Our Pick: OLLY
Check price on Amazon →OLLY vs ZzzQuil Sleep (2026): Two Gummies, Two Milligram Counts, One Missing Number
The two best-known sleep gummies in the aisle differ by a milligram, a companion ingredient and a piece of information one of them does not publish. OLLY Sleep Support states 3 mg of melatonin with L-theanine per gummy, 70 count, at $16.35 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026), about 23 cents a gummy. ZzzQuil Pure Zzzs states 2 mg with chamomile and lavender at $12.99, but its listing title does not state a count, so no cost per night can be calculated. OLLY wins on published facts; Pure Zzzs wins if you want the smaller amount.
By The Sleep Desk2026-09-05~9 min read Ranked on verified label facts, never box claimsHow we research
Upgrade PickZzzQuil Pure Zzzs Melatonin Gummies, 2 mg with Chamomile and Lavender
ZzzQuil · 4.4
$12.99
Buy the OLLY jar. OLLY Sleep Support states 3 mg of melatonin plus L-theanine per gummy, 70 count, at $16.35 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026), which is about 23 cents a gummy and, crucially, a number you can calculate because OLLY publishes the count. The comparison it faces, ZzzQuil Pure Zzzs Melatonin Gummies, states 2 mg with chamomile and lavender at $12.99, and its listing title does not state how many gummies are in the bottle, so we quote no cost per night for it.
That said, there is one clear reason to choose Pure Zzzs instead: 2 mg is less than 3 mg, and the general guidance sleep clinicians most commonly repeat is to use the lowest amount that helps, often cited as 0.5 to 3 mg. If you are new to melatonin or you have felt groggy on 3 mg, the smaller gummy is the more sensible starting jar, and chamomile and lavender rather than L-theanine may suit you better. Both are recognized brands with clear Supplement Facts panels.
One naming note worth making plainly: Pure Zzzs is ZzzQuil's dietary supplement line, and the ZzzQuil name also appears on over-the-counter sleep medicines that carry a Drug Facts label rather than a Supplement Facts panel. Those are a different category of product entirely and this page does not compare them. Every dose, count and price here comes from the listing title or the panel, verified live on September 5, 2026. We read labels and verify listings; we do not run a lab. Melatonin is a dietary supplement. No brand paid for a placement.
The short version
- Our pick: OLLY Sleep Support Gummy, 3 mg with L-theanine, 70 count, $16.35, about 23 cents a gummy, with the count published.
- The lower amount: ZzzQuil Pure Zzzs Melatonin Gummies, 2 mg with chamomile and lavender, $12.99. Count not published in the title, so no cost per night.
- One milligram apart, and 2 mg sits further inside the range general guidance points to than 3 mg does.
- Different companions: L-theanine for OLLY, chamomile and lavender for Pure Zzzs. Both are label facts, neither is a claim we extend.
- Neither title states the serving size or the sugar, so the Supplement Facts panel decides both the real cost per night and the sugar load.
- If neither: Nature Made Melatonin Gummies 2.5 mg, 130 count, $13.96, about 11 cents each, the value jar with a published count.
At a glance
| Product | Melatonin per gummy | Also in it (per title) | Count | Cost per gummy | Price (9/5/26) | Check price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OLLY Sleep Support Gummy | 3 mg | L-theanine | 70 | $0.23 | $16.35 | Check price on Amazon |
| ZzzQuil Pure Zzzs Melatonin Gummies | 2 mg | Chamomile and lavender | Not published | Not computable | $12.99 | Check price on Amazon |
| Nature Made Melatonin Gummies 2.5 mg (if neither) | 2.5 mg | Nothing else stated | 130 | $0.11 | $13.96 | Check price on Amazon |
The two subjects and the value jar on one column set. Dose, form, companion ingredients and count come from the Amazon listing title; anything the title does not state is marked not published, which is why the Pure Zzzs row carries no count and no cost per night. Prices are live Amazon figures verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026. Cost per gummy is price divided by count; confirm the serving size on the panel before treating it as a per-night figure.
OLLY Sleep Support Gummy, 3 mg Melatonin with L-Theanine, 70 Count
OLLY
Three milligrams with L-theanine, a published count, and a line that goes anywhere.
Our verdict: The better-documented jar and the deeper line. OLLY states 3 mg of melatonin with L-theanine per gummy, 70 count, at $16.35, about 23 cents a gummy, and because the count is published you can price a night before you order. The line runs from 50-count jars to a 120-count pouch and from 3 mg through 5 to 10 mg, plus fast dissolves and softgels, so the brand can follow you as your preference changes.
Verified: Labeled 3 mg melatonin plus L-theanine per gummy, gummy form, 70 count. Live at $16.35 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
Three milligrams, L-theanine, and the count on the listing. OLLY Sleep Support states 3 mg of melatonin plus L-theanine per gummy, 70 count, at $16.35 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026). $16.35 divided by 70 is about 23 cents a gummy. Read the serving size on the panel before treating that as a per-night figure: gummy panels in this category commonly direct two gummies, and where they do the real cost doubles.
L-theanine is an amino acid found in tea that OLLY includes across its sleep line; the label lists it as part of the blend and we describe it no further. It is one more ingredient for a pharmacist to see alongside anything else you take.
The line depth is the second argument. 50 count at $11.90, a 120-count pouch at $29.99, Extra Strength 5 mg at $17.02 for 70, Maximum Strength 10 mg at $16.88 for 70, Ultra Strength softgels at $18.99 for 60, and Sleep Fast Dissolves 3 mg with lemon balm at $9.99 for 30. There are also blends: Immunity Sleep at $17.59 and Muscle Recovery Sleep with tart cherry at $15.99 for 40. The brand is covered in the OLLY Sleep review.
Who should buy it
Buy it if you want a mainstream sleep gummy whose count is published, if L-theanine is the companion you want, or if you want a brand that also sells 5 mg, 10 mg, softgels and fast dissolves when your preference changes.
What we don't like
About 23 cents a gummy is expensive per serving before you check whether the panel directs one gummy or two, 3 mg is the top of the range most general guidance points to, the sugar is not quantified on the title, and a gummy cannot be divided to take less.
- Melatonin per serving
- 3 mg per gummy; serving size not published in the title
- Form
- Gummy
- Count
- 70
- Added ingredients
- L-theanine
- Sugar
- Not published in the title
- Cost per night
- $16.35 / 70 = about $0.23 per gummy
- Age on label
- Adults
What we like
- Count published, so the cost per gummy is verifiable
- L-theanine in the same serving
- Line covers 3, 5 and 10 mg plus softgels and fast dissolves
- 50, 70 and 120-count sizes
Worth noting
- About 23 cents a gummy, the most expensive per serving here
- 3 mg is the top of the common starting range
- Sugar not quantified, and the gummy cannot be split
ZzzQuil Pure Zzzs Melatonin Gummies, 2 mg with Chamomile and Lavender
ZzzQuil
Two milligrams with chamomile and lavender, from a household name.
Our verdict: The jar to buy if you want less melatonin, with the caveat that you cannot price a night from the listing. ZzzQuil Pure Zzzs states 2 mg per gummy with chamomile and lavender at $12.99; the title does not state the count, so we compute nothing. Two milligrams sits further inside the range general guidance points to than OLLY's 3 mg, which is a real reason to prefer it, and chamomile and lavender are a different companion profile.
Verified: Labeled 2 mg melatonin per gummy, with chamomile and lavender, gummy form. Count not published in the listing title. Live at $12.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
A milligram less, and a different pair of companions. ZzzQuil Pure Zzzs Melatonin Gummies state 2 mg of melatonin with chamomile and lavender at $12.99 (verified September 5, 2026). The listing title does not state how many gummies are in the bottle, so we write not published and quote no cost per night. The Supplement Facts panel states the count and the serving size, and both are worth reading before you compare this to a 23 cent gummy.
Chamomile and lavender are listed on the label as part of the formula and we describe them no further, exactly as we describe OLLY's L-theanine no further. Any added botanical is one more line for a pharmacist to see alongside your other medication.
The Pure Zzzs line is broad. There is a larger-count version of the same 2 mg gummy at $17.99, Triple Action at 6 mg with ashwagandha at $16.97, Advanced at 10 mg at $28.28, De-Stress at 2 mg with ashwagandha at $16.74 for 60, All Night Extended Release tablets at $35.98, Complete Sleep at 10 mg with L-theanine and GABA at $16.08 and a plus Magnesium gummy at 2 mg at $11.29. The brand is covered in the ZzzQuil Pure Zzzs review.
Who should buy it
Buy it if you want a lower amount than OLLY offers in its standard gummy, if chamomile and lavender appeal more than L-theanine, or if you want a line that also sells magnesium and ashwagandha versions of the same 2 mg gummy.
What we don't like
The listing title does not state the count, so you cannot price a night before you buy, which is the single biggest strike against it here. The 10 mg Advanced version at $28.28 is expensive, and like every gummy this one cannot be divided to take less.
- Melatonin per serving
- 2 mg per gummy; serving size not published in the title
- Form
- Gummy
- Count
- Not published in the title
- Added ingredients
- Chamomile and lavender
- Sugar
- Not published in the title
- Cost per night
- Not computable: count not published
- Age on label
- Adults
What we like
- 2 mg sits comfortably inside the common starting range
- Chamomile and lavender as the companion profile
- Line includes magnesium, ashwagandha and extended-release siblings
Worth noting
- Count not published, so no cost per night
- Cannot be divided to take less
- Sugar not quantified on the title
Nature Made Melatonin Gummies 2.5 mg, 130 Count
Nature Made
Between the two on amount, half the price per gummy, count published.
Our verdict: The jar that quietly beats both subjects on the numbers. Nature Made states 2.5 mg per gummy, 130 count, at $13.96, about 11 cents each, which is less than half OLLY's cost per gummy at an amount that sits between the two subjects. It has no companion ingredient, which is a drawback if that is what you wanted and an advantage if you want melatonin alone.
Verified: Labeled 2.5 mg melatonin per gummy, gummy form, 130 count. Live at $13.96 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
Half the price per gummy, and the count is on the listing. Nature Made Melatonin Gummies 2.5 mg state 2.5 mg per gummy, 130 count, at $13.96 (verified September 5, 2026). $13.96 divided by 130 is about 11 cents a gummy, against about 23 cents for OLLY. The 80-count at $8.59 is also about 11 cents in a smaller first jar.
The trade is that the title lists no companion ingredient, so if you came for L-theanine or chamomile this is not the jar. What Nature Made offers instead is the brand's USP verification across much of its line, which matters because published analyses have found melatonin content in supplements varying widely from the labeled amount.
The gummy line goes up from here: 5 mg, 70 count at $13.99, 10 mg, 120 count at $14.99 (about 12 cents), a Zero Sugar 5 mg at $14.24 and a melatonin plus magnesium gummy at $13.48 for 50. The whole shelf is ranked in best melatonin gummies.
Who should buy it
Buy it if you want a gummy at a sane price per serving, if you want melatonin without a companion botanical, or if third-party verification on the brand line is what you shop on.
What we don't like
No companion ingredient, which is the whole point of both subjects for some buyers, and no fast dissolve or softgel alternative at this amount in the line. Like every gummy it cannot be divided, and the title does not quantify sugar.
- Melatonin per serving
- 2.5 mg per gummy; serving size not published in the title
- Form
- Gummy
- Count
- 130
- Added ingredients
- None stated in the title
- Sugar
- Not published in the title
- Cost per night
- $13.96 / 130 = about $0.11 per gummy
- Age on label
- Adults
What we like
- About 11 cents a gummy, less than half OLLY's
- 130 count, the deepest jar here, with the count published
- Nature Made line widely carries USP verification
Worth noting
- No companion ingredient in the formula
- Sugar not quantified on the title
The bedtime kit
The six things that round out a melatonin routine: the standard fast-dissolve, a sub-milligram option, a time-release tablet for staying asleep, a magnesium for melatonin-free nights, a bedtime tea, and a kids bottle. Prices are approximate at time of writing.
Axis 1: The amount, and the number one label does not print
OLLY states 3 mg per gummy. Pure Zzzs states 2 mg. Both are inside the 0.5 to 3 mg range sleep clinicians most commonly point to, with Pure Zzzs further inside it, and neither is a large amount by the standards of an aisle that sells 10 mg gummies without comment. If you are new to melatonin, 2 mg is the more conservative reading of the guidance and that is a legitimate reason to choose it.
The missing number is the count. OLLY publishes 70; the Pure Zzzs listing title does not publish one at all, which means the price per gummy cannot be computed from the listing. That is not a small thing when the whole comparison between two gummies comes down to amount, ingredients and money. It is on the Supplement Facts panel, and reading it is the first thing to do if you are leaning that way.
The other unpublished number, on both sides, is the serving size. Gummy panels in this category commonly direct two gummies per serving and the titles rarely say so. If OLLY's panel directs two, its 70-count jar is 35 nights at about 47 cents. Never assume one gummy is one serving on any brand.
Axis 2: L-theanine versus chamomile and lavender
Both jars pair melatonin with something else, and the something else is the clearest difference in personality between them. OLLY lists L-theanine, an amino acid found in tea that the brand includes across its sleep line. Pure Zzzs lists chamomile and lavender, two botanicals long associated with bedtime. We report both exactly as the labels list them and make no claim about what either does, because these are dietary supplements and outcome claims are not ours to make.
What can be said usefully is practical. A companion ingredient is one more line on the panel for a pharmacist to check against your medication list, and it is a reason some buyers prefer a single-ingredient gummy such as the Nature Made 2.5 mg. It is also why both brands sell several variants: if you want ashwagandha instead, Pure Zzzs sells De-Stress at 2 mg ($16.74 for 60) and Triple Action at 6 mg ($16.97); if you want magnesium, it sells a plus Magnesium 2 mg gummy at $11.29 and Nature Made sells a melatonin plus magnesium gummy at $13.48.
The combination shelf across every brand is ranked in best melatonin with L-theanine, best melatonin with valerian and chamomile and best melatonin with magnesium.
Axis 3: Cost, as far as it can be computed
OLLY is about 23 cents a gummy at $16.35 for 70. That is expensive per serving by the standards of the category, and it is the price of the brand and the format rather than of the melatonin. Pure Zzzs is $12.99 with no published count, so the honest statement is that it costs less to start and an unknown amount per night.
Where the money argument actually lands is against the third jar. Nature Made 2.5 mg, 130 count at $13.96 is about 11 cents a gummy, less than half OLLY's, at an amount that sits between the two subjects. Natrol 5 mg gummies, 90 count at $10.97 are about 12 cents at a higher amount. Neither subject is a good deal per serving.
And gummies as a category are the expensive way to buy melatonin. Nature Made 3 mg tablets, 120 count at $7.45 are about 6 cents. That is the tradeoff argued in melatonin gummies vs tablets: you are paying for texture, and for some people it is worth it.
Axis 4: The line around the jar
OLLY's line is built around formats and strengths: Extra Strength 5 mg at $17.02, Maximum Strength 10 mg at $16.88, Ultra Strength softgels at $18.99, Sleep Fast Dissolves 3 mg at $9.99 for 30 and Fast Dissolve 5 mg at $10.99. If you want to leave gummies without leaving the brand, OLLY lets you.
Pure Zzzs builds around ingredients and release profiles instead: the magnesium gummy at $11.29, De-Stress with ashwagandha at $16.74, Complete Sleep with L-theanine and GABA at $16.08, Fast Dissolve 10 mg at $18.84 and All Night Extended Release tablets at $35.98. There is even a melatonin-free plus Magnesium capsule at $13.95 for anyone who wants to step away from melatonin entirely.
Worth repeating here: Pure Zzzs is the dietary supplement line. The ZzzQuil name also appears on over-the-counter sleep medicines that carry a Drug Facts label, which are a different regulatory category and not part of this comparison.
Axis 5: Taste, sugar and where the jar lives
Neither title quantifies sugar, so the Supplement Facts panel is the only honest source on both. Structurally, every gummy needs a carrier and that carrier is sugar or a sugar alcohol. If you want the format without the sugar, Nature Made Zero Sugar 5 mg gummies at $14.24 for 70 is the mainstream answer, ranked alongside others in best sugar-free melatonin gummies. Sugar-free versions typically use sugar alcohols, and xylitol in any household product is toxic to dogs.
On taste, both brands make products people describe as pleasant, which is the entire reason gummies dominate this shelf and the entire reason they need a storage rule. A jar of fruit-flavored gummies is the object poison control data describe: centers reported a sharp rise in pediatric melatonin ingestions through the early 2020s, and gummies are the form most involved. An adult 3 mg gummy is several times a typical 0.5 mg kids product.
So both jars go in a cabinet, out of sight and reach, not on a nightstand, whether or not children live in the house. Poison Control is 1-800-222-1222, and the kids-specific rules are in is melatonin safe for kids.
The verdict, by buyer type
Most gummy buyers: OLLY Sleep Support, $16.35 for 70, about 23 cents a gummy. Published count, L-theanine, and a line that goes wherever you go next.
You want less melatonin: ZzzQuil Pure Zzzs 2 mg, $12.99, with the panel read first for the count and the serving size.
You care about cost per gummy: Nature Made Melatonin Gummies 2.5 mg, 130 count, $13.96, about 11 cents. The 80-count at $8.59 for a smaller first jar.
You want magnesium instead of a botanical: Pure Zzzs plus Magnesium 2 mg, $11.29, or Nature Made Melatonin plus Magnesium, $13.48 for 50.
You want out of gummies: OLLY Sleep Fast Dissolves 3 mg at $9.99 for 30, or Nature Made 3 mg tablets at $7.45 for 120, about 6 cents. Every buyer: read the serving size, keep the jar in a cabinet, and do not drive after taking it.
More picks worth comparing
Beyond this guide, the highest-rated picks across every category and budget, with a live price check on each.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no cost to you.
Quick shop: every pick
Skip the scroll: the whole lineup, with a live price check on each.
- OLLY Sleep Support Gummy, 3 mg Melatonin with L-Theanine, 70 CountBest Overall GummyOLLY · $16.35Check price on Amazon
- ZzzQuil Pure Zzzs Melatonin Gummies, 2 mg with Chamomile and LavenderBest Lower AmountZzzQuil · $12.99Check price on Amazon
- Nature Made Melatonin Gummies 2.5 mg, 130 CountIf Neither: The Value JarNature Made · $13.96Check price on Amazon
How we chose
A comparison page puts the same spec table on both sides and argues the decision axes one at a time: the melatonin per serving as the label states it, what else the label lists, the cost per serving where the listing supports the arithmetic, the range of products the line offers around the jar, and the practical business of taste, sugar and storage. We read the Supplement Facts panel and the live Amazon listing, verify price and availability through the Amazon Creators API (this page: September 5, 2026), and weigh the consistent testimony of owners. Where a listing title does not state a count, we say not published and compute nothing from it. We do not run a lab and never claim physical testing. Pick slots go to recognized brands only.
Melatonin is a dietary supplement in the United States, not an FDA-approved drug. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. We report what labels direct and the general guidance, commonly cited by sleep clinicians, that the lowest effective amount is the place to start, often 0.5 to 3 mg; we never prescribe an amount for any individual. Companion ingredients such as L-theanine, chamomile and lavender are reported as the labels list them, with no claim about what they do. Melatonin can interact with blood thinners, immunosuppressants, and blood-pressure and diabetes medication, so ask a pharmacist about your list. Do not drive after taking it. Anyone pregnant or nursing should consult a doctor. Both products are adult gummies at several times the amount in a typical kids product; poison control centers reported a sharp rise in pediatric melatonin ingestions through the early 2020s, and gummies are the form most involved, so both jars belong in a cabinet out of sight and reach. Poison Control: 1-800-222-1222.
Questions, answered
Is OLLY or ZzzQuil Pure Zzzs better for sleep?
We make no claim about outcomes for any individual. On the verifiable facts, OLLY states 3 mg with L-theanine per gummy and publishes its 70 count, which lets you calculate about 23 cents a gummy. Pure Zzzs states 2 mg with chamomile and lavender at $12.99 but does not publish a count in its listing title, so no cost per night can be computed. Pure Zzzs has the lower amount; OLLY has the better-documented listing.
How many gummies are in a bottle of ZzzQuil Pure Zzzs?
The listing title does not state it, so we report not published and do not guess. The Supplement Facts panel on the bottle states the count and the serving size. Read both before comparing this product to any per-gummy price, and note that the larger-count version of the same 2 mg gummy is listed separately at $17.99.
Is 2 mg or 3 mg of melatonin better?
That is a question for a doctor or pharmacist and we never prescribe an amount. What we can report is the general guidance sleep clinicians commonly cite: use the lowest amount that helps, often in the 0.5 to 3 mg range. Both jars sit inside that range, with Pure Zzzs at 2 mg further inside it than OLLY at 3 mg, which is a reasonable argument for starting with the smaller one.
What is the difference between ZzzQuil and Pure Zzzs?
Pure Zzzs is ZzzQuil's dietary supplement line, sold with a Supplement Facts panel, and it is what this page compares. The ZzzQuil name also appears on over-the-counter sleep medicines that carry a Drug Facts label instead. Those are a different regulatory category of product, and we describe them only as their labels do rather than comparing them to supplements.
Which is cheaper, OLLY or Pure Zzzs?
Pure Zzzs costs less to buy at $12.99 against $16.35, but its listing does not state a count, so cost per gummy cannot be compared. OLLY works out to about 23 cents a gummy at 70 count. If cost per serving is what you are optimizing, Nature Made Melatonin Gummies 2.5 mg at $13.96 for 130 is about 11 cents, less than half OLLY's.
What is L-theanine doing in OLLY Sleep?
It is an amino acid found in tea that OLLY includes across its sleep line, listed on the label as part of the blend. We describe it no further, because these are dietary supplements and outcome claims are not ours to make. Practically, it is one more ingredient to mention to a pharmacist alongside anything else you take.
Do OLLY and Pure Zzzs gummies have a lot of sugar?
Neither listing title quantifies sugar, so the Supplement Facts panel is the only honest source for either. Gummies need a sugar or sugar-alcohol carrier by construction. If sugar is the concern, Nature Made Zero Sugar 5 mg gummies ($14.24 for 70) is the mainstream way to keep the format and drop it.
Can adults give these gummies to children?
No, not without a pediatrician's involvement, and not from an adult jar. A 3 mg adult gummy is several times a typical 0.5 mg kids product. The American Academy of Pediatrics advises talking to a pediatrician before giving a child melatonin, using the lowest amount if a pediatrician agrees, and storing it out of sight and reach. Poison Control is 1-800-222-1222.
Filed under Comparison
Part of Head-to-Head Comparisons
Keep reading
OLLY Sleep Review
The whole line: 3, 5 and 10 mg gummies, softgels, fast dissolves and blends.
ZzzQuil Pure Zzzs Review
Every Pure Zzzs product, from the 2 mg gummy to the extended-release tablets.
Best Melatonin Gummies (2026)
The full gummy ranking on labeled dose, sugar and cost per serving.
Melatonin Gummies vs Tablets
What the gummy premium buys, and when it is worth paying.









