here. It is also $54.99 with no serving count in the title, so it is the pick for someone who wants a nightly drink rather than a capsule and has already decided the ritual is worth the price.

Verified: Title states Melatonin-Free and names magnesium, GABA, L-theanine and reishi mushroom; servings not published in the title. Live at $54.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Four named ingredients and no melatonin, stirred into a mug. BEAM Dream Sleep Powder, Melatonin-Free names magnesium, GABA, L-theanine and reishi mushroom in the title and states Melatonin-Free. The number of servings per container and the per-serving amounts are not in the title.

The powder trade-off, stated plainly: a drink mix is a ritual, and rituals are the part of a bedtime routine people actually keep, which is the honest case for paying more. The case against is arithmetic: at $54.99 with an unpublished serving count, this is the most expensive product on the page and the only one you cannot take without a cup. Owners consistently describe it as a nightly habit rather than an occasional aid.

BEAM's melatonin versions, the Dream powder with melatonin ($54.99) and Dream capsules ($46.00), add melatonin and apigenin to a similar list; the brand is reviewed in the BEAM Dream review. The wider drink-mix field is in best magnesium sleep powders, and GABA on its own is Double Wood GABA 1,000 mg at $14.95 for 150 capsules.

Who should buy it

Buy it if you want a bedtime drink rather than a capsule, you want magnesium, GABA, L-theanine and reishi in one formula without melatonin, and the price is not the deciding factor.

What we don't like

$54.99 with no serving count in the title, amounts not stated, and a powder is the least portable format in the category.

Melatonin
None (stated Melatonin-Free)
Named ingredients
Magnesium, GABA, L-theanine, reishi mushroom
Form
Powder, mixed in liquid
Count
Servings not published in the title
Amounts stated
No
Cost per night
Not computable; servings not published
Age on label
Adults

What we like

  • Most named ingredients of any title on the page
  • Melatonin-Free stated
  • Drink ritual rather than a pill

Worth noting

  • Most expensive product here
  • Servings and amounts not published

The bedtime kit

The six things that round out a melatonin routine: the standard fast-dissolve, a sub-milligram option, a time-release tablet for staying asleep, a magnesium for melatonin-free nights, a bedtime tea, and a kids bottle. Prices are approximate at time of writing.

More picks worth comparing

Beyond this guide, the highest-rated picks across every category and budget, with a live price check on each.

Natrol 5 mg Fast Dissolve

Best Overall

Natrol 5 mg Fast Dissolve

5 mg · 90 ct · ~$9

Check Price
OLLY Sleep Gummies 3 mg

Best Gummy

OLLY Sleep Gummies 3 mg

3 mg · 70 ct · ~$16

Check Price
Nature Made 3 mg Tablets

Best Value

Nature Made 3 mg Tablets

3 mg · 120 ct · ~$7

Check Price
Life Extension 300 mcg

Best Low Dose

Life Extension 300 mcg

300 mcg · 100 ct · ~$8

Check Price
Natrol 10 mg Time Release

Best Time Release

Natrol 10 mg Time Release

10 mg · 100 ct · ~$17

Check Price
Zarbee's Kids 1 mg Gummies

Best for Kids

Zarbee's Kids 1 mg Gummies

1 mg · 60 ct · ~$15

Check Price

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no cost to you.

How we chose

Melatonin-free products are ranked on the same protocol as everything else on the site, with the melatonin column blank: which ingredients the title names, which amounts it states, the delivery form, the count, the cost per unit where the count is published, and the honesty of the listing. A title that names its ingredients and their amounts outranks one that names ingredients only, which outranks one that says 'natural sleep aid' and stops. We read the Supplement Facts panel and the live Amazon listing and verify price and availability through the Amazon Creators API (this page: September 5, 2026). We weigh consistent owner reports, we do not run a lab, and we never claim physical testing. Pick slots go to recognized brands.

Every product on this page is a dietary supplement in the United States. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. We describe each ingredient as its label describes it and credit it with nothing more; 'sleep support' is label language, not our finding. Supplements can interact with medication, including blood thinners, blood-pressure and diabetes medication; ask a pharmacist before adding any of these to a routine, and do not drive after taking a product labeled for bedtime. If pregnant or nursing, consult a doctor. None of these are kids products; the melatonin-free formulas made for children are on a separate page with the American Academy of Pediatrics cautions attached. The over-the-counter sleep drugs at the bottom of this page carry a Drug Facts label, are a different regulatory category, and are described only as labeled.

Questions, answered

What is the best sleep aid without melatonin?

Our pick is ZzzQuil Pure Zzzs +Magnesium Capsules at $13.95 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026): L-theanine and a four-form magnesium blend named in the title, no melatonin, from a pharmacy-shelf brand. For a gummy, MaryRuth's Melatonin Free Sleep Gummies; for a single ingredient at a stated amount, Double Wood Magnesium Glycinate 400 mg; for a premium blend, Thorne Deep Sleep Complex. We make no efficacy claims about any of them.

Is magnesium a good alternative to melatonin?

It is the most common one, which is why nearly every melatonin-free label on this page names it. Magnesium is a dietary supplement; its labels use structure/function language such as 'supports relaxation,' and we repeat only that. Glycinate is the form buyers search for by name, and Double Wood's 400 mg capsule is the one product here that states its amount. Melatonin vs magnesium lays the two side by side as their labels describe them.

Which melatonin-free sleep aids state their ingredient amounts?

On this page, only Double Wood Magnesium Glycinate (400 mg). ZzzQuil, MaryRuth's, Thorne, Unisom and BEAM name ingredients without amounts in the title; Luna and Sports Research name neither. The Supplement Facts panel on each listing has the figures, and we recommend reading it before buying any blend.

Are melatonin-free sleep aids safe to take every night?

That is a question for a pharmacist rather than a review site. Labels direct nightly use as needed, but magnesium, ashwagandha, valerian and the other ingredients here can interact with medication, including blood-pressure and diabetes medication and blood thinners. Do not drive after taking a product labeled for bedtime, and consult a doctor if pregnant or nursing.

Is ZzzQuil melatonin-free?

Some ZzzQuil products are and most are not. The Pure Zzzs +Magnesium Capsules on this page contain no melatonin. The Pure Zzzs gummies and tablets all state a melatonin amount in their titles (2 mg to 10 mg). And the original ZzzQuil Nighttime Sleep Aid Liquid is diphenhydramine, an OTC drug with a Drug Facts label, not a supplement at all. Melatonin vs ZzzQuil sorts the whole family.

Do Unisom or Kirkland sleep aids contain melatonin?

Unisom SleepTabs, Kirkland Signature Sleep Aid and Amazon Basic Care Nighttime Sleep Aid are doxylamine succinate, an over-the-counter drug; they contain no melatonin and carry a Drug Facts label rather than a Supplement Facts panel. We describe them only as labeled and do not compare them with supplements. Unisom's Sleep Support Gummies, by contrast, are a melatonin-free supplement with magnesium and ashwagandha.

What about melatonin-free sleep aids for kids?

They are a separate page with separate cautions. Nothing on this page is labeled for children. The American Academy of Pediatrics advises talking to a pediatrician before giving a child any sleep supplement and keeping gummies out of reach; the kids formulas without melatonin (OLLY Kids, SmartyPants, Zarbee's and others) are ranked in best melatonin-free sleep aids for kids.

Is Natrol Sleep and Restore melatonin-free?

No. Its title names magnesium glycinate and GABA and also states 5 mg melatonin. It is a good capsule for someone who wants magnesium with melatonin and is ranked in best melatonin with magnesium, but it does not belong on a melatonin-free shelf. Check the milligram figure in any magnesium-forward title before assuming.