Our Pick: SmartyPants
Check price on Amazon →SmartyPants Sleep Gummies Review (2026): Adult and Kids, Sorted
SmartyPants sells three sleep gummies, and the adult one is worth buying if you want melatonin, magnesium and L-theanine in a clean-label gummy and are willing to read the amount off the bottle: the Adult Fast-Acting Sleep Gummies are $19.99 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026), with the melatonin amount and count not stated in the title. The kids line is better specified, with a stated 0.5 mg gummy and a zero-melatonin gummy, and this review covers all three against OLLY, Natural Vitality and Nature Made.
By The Sleep Desk2026-09-05~11 min read Ranked on verified label facts, never box claimsHow we research
Best OverallSmartyPants Adult Fast-Acting Sleep Gummies with Melatonin, Magnesium and L-Theanine
SmartyPants · 4.0
$19.99
Upgrade PickNatural Vitality Sleep Gummies, Magnesium, Melatonin and L-Theanine
Natural Vitality · 4.0
$22.49
The answer first: the SmartyPants Adult Fast-Acting Sleep Gummies, $19.99 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026), are a reasonable buy for someone who wants melatonin, magnesium and L-theanine together in a gummy the title calls drug-free, gluten-free and clean label. They are not the buy for someone who needs to know the melatonin amount before ordering, because the listing title does not state it, and neither does it state the count, so there is no cost per gummy to weigh $19.99 against. For that buyer, OLLY Sleep's stated 3 mg at $16.35 for 70 is the better first bottle.
SmartyPants is a gummy vitamin brand with a strong clean-label reputation, and its sleep line is three products: the adult blend above, a Kids Sleep gummy at a stated 0.5 mg with chamomile and vitamin D3 ($14.84), and a Kids Sleep Zero Melatonin gummy with L-theanine, lemon balm and magnesium ($17.99). The kids products are, on the listing, better specified than the adult one, which is the reverse of most brands. Because two of the three are children's products, this review carries the pediatric cautions on every kids card.
How we judged it: every SmartyPants listing was verified live through the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026, and every ingredient, amount and claim here comes from the listing title, never from marketing copy. Where a title names an added ingredient we name it too, and we credit it with nothing the label does not claim. SmartyPants is a Tier A brand on this site. We are a verification desk, not a lab; we weigh consistent owner reports rather than the loudest review. No brand paid for a placement. If you buy through our links we may earn an Amazon commission at no extra cost to you. Melatonin is a dietary supplement: talk to a doctor or pharmacist if you take other medication, are pregnant or nursing, and talk to a pediatrician before giving any of these to a child.
The short version
- Our Pick inside the line: SmartyPants Adult Fast-Acting Sleep Gummies, melatonin, magnesium and L-theanine per the title, $19.99. Melatonin amount and count not published in the title.
- The best-specified SmartyPants: Kids Sleep Melatonin 0.5 mg with chamomile and vitamin D3, $14.84. A stated low amount; count not published. A pediatrician decides whether it is appropriate.
- The melatonin-free kids option: Kids Sleep Zero Melatonin with L-theanine, lemon balm and magnesium, $17.99. Count not published.
- The benchmark that states its amount: OLLY Sleep, 3 mg with L-theanine, 70 count, $16.35, about 23 cents a gummy.
- The benchmark with the same three actives: Natural Vitality Sleep Gummies, magnesium, melatonin and L-theanine, $23.24, also without a stated amount or count. Nature Made Melatonin + Magnesium states 3 mg and 50 count at $13.48.
At a glance
| Gummy | Melatonin (per title) | Also in it (per title) | Count | Per gummy | Price (9/5/26) | Check price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SmartyPants Adult Fast-Acting Sleep | Not published | Magnesium, L-theanine | Not published | n/a | $19.99 | Check price on Amazon |
| SmartyPants Kids Sleep 0.5 mg | 0.5 mg | Chamomile, vitamin D3 | Not published | n/a | $14.84 | Check price on Amazon |
| SmartyPants Kids Sleep Zero Melatonin | None | L-theanine, lemon balm, magnesium | Not published | n/a | $17.99 | Check price on Amazon |
| OLLY Sleep (benchmark) | 3 mg | L-theanine | 70 | $0.23 | $16.35 | Check price on Amazon |
| Natural Vitality Sleep Gummies (benchmark) | Not published | Magnesium, L-theanine | Not published | n/a | $23.24 | Check price on Amazon |
| Nature Made Melatonin + Magnesium (benchmark) | 3 mg | Magnesium | 50 | $0.27 | $13.48 | Check price on Amazon |
Three SmartyPants products and three benchmarks. Ingredients, amounts and counts are from the Amazon listing title; where a title omits the count, cost per gummy is not computed. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026.
SmartyPants Adult Fast-Acting Sleep Gummies with Melatonin, Magnesium and L-Theanine
SmartyPants
A clean-label gummy naming melatonin, magnesium and L-theanine, $19.99, amount and count not stated.
Our verdict: The only adult product SmartyPants makes for sleep, and a well-regarded one: three named actives, the brand's clean-label claims, and consistent owner praise for taste. What it lacks is the two numbers a careful buyer wants first. The title does not state the melatonin amount or the count, so $19.99 cannot be turned into a cost per gummy and the amount has to be read off the panel. Buy it for the brand and the formula, not on the numbers, because there are none to buy on.
Verified: Melatonin, magnesium and L-theanine per the listing title, drug-free, gluten-free, clean label; melatonin amount and count not published in the title. Live at $19.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
SmartyPants' adult sleep gummy is a formula, and the formula is the whole pitch. The SmartyPants Adult Fast-Acting Sleep Gummies name melatonin, magnesium and L-theanine in the title and state drug-free, gluten-free and clean label. "Fast-acting" is the maker's positioning; we report it and do not vouch for it. The amounts of all three actives are not published in the title, and neither is the count.
On the added ingredients: magnesium and L-theanine are named because the title names them, and we credit neither with an effect the label does not claim. The closest formula match on this site is the Natural Vitality benchmark below, which names the same three actives and also omits amount and count; the closest pharmacy-shelf match is Nature Made Melatonin + Magnesium, which states 3 mg. If magnesium is what drew you here, best melatonin with magnesium ranks the blends by what each title states; if L-theanine, best melatonin with L-theanine.
Who should buy it
Buy it if you want melatonin, magnesium and L-theanine together in a clean-label gummy from a brand you already trust for vitamins, and you will read the amount and count off the panel when it arrives.
What we don't like
The melatonin amount, the count, the serving size and the amounts of both added ingredients are all absent from the title, so $19.99 is a price with nothing to divide it by.
- Melatonin per serving
- Not published in the title
- Form
- Gummy
- Count
- Not published in the title
- Added ingredients
- Magnesium, L-theanine (amounts not published)
- Sugar
- Not published in the title
- Cost per night
- Not computable; count not published
- Age on label
- Adults
What we like
- Three named actives in a clean-label gummy
- Drug-free and gluten-free stated in the title
- Owners consistently praise taste and texture
Worth noting
- Melatonin amount not published in the title
- Count not published, so no cost per gummy
SmartyPants Kids Sleep Melatonin 0.5 mg Gummies with Chamomile and Vitamin D3
SmartyPants
A kids gummy at a stated 0.5 mg with chamomile and vitamin D3, $14.84; a pediatrician decides.
Our verdict: The best-specified SmartyPants sleep product, and it is for children. The title states 0.5 mg melatonin, the lowest amount sold in a mainstream kids gummy, and names chamomile and vitamin D3. The count is not published. Whether any melatonin is appropriate for a child, and at what amount, is a pediatrician's decision, and this card exists to describe the label, not to recommend the product.
Verified: Labeled 0.5 mg melatonin per the listing title, with chamomile and vitamin D3, gluten-free, clean label, drug free; count not published. Live at $14.84 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
A stated 0.5 mg is the number that matters on a kids label, and SmartyPants states it. The SmartyPants Kids Sleep Melatonin 0.5 mg Gummies name chamomile and vitamin D3 alongside a labeled 0.5 mg, and state gluten-free, clean label and drug free. The count is not in the title, so $14.84 has no per-gummy figure. OLLY Kids Sleep also states 0.5 mg; most other kids gummies state 1 mg.
The kids field is the Family Desk's territory: best melatonin for kids ranks the stated-amount products from OLLY Kids, Zarbee's, Natrol Kids and SmartyPants, best low-dose melatonin for kids covers the 0.5 mg and lower specialists, and the kids safety guide sets out the storage and pediatrician rules in full.
Who should buy it
Consider it only after a pediatrician has agreed melatonin is appropriate for your child and at what amount. If they have, a stated 0.5 mg from a clean-label brand is among the lowest amounts available in a kids gummy.
What we don't like
The count and the serving size are not in the title, the amounts of chamomile and vitamin D3 are not stated, and like every kids gummy it must be stored where a child cannot reach it.
- Melatonin per serving
- 0.5 mg (serving size on label)
- Form
- Gummy
- Count
- Not published in the title
- Added ingredients
- Chamomile, vitamin D3 (amounts not published)
- Sugar
- Not published in the title
- Cost per night
- Not computable; count not published
- Age on label
- Kids; age range on the label
What we like
- Stated 0.5 mg, among the lowest in a kids gummy
- Gluten-free, clean label and drug free stated
Worth noting
- Count and serving size not published
- A pediatrician's decision, not a shelf decision
SmartyPants Kids Sleep Zero Melatonin Gummies with L-Theanine, Lemon Balm and Magnesium
SmartyPants
A kids bedtime gummy with no melatonin, naming L-theanine, lemon balm and magnesium, $17.99.
Our verdict: The product many pediatricians would rather discuss first: a kids bedtime gummy with no melatonin at all, naming L-theanine, lemon balm and magnesium. It is still a supplement for a child, the count is not published, and the amounts of the three actives are not stated. A pediatrician's conversation applies here too.
Verified: Zero melatonin per the listing title, with L-theanine, lemon balm and magnesium, gluten-free, clean label; count not published. Live at $17.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
Melatonin-free is the growing half of the kids shelf, and SmartyPants has a well-specified entry. The SmartyPants Kids Sleep Zero Melatonin Gummies state zero melatonin in the title and name L-theanine, lemon balm and magnesium, with gluten-free and clean label. The amounts and the count are not published. We name the three actives because the title does, and credit them with nothing the label does not claim.
The direct rivals are OLLY Kids Melatonin Free (magnesium and L-theanine, peach, 50 count, $13.38), which does state a count, and Zarbee's Kids Gentle Bedtime with chamomile (30 count, $17.99). The Family Desk ranks the field in best melatonin-free sleep aids for kids.
Who should buy it
Consider it if a pediatrician has suggested a melatonin-free bedtime supplement for your child and you want L-theanine, lemon balm and magnesium named on a clean-label gummy. Compare it to OLLY Kids Melatonin Free, which states its count.
What we don't like
The count and the amounts of all three actives are not in the title, and OLLY's melatonin-free kids gummy publishes its count at a lower price.
- Melatonin per serving
- None (zero melatonin per the title)
- Form
- Gummy
- Count
- Not published in the title
- Added ingredients
- L-theanine, lemon balm, magnesium (amounts not published)
- Sugar
- Not published in the title
- Cost per night
- Not computable; count not published
- Age on label
- Kids; age range on the label
What we like
- Zero melatonin stated in the title
- Three named actives, clean label and gluten-free stated
Worth noting
- Count and amounts not published
- OLLY Kids Melatonin Free states its count for less
OLLY Sleep Gummy, 3 mg Melatonin with L-Theanine, 70 Count
OLLY
A stated 3 mg with L-theanine, 70 count, about 23 cents a gummy, the benchmark.
Our verdict: The gummy a first-time buyer should choose over SmartyPants, for one reason: the title states 3 mg and 70 count, so you know the amount and the cost per gummy (about 23 cents) before you buy. It shares L-theanine with the SmartyPants adult formula and omits the magnesium.
Verified: Labeled 3 mg melatonin with L-theanine per the listing title, 70 gummies. Live at $16.35 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
Everything the SmartyPants title leaves out, the OLLY title puts in. OLLY Sleep states 3 mg melatonin, names L-theanine, and states 70 count. $16.35 divided by 70 is about 23 cents a gummy. Three milligrams sits inside the range many clinicians cite as a starting point, which is exactly the kind of decision a stated amount lets you make.
OLLY's kids line is the SmartyPants kids line's closest rival too: OLLY Kids Sleep 0.5 mg (raspberry, 50 count, $12.88) states both its 0.5 mg and its count. The format is ranked in best melatonin gummies.
Who should buy it
Buy it instead of SmartyPants if you want to know the melatonin amount and the cost per gummy before you order, and you want a moderate 3 mg with L-theanine.
What we don't like
No magnesium, no clean-label claims in the title, and the sugar and L-theanine amounts are not stated.
- Melatonin per serving
- 3 mg (serving size on label)
- Form
- Gummy
- Count
- 70
- Added ingredients
- L-theanine (amount not published)
- Sugar
- Sweetened; amount not published
- Cost per gummy
- $16.35 / 70 = about $0.23
- Age on label
- Adults
What we like
- Amount and count stated: 3 mg, 70
- About 23 cents a gummy
- Kids 0.5 mg gummy in the same family states its count
Worth noting
- No magnesium
- Sugar not stated
Natural Vitality Sleep Gummies, Magnesium, Melatonin and L-Theanine
Natural Vitality
The same magnesium, melatonin and L-theanine formula idea from the Calm brand, $23.24.
Our verdict: The closest formula match to the SmartyPants adult gummy: magnesium, melatonin and L-theanine, from the brand best known for its magnesium drink. It also omits the melatonin amount and the count from the title, and it costs more at $23.24. Between the two, SmartyPants is cheaper and equally specified; neither is the right first bottle for someone who needs the amount stated.
Verified: Magnesium, melatonin and L-theanine formula per the listing title; amount and count not published. Live at $23.24 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
Same idea, different magnesium brand, higher price. Natural Vitality Sleep Gummies name magnesium, melatonin and L-theanine in the title, the same three actives SmartyPants names, and state nothing about the amount of any of them or the count. At $23.24 it is $3.25 more than SmartyPants for a listing that tells you no more.
For a magnesium-and-melatonin blend whose title states the melatonin, the Nature Made benchmark below is the one, and best melatonin with magnesium ranks the whole field on that test. The ingredient itself is covered in melatonin vs magnesium.
Who should buy it
Buy it instead of SmartyPants if the Natural Vitality name is the reason you want a magnesium blend, and you accept that the listing tells you no more than SmartyPants' does at a higher price.
What we don't like
No amount, no count, and $3.25 more than SmartyPants for the same three named actives.
- Melatonin per serving
- Not published in the title
- Form
- Gummy
- Count
- Not published in the title
- Added ingredients
- Magnesium, L-theanine (amounts not published)
- Sugar
- Not published in the title
- Cost per night
- Not computable; count not published
- Age on label
- Adults
What we like
- Same three named actives as SmartyPants
- Brand known for magnesium
Worth noting
- Amount and count not published
- Priciest gummy on this page
Nature Made Melatonin + Magnesium Gummies, 3 mg, 50 Count
Nature Made
A stated 3 mg melatonin with magnesium, 50 count, about 27 cents each, pharmacy brand.
Our verdict: The magnesium blend to buy if you need the melatonin amount stated. Nature Made pairs 3 mg with magnesium in a 50-count gummy at $13.48, about 27 cents each, from a pharmacy-shelf brand. It drops the L-theanine SmartyPants names and adds the two numbers SmartyPants omits.
Verified: Labeled 3 mg melatonin with magnesium per the listing title, 50 gummies. Live at $13.48 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
The pharmacy-shelf answer to the magnesium-blend question. Nature Made Melatonin + Magnesium Gummies state 3 mg melatonin, magnesium and 50 count in the title. $13.48 divided by 50 is about 27 cents a gummy. The magnesium amount is not stated, so we do not state it, and we credit the magnesium with nothing the label does not claim.
Nature Made's wider gummy line runs from a 2.5 mg gummy (130 count, $13.96, about 11 cents each) to a zero-sugar 5 mg, all sorted in the Nature Made melatonin review.
Who should buy it
Buy it instead of SmartyPants if you want melatonin with magnesium in a gummy and you need the melatonin amount and the count stated on the listing.
What we don't like
No L-theanine, the magnesium amount is not stated, and 50 count is a small bottle at about 27 cents a gummy.
- Melatonin per serving
- 3 mg (serving size on label)
- Form
- Gummy
- Count
- 50
- Added ingredients
- Magnesium (amount not published)
- Sugar
- Sweetened; amount not published
- Cost per gummy
- $13.48 / 50 = about $0.27
- Age on label
- Adults
What we like
- Amount and count stated: 3 mg, 50
- Pharmacy-shelf brand
Worth noting
- No L-theanine
- Small bottle
The bedtime kit
The six things that round out a melatonin routine: the standard fast-dissolve, a sub-milligram option, a time-release tablet for staying asleep, a magnesium for melatonin-free nights, a bedtime tea, and a kids bottle. Prices are approximate at time of writing.
More picks worth comparing
Beyond this guide, the highest-rated picks across every category and budget, with a live price check on each.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no cost to you.
Quick shop: every pick
Skip the scroll: the whole lineup, with a live price check on each.
- SmartyPants Adult Fast-Acting Sleep Gummies with Melatonin, Magnesium and L-TheanineThe Adult GummySmartyPants · $19.99Check price on Amazon
- SmartyPants Kids Sleep Melatonin 0.5 mg Gummies with Chamomile and Vitamin D3The Kids Gummy With a Stated Low AmountSmartyPants · $14.84Check price on Amazon
- SmartyPants Kids Sleep Zero Melatonin Gummies with L-Theanine, Lemon Balm and MagnesiumThe Melatonin-Free Kids GummySmartyPants · $17.99Check price on Amazon
- OLLY Sleep Gummy, 3 mg Melatonin with L-Theanine, 70 CountBenchmark: The Gummy That States Its AmountOLLY · $16.35Check price on Amazon
- Natural Vitality Sleep Gummies, Magnesium, Melatonin and L-TheanineBenchmark: The Same Three ActivesNatural Vitality · $22.49Check price on Amazon
- Nature Made Melatonin + Magnesium Gummies, 3 mg, 50 CountBenchmark: Magnesium Blend With a Stated AmountNature Made · $12.81Check price on Amazon
How we chose
Every product on this site is ranked on the same protocol: the melatonin per serving as the label states it, the delivery form, what else is in the formula, the count, the cost per night when the listing publishes the count, and how honest the label is about all of it. For a brand review we apply that protocol across the whole line and put competitors on the same table. Where a SmartyPants title omits a count or amount we write "not published" and compute nothing; where it names an added ingredient we name it and credit it with nothing the label does not claim. We read the Supplement Facts panel and the live Amazon listing, verify price and availability through the Amazon Creators API (this page: September 5, 2026), and weigh the consistent testimony of owners. We do not run a lab and never present a brand's claim as our finding.
Melatonin is sold in the United States as a dietary supplement, not a drug. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Nothing here is medical advice or an individualized amount; we report what labels direct and note the general guidance, widely cited by sleep clinicians, that lower amounts (often 0.5 to 3 mg) are worth starting with. For the kids products on this page: the American Academy of Pediatrics advises talking to a pediatrician before giving a child melatonin, keeping gummies out of reach, and using the lowest amount; poison-control reporting documented a sharp rise in pediatric melatonin ingestions through the early 2020s, and gummies are the format most involved. Melatonin can interact with blood thinners, immunosuppressants, blood-pressure and diabetes medication; ask a pharmacist. Do not drive after taking it. If pregnant or nursing, consult a doctor.
Questions, answered
Are SmartyPants sleep gummies good?
The adult gummy is well regarded: it names melatonin, magnesium and L-theanine, states drug-free, gluten-free and clean label, and owners consistently praise the taste. The listing's weakness is that the title states neither the melatonin amount nor the count, so at $19.99 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) there is no cost per gummy and no way to know the amount before the bottle arrives. The kids 0.5 mg gummy is better specified.
How much melatonin is in SmartyPants adult sleep gummies?
The Amazon listing title does not state it, and we do not guess. The Supplement Facts panel on the bottle does. The kids product states 0.5 mg in its title, and the kids zero-melatonin product states none. If you need the adult amount before buying, OLLY Sleep (3 mg) and Nature Made Melatonin + Magnesium (3 mg) both state it.
How much melatonin is in SmartyPants Kids Sleep gummies?
The title states 0.5 mg, with chamomile and vitamin D3. The count is not published in the title. The American Academy of Pediatrics advises talking to a pediatrician before giving a child melatonin, using the lowest amount if a pediatrician agrees, and keeping gummies out of reach; a pediatrician decides whether this product is appropriate.
Does SmartyPants make a melatonin-free sleep gummy?
For kids, yes: Kids Sleep Zero Melatonin Gummies with L-theanine, lemon balm and magnesium, $17.99, count not published. There is no melatonin-free adult sleep gummy in the SmartyPants line at our check. OLLY Kids Melatonin Free (50 count, $13.38) is the closest rival and states its count.
SmartyPants or OLLY sleep gummies?
OLLY for a first bottle: it states 3 mg and L-theanine and 70 count, about 23 cents a gummy at $16.35. SmartyPants if you want magnesium added to the L-theanine, you value the clean-label claims, and you are content to read the amount and count off the bottle. For kids, both brands state 0.5 mg; OLLY Kids also states its count.
Are SmartyPants sleep gummies sugar-free?
None of the three titles state sugar content either way, so we do not. The Supplement Facts panel does. If a sugar-free gummy is what you want, our best sugar-free melatonin gummies guide covers the products whose titles state it, along with the sweetener caution (sugar alcohols, and xylitol's toxicity to dogs).
Can adults take the SmartyPants kids sleep gummies?
They are labeled for children, and we describe products as labeled. An adult who wants a low amount in a gummy has adult options with stated amounts: Nature Made 2.5 mg, ZzzQuil Pure Zzzs 2 mg, and Nordic Naturals 1.5 mg, all in our best low-dose melatonin guide.
Filed under Review
Part of Brand Reviews
Keep reading
Best Melatonin with Magnesium
Every magnesium blend ranked by what the title states, from Nature Made to Webber Naturals.
Best Melatonin for Kids
The Family Desk's ranking of stated-amount kids products, with the AAP cautions on every card.
OLLY Sleep Review
The benchmark gummy line, adult and kids, every count and strength sorted.
Best Melatonin-Free Sleep Aids for Kids
SmartyPants Zero Melatonin against OLLY Kids Melatonin Free and Zarbee's Gentle Bedtime.











