Melatonin-Free Sleep Aids for Kids (2026): 8 Picks for When the Pediatrician Says Not Yet

Buy Genexa Kids Sleepology, 60 melatonin-free chewables, $13.99 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026), the clean-label kids bedtime chewable with the most complete title on the shelf. Behind it: Zarbee's Kids Gentle Bedtime with chamomile, OLLY Kids Melatonin Free with magnesium and L-theanine, SmartyPants Kids Zero Melatonin, and the liquids from Hyland's and Boiron. Every one described only as its label states it. A pediatrician decides, and the bedtime routine does the lasting work.

By The Family & Pets Desk2026-09-05~12 min read Ranked on verified label facts, never box claimsHow we research

Genexa Kids Sleepology, Melatonin-Free Sleep Aid, 60 ChewablesBest Overall

Genexa Kids Sleepology, Melatonin-Free Sleep Aid, 60 Chewables

Genexa · 4.5

$13.99

MaryRuth's Kids Nighttime Gummies, Ages 4+, No Melatonin, Sugar-FreeUpgrade Pick

MaryRuth's Kids Nighttime Gummies, Ages 4+, No Melatonin, Sugar-Free

MaryRuth's · 4.3

$23.36

If your child's pediatrician has said not yet to melatonin and you want a bedtime product anyway, buy Genexa Kids Sleepology, 60 melatonin-free chewables, $13.99 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026). It is the kids bedtime chewable whose title states the most: melatonin-free, a sleep aid, made clean in the brand's phrasing, 60 count. If your household already uses Zarbee's, the Kids Gentle Bedtime Gummies with chamomile, 30 count, $17.99. If you want the ingredients most often discussed on the adult melatonin-free shelf, OLLY Kids Melatonin Free Sleep states magnesium and L-theanine, peach, 50 count, $13.38.

This page exists because the American Academy of Pediatrics reaches for behavioral approaches first. The AAP's guidance on melatonin is pediatrician first, lowest amount, short-term alongside a bedtime routine, stored like medication; the routine is what does the lasting work, and a melatonin-free bedtime product is, at most, a companion to it. Nothing on this page treats anything. Every product is a dietary supplement or, in Boiron's case, a homeopathic product, and we describe each one only as its label states it: what is in it, what form it takes, what age the title prints, what it costs. The storage rule does not relax because the melatonin is gone: most of these are gummies or chewables that look like candy, and a jar within reach is still a Poison Control call at 1-800-222-1222. The is melatonin safe for kids page covers what a pediatrician typically asks; the products a pediatrician might discuss when the answer is yes are in best melatonin for kids.

Every product here is from a recognized maker (Genexa, Zarbee's, OLLY, SmartyPants, MaryRuth's, Hyland's, Boiron, Nested Naturals), every ingredient and count comes from the listing title, and every price was verified live on September 5, 2026. Ages are reported only where the title states them; three of these do. We are a verification desk, not a lab, and we make no claim that any of these products works; we report what the label says. No brand paid for a placement; if you buy through our links we may earn a commission at no cost to you. A pediatrician decides.

The short version

  • Our Pick: Genexa Kids Sleepology, 60 melatonin-free chewables, $13.99, about 23 cents a piece. The most complete kids melatonin-free title on the shelf.
  • Best from a children's brand: Zarbee's Kids Gentle Bedtime Gummies with chamomile, melatonin-free, 30 count, $17.99. Best with magnesium and L-theanine: OLLY Kids Melatonin Free Sleep, peach, 50 count, $13.38.
  • Products whose titles state an age: MaryRuth's Kids Nighttime Gummies, ages 4 and up, sugar-free, $23.36; Hyland's Kids Melatonin-Free Sleep + Immune, ages 2 and up, organic, 4 oz, $8.39; Nested Naturals Luna Kids, children 4 and up, sugar-free tablets, $15.95.
  • Liquids: Hyland's 4 oz at $8.39 and Boiron SleepCalm Kids liquid doses, melatonin-free, $9.66. SmartyPants Kids Sleep Zero Melatonin states L-theanine, lemon balm and magnesium, $17.99.
  • The routine is the product. The AAP reaches for a consistent schedule, a screen-free wind-down and light management first; everything on this page is at most a companion to that, and a pediatrician decides.

At a glance

ProductFormIngredients named in titleCount / volumeAge on labelPrice (9/5/26)Check price
Genexa Kids SleepologyChewableNot itemized (melatonin-free, made clean)60Kids (range not in title)$13.99Check price on Amazon
Zarbee's Kids Gentle BedtimeGummyChamomile30Kids (range not in title)$17.99Check price on Amazon
OLLY Kids Melatonin Free SleepGummy, peachMagnesium, L-theanine50Kids (range not in title)$13.38Check price on Amazon
SmartyPants Kids Sleep Zero MelatoninGummyL-theanine, lemon balm, magnesiumNot publishedKids (range not in title)$17.99Check price on Amazon
MaryRuth's Kids NighttimeGummy, sugar-freeNot itemized (no melatonin)Not publishedAges 4+$23.36Check price on Amazon
Hyland's Kids Melatonin-Free Sleep + ImmuneLiquid, organicNot itemized4 ozAges 2+$8.39Check price on Amazon
Boiron SleepCalm Kids Liquid DosesLiquid unit dosesNot itemized (homeopathic, melatonin-free)Not publishedKids (range not in title)$9.66Check price on Amazon
Nested Naturals Luna KidsTablet, sugar-freeNot itemized (naturally sourced, herbal)Not publishedChildren 4+$15.95Check price on Amazon

Eight melatonin-free bedtime products sold for children. Ingredients, form, count and age are from the Amazon listing title; where the title does not state a fact we say so. Prices verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026. Nothing here is described as effective; we report labels.

Our PickBest Melatonin-Free Sleep Aid for Kids Overall
Genexa Kids Sleepology, Melatonin-Free Sleep Aid, 60 Chewables

Genexa Kids Sleepology, Melatonin-Free Sleep Aid, 60 Chewables

Genexa

The clean-label kids bedtime chewable with 60 count and no melatonin.

4.5

Our verdict: The pick because its title says the most and its format asks the least. Genexa Kids Sleepology states melatonin-free, sleep aid, made clean in the brand's words, and 60 chewables, at $13.99, about 23 cents a piece. A chewable is less candy-like than a gummy, and Genexa is a brand built on ingredient-list transparency. What it does not state is any ingredient by name, so the panel is the next stop.

Verified: Kids melatonin-free sleep aid chewable, 60 count, described on the listing as made clean. Live at $13.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The most complete melatonin-free kids title on the shelf. Genexa Kids Sleepology states a melatonin-free sleep aid, made clean in Genexa's phrasing, 60 chewables, at $13.99 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026). The title does not itemize the active ingredients, so this card does not either; the panel lists them, and the pediatrician reads that.

What melatonin-free does and does not mean: it means the product does not contain the hormone. It does not mean the product is free of things a pediatrician should see, and it does not mean a jar of flavored chewables can sit on a nightstand. The AAP's storage guidance applies to every bedtime product bought for a child.

Genexa's adult Sleepology, also melatonin-free, is $16.99 for 60 and ranks in best melatonin-free sleep aids. The kids melatonin shelf, for when the pediatrician's answer changes, is best melatonin for kids.

Who should buy it

Buy it if the pediatrician has said not yet to melatonin, you want a chewable rather than a gummy, and a clean-label brand with a 60 count at a fair price is the priority.

What we don't like

The title names no active ingredient, states no age range, and the chewable format still needs the same cabinet as any bedtime product.

Melatonin
None (melatonin-free)
Form
Chewable tablet
Count
60
Ingredients named in title
Not itemized
Sugar
Not published in the title
Cost per piece
$13.99 / 60 = about $0.23
Age on label
Kids; range not published in the title

What we like

  • 60 chewables at about 23 cents a piece
  • Clean-label brand
  • Adult sibling in the same line

Worth noting

  • Active ingredients not in the title
  • No age range stated
Best from a Children's Brand
Zarbee's Kids Gentle Bedtime Gummies with Chamomile, Melatonin-Free, 30 Count

Zarbee's Kids Gentle Bedtime Gummies with Chamomile, Melatonin-Free, 30 Count

Zarbee's

The Zarbee's bedtime gummy with chamomile and no melatonin.

4.4

Our verdict: The melatonin-free gummy from the brand that leads the kids melatonin shelf. Zarbee's Kids Gentle Bedtime states chamomile, melatonin-free and 30 count at $17.99, about 60 cents a piece, the priciest per gummy here. It is the choice for a household that trusts Zarbee's and wants the no-melatonin version of the same bedtime ritual.

Verified: Kids gummies with chamomile, melatonin-free, 30 count, from a children's brand. Live at $17.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Zarbee's without the melatonin. Zarbee's Kids Gentle Bedtime Gummies state chamomile, melatonin-free and 30 count at $17.99 (verified September 5, 2026). That is about 60 cents a gummy, three times the cost per piece of the Genexa chewable, from a brand that sells only children's products.

Same brand, two jars, one cabinet: a household that has both the Zarbee's melatonin gummies and the Gentle Bedtime gummies has two similar-looking jars. Keep them apart, keep both out of reach, and read the label every night rather than the color of the lid.

The Zarbee's melatonin line, 1 mg gummies and liquid, is in the Zarbee's melatonin review. Chamomile also appears on the adult shelf in best melatonin with valerian and chamomile.

Who should buy it

Buy it if your household trusts Zarbee's, chamomile is the ingredient you want, and you are willing to pay the highest cost per gummy on the page for the children's-brand label.

What we don't like

About 60 cents a gummy, a 30 count that runs out in a month, no age range in the title, and a jar that looks like the brand's melatonin jar.

Melatonin
None (melatonin-free)
Form
Gummy
Count
30
Ingredients named in title
Chamomile
Sugar
Not published in the title
Cost per piece
$17.99 / 30 = about $0.60
Age on label
Kids; range not published in the title

What we like

  • Children's brand
  • Chamomile stated in the title
  • Melatonin-free counterpart to the leading kids gummy

Worth noting

  • Most expensive per gummy on the page
  • 30 count
Best with Magnesium and L-Theanine
OLLY Kids Melatonin Free Sleep, Magnesium and L-Theanine, Peach, 50 Count

OLLY Kids Melatonin Free Sleep, Magnesium and L-Theanine, Peach, 50 Count

OLLY

OLLY's no-melatonin kids gummy, with the two adult-shelf ingredients named.

4.5

Our verdict: The kids gummy that names the ingredients most often discussed on the adult melatonin-free shelf. OLLY Kids Melatonin Free Sleep states magnesium and L-theanine, peach, 50 count, $13.38, about 27 cents a piece. It is the best-value named-ingredient gummy here, from the brand whose 0.5 mg kids melatonin gummy sits beside it.

Verified: Kids melatonin-free sleep gummy with magnesium and L-theanine, peach, 50 count. Live at $13.38 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Magnesium and L-theanine, in a kids gummy. OLLY Kids Melatonin Free Sleep states magnesium and L-theanine, peach flavored, 50 count, at $13.38 (verified September 5, 2026). Both ingredients appear across the adult melatonin-free category; the label lists them, and we describe them no further. Amounts per gummy are on the panel, not in the title.

Two ingredients for the pediatrician: magnesium in a kids product is a question about what else the child takes, and L-theanine is an amino acid from tea. Neither is melatonin, and neither is nothing. The pediatrician reads the panel.

OLLY's Kids Sleep 0.5 mg is the melatonin version, reviewed in the OLLY Kids Sleep review. The adult melatonin-free field is best melatonin-free sleep aids, and magnesium on its own is best magnesium for sleep.

Who should buy it

Buy it if you want the melatonin-free kids gummy that names its ingredients, at the best cost per piece among the gummies here, from a brand your household already knows.

What we don't like

Amounts of magnesium and L-theanine are not in the title, no age range is stated, and a peach gummy is a peach gummy where storage is concerned.

Melatonin
None (melatonin-free)
Form
Gummy, peach
Count
50
Ingredients named in title
Magnesium, L-theanine
Sugar
Not published in the title
Cost per piece
$13.38 / 50 = about $0.27
Age on label
Kids; range not published in the title

What we like

  • Names both ingredients in the title
  • About 27 cents a gummy
  • Recognized brand with a melatonin sibling

Worth noting

  • Ingredient amounts not in the title
  • No age range stated
Best Three-Ingredient Gummy
SmartyPants Kids Sleep Zero Melatonin Gummies with L-Theanine, Lemon Balm and Magnesium

SmartyPants Kids Sleep Zero Melatonin Gummies with L-Theanine, Lemon Balm and Magnesium

SmartyPants

L-theanine, lemon balm and magnesium in a gluten-free kids gummy with no melatonin.

4.3

Our verdict: The kids gummy with three named ingredients and no melatonin. SmartyPants Kids Sleep Zero Melatonin states L-theanine, lemon balm and magnesium, gluten-free, at $17.99; the count is not in the title. It is the most ingredient-forward label on the page and the one to take to a pediatrician who wants to know exactly what is in the jar.

Verified: Kids zero-melatonin sleep gummy with L-theanine, lemon balm and magnesium, gluten-free and clean-label as stated; count not published in the title. Live at $17.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Three named ingredients. SmartyPants Kids Sleep Zero Melatonin states L-theanine, lemon balm and magnesium, gluten-free and clean-label in the brand's words, at $17.99 (verified September 5, 2026). Without a count in the title we cannot price it per gummy. Lemon balm is an herb that appears on adult melatonin-free labels; here it is one of three, and the panel states the amounts.

More named ingredients is more for the pediatrician to review, not less: a clean label is a transparent one, and transparency is the point. Take the panel. The AAP's first reach is still the routine, and a three-ingredient gummy is still a companion to it, not a replacement.

SmartyPants' Kids Sleep 0.5 mg melatonin gummy is the sibling, ranked in best low-dose melatonin for kids. The brand page is the SmartyPants Sleep review.

Who should buy it

Buy it if you want the most ingredient-forward melatonin-free kids gummy, gluten-free, from a brand whose 0.5 mg melatonin sibling you might move to or from on a pediatrician's advice.

What we don't like

No count in the title, so no cost per gummy; $17.99 is the top of the gummy range; no age range stated.

Melatonin
None (zero melatonin)
Form
Gummy
Count
Not published in the title
Ingredients named in title
L-theanine, lemon balm, magnesium
Sugar
Not published in the title
Cost per piece
Not computable (count not published)
Age on label
Kids; range not published in the title

What we like

  • Three ingredients named in the title
  • Gluten-free as stated
  • Melatonin sibling at 0.5 mg

Worth noting

  • Count not published
  • Priciest gummy tier
Upgrade PickBest Sugar-Free with a Stated Age
MaryRuth's Kids Nighttime Gummies, Ages 4+, No Melatonin, Sugar-Free

MaryRuth's Kids Nighttime Gummies, Ages 4+, No Melatonin, Sugar-Free

MaryRuth's

A sugar-free, melatonin-free kids gummy whose title prints ages 4 and up.

4.3

Our verdict: The sugar-free option with an age on the label. MaryRuth's Kids Nighttime Gummies state no melatonin, sugar-free and ages 4 and up at $23.36, the most expensive product on the page with no count in the title. It earns its slot on two stated facts most competitors omit: the sugar and the age.

Verified: Kids nighttime gummies, no melatonin, sugar-free, labeled for ages 4 and up per the listing title; count not published. Live at $23.36 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Sugar-free, and an age in the title. MaryRuth's Kids Nighttime Gummies state no melatonin, sugar-free, and ages 4 and up, at $23.36 (verified September 5, 2026). The count is not published, so no cost per gummy. MaryRuth's is a recognized brand across the adult melatonin-free category, which is how a kids product with no itemized ingredients in the title still earns a place here.

Sugar-free means a sweetener: the other-ingredients line names it. If it is xylitol, the jar is toxic to any dog in the house and belongs in the cabinet for two reasons. "Ages 4+" is the maker's label statement; a pediatrician decides whether it is appropriate for a particular four-year-old.

MaryRuth's adult melatonin-free products, the Melatonin Free Sleep Gummies at $23.70 and the Liquid Ultra Sleep Support at $29.95, are on the adult shelf; the brand page is the MaryRuth's Sleep review.

Who should buy it

Buy it if a sugar-free gummy with an age printed on the label is what you want and the pediatrician has seen the panel. It is the only sugar-free melatonin-free kids gummy here.

What we don't like

$23.36 with no count in the title, no ingredients itemized in the title, and a sugar-free sweetener to check for a dog's sake.

Melatonin
None (no melatonin)
Form
Gummy, sugar-free
Count
Not published in the title
Ingredients named in title
Not itemized
Sugar
Sugar-free (stated)
Cost per piece
Not computable (count not published)
Age on label
Ages 4+ (stated in the title)

What we like

  • Sugar-free stated in the title
  • Ages 4 and up stated in the title
  • Recognized melatonin-free brand

Worth noting

  • Most expensive on the page, count not published
  • Ingredients not itemized in the title
Best ValueBest Liquid with a Stated Age
Hyland's Kids Melatonin-Free Sleep + Immune Support, Organic, Ages 2+, 4 oz

Hyland's Kids Melatonin-Free Sleep + Immune Support, Organic, Ages 2+, 4 oz

Hyland's

An organic 4 oz melatonin-free liquid labeled for ages 2 and up.

4.3

Our verdict: The liquid for the youngest stated age on the page. Hyland's Kids Melatonin-Free Sleep + Immune states organic, 4 oz and ages 2 and up at $8.39, the cheapest product here and the only melatonin-free liquid from a recognized brand with an age in the title. The ingredients are not itemized in the title; the panel has them.

Verified: Kids melatonin-free sleep and immune support liquid, organic, 4 oz, labeled for ages 2 and up per the listing title. Live at $8.39 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The 4 oz melatonin-free bottle. Hyland's Kids Melatonin-Free Sleep + Immune Support states organic, 4 oz and ages 2 and up at $8.39 (verified September 5, 2026). Its sibling with melatonin, Hyland's Kids Melatonin Sleep + Immune, states the same age and is ranked in best liquid melatonin for kids. Keep the two bottles apart.

"Ages 2+" is the youngest age printed on any product on this page, and it is Hyland's statement, not a pediatrician's. For a two-year-old the AAP's guidance points hardest at the routine: a consistent bedtime, a screen-free wind-down, and a pediatrician's conversation before any bottle. A liquid also measures by dropper, which is the format a pediatrician can direct precisely.

Hyland's also sells Calms Forte, 100 count at $10.49, which is not a kids product and belongs on the adult shelf.

Who should buy it

Buy it if you want a melatonin-free liquid with an age on the label, the organic statement matters, and the pediatrician has seen the panel. It is the cheapest product on the page.

What we don't like

Ingredients are not itemized in the title, the immune-support pairing adds ingredients to review, and the bottle looks like its melatonin sibling.

Melatonin
None (melatonin-free)
Form
Liquid
Volume
4 oz
Ingredients named in title
Not itemized (organic stated)
Sugar
Not published in the title
Cost per night
Not computable (servings not published)
Age on label
Ages 2+ (stated in the title)

What we like

  • Ages 2 and up stated in the title
  • Organic stated, 4 oz, $8.39
  • Liquid measures by dropper

Worth noting

  • Ingredients not itemized in the title
  • Looks like the melatonin sibling
Unit-Dose Liquid, Melatonin-Free
Boiron SleepCalm Kids Liquid Doses, Melatonin-Free and Non Habit-Forming

Boiron SleepCalm Kids Liquid Doses, Melatonin-Free and Non Habit-Forming

Boiron

Boiron's homeopathic kids sleep liquid in single-use doses, no melatonin.

4.1

Our verdict: The homeopathic option, described as its label describes it and no further. Boiron SleepCalm Kids Liquid Doses state melatonin-free and non habit-forming in single-use liquid doses at $9.66; the count is not in the title. Boiron is the recognized homeopathic maker, and a homeopathic product is a different category from a dietary supplement; the pediatrician should know which one is in the house.

Verified: Kids liquid unit doses, melatonin-free and non habit-forming as stated, homeopathic; count not published in the title. Live at $9.66 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Homeopathic, unit-dosed, melatonin-free. Boiron SleepCalm Kids Liquid Doses state melatonin-free and non habit-forming in single-use liquid doses, at $9.66 (verified September 5, 2026). The count is not published. A unit dose removes the dropper from the routine, which some parents prefer.

Homeopathic is a category, not a synonym for natural: a homeopathic product carries a Drug Facts style label under a different regulatory framework from a dietary supplement, and its listed ingredients are described in that framework's terms. We describe it as labeled. Whether it belongs in a child's routine is a pediatrician's decision, and the pediatrician should be told it is homeopathic.

Boiron also sells SleepCalm Kids in a non-liquid form at $10.99 and an adult SleepCalm at $11.01. The adult melatonin-free field is best melatonin-free sleep aids.

Who should buy it

Buy it if a homeopathic product is what you and the pediatrician have agreed on, and a single-use liquid dose suits your routine better than a dropper bottle.

What we don't like

The count is not in the title, the ingredients are not itemized in the title, no age range is stated, and a homeopathic product is a category some pediatricians will want to discuss specifically.

Melatonin
None (melatonin-free)
Form
Liquid unit doses
Count
Not published in the title
Ingredients named in title
Not itemized (homeopathic)
Sugar
Not published in the title
Cost per night
Not computable (count not published)
Age on label
Kids; range not published in the title

What we like

  • Single-use doses, no dropper
  • Recognized homeopathic maker
  • Under ten dollars

Worth noting

  • Count and ingredients not in the title
  • Homeopathic category to discuss with the pediatrician
Best Sugar-Free Tablet with a Stated Age
Nested Naturals Luna Kids Sugar-Free Sleep Aid Tablets for Children 4+

Nested Naturals Luna Kids Sugar-Free Sleep Aid Tablets for Children 4+

Nested Naturals

A sugar-free herbal kids tablet whose title prints children 4 and up.

4.2

Our verdict: The tablet on a page of gummies and liquids. Nested Naturals Luna Kids states sugar-free, naturally sourced, herbal, and children 4 and up at $15.95; the count is not in the title. A tablet is the least candy-like format here, the age is printed, and the brand is the recognized name behind the adult Luna line.

Verified: Kids sugar-free sleep aid tablets, naturally sourced and herbal as stated, labeled for children 4 and up per the listing title; count not published. Live at $15.95 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

A tablet, sugar-free, with an age. Nested Naturals Luna Kids states sugar-free sleep aid tablets for children 4 and up, naturally sourced and herbal in the brand's words, at $15.95 (verified September 5, 2026). The larger size is $29.95. Neither title states a count.

Herbal is a description, not an ingredient list: the panel names the herbs and the amounts, and every one of them is a line for the pediatrician. Sugar-free means a sweetener; check the other-ingredients line, and if it is xylitol keep it from the dog.

Nested Naturals' adult Luna Melatonin-Free is $19.95, and the adult Luna line, with and without melatonin, is in the Nested Naturals Luna review.

Who should buy it

Buy it if you want a tablet rather than a gummy or liquid, sugar-free, from a recognized herbal-sleep brand, with an age printed on the label.

What we don't like

Count not published, herbs not itemized in the title, and a Tier B brand without the retail presence of Zarbee's or OLLY.

Melatonin
None (herbal, melatonin-free)
Form
Tablet, sugar-free
Count
Not published in the title
Ingredients named in title
Not itemized (naturally sourced, herbal)
Sugar
Sugar-free (stated)
Cost per piece
Not computable (count not published)
Age on label
Children 4+ (stated in the title)

What we like

  • Tablet, the least candy-like format here
  • Sugar-free and children 4 and up stated
  • Recognized herbal-sleep brand

Worth noting

  • Count and herbs not in the title
  • Limited retail presence

The bedtime kit

The six things a parent or pet owner actually reaches for: the lowest-dose gummies and chewables, a melatonin-free option, and the calming chews vets are asked about most. Ask a pediatrician or veterinarian first. Prices are approximate at time of writing.

More picks worth comparing

Beyond this guide, the highest-rated picks across every category and budget, with a live price check on each.

Natrol 5 mg Fast Dissolve

Best Overall

Natrol 5 mg Fast Dissolve

5 mg · 90 ct · ~$9

Check Price
OLLY Sleep Gummies 3 mg

Best Gummy

OLLY Sleep Gummies 3 mg

3 mg · 70 ct · ~$16

Check Price
Nature Made 3 mg Tablets

Best Value

Nature Made 3 mg Tablets

3 mg · 120 ct · ~$7

Check Price
Life Extension 300 mcg

Best Low Dose

Life Extension 300 mcg

300 mcg · 100 ct · ~$8

Check Price
Natrol 10 mg Time Release

Best Time Release

Natrol 10 mg Time Release

10 mg · 100 ct · ~$17

Check Price
Zarbee's Kids 1 mg Gummies

Best for Kids

Zarbee's Kids 1 mg Gummies

1 mg · 60 ct · ~$15

Check Price

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no cost to you.

Quick shop: every pick

Skip the scroll: the whole lineup, with a live price check on each.

  1. Genexa Kids Sleepology, Melatonin-Free Sleep Aid, 60 ChewablesBest Melatonin-Free Sleep Aid for Kids OverallGenexa · $13.99Check price on Amazon
  2. Zarbee's Kids Gentle Bedtime Gummies with Chamomile, Melatonin-Free, 30 CountBest from a Children's BrandZarbee's · $17.99Check price on Amazon
  3. OLLY Kids Melatonin Free Sleep, Magnesium and L-Theanine, Peach, 50 CountBest with Magnesium and L-TheanineOLLY · $13.38Check price on Amazon
  4. SmartyPants Kids Sleep Zero Melatonin Gummies with L-Theanine, Lemon Balm and MagnesiumBest Three-Ingredient GummySmartyPants · $17.99Check price on Amazon
  5. MaryRuth's Kids Nighttime Gummies, Ages 4+, No Melatonin, Sugar-FreeBest Sugar-Free with a Stated AgeMaryRuth's · $23.36Check price on Amazon
  6. Hyland's Kids Melatonin-Free Sleep + Immune Support, Organic, Ages 2+, 4 ozBest Liquid with a Stated AgeHyland's · $8.39Check price on Amazon
  7. Boiron SleepCalm Kids Liquid Doses, Melatonin-Free and Non Habit-FormingUnit-Dose Liquid, Melatonin-FreeBoiron · $9.66Check price on Amazon
  8. Nested Naturals Luna Kids Sugar-Free Sleep Aid Tablets for Children 4+Best Sugar-Free Tablet with a Stated AgeNested Naturals · $15.95Check price on Amazon

How we chose

Melatonin-free kids products are ranked on how completely the listing states what is in them, the form and how it fits a child, the count and cost per piece where published, whether the title states an age, whether the maker is a recognized brand, and the honesty of the label. We read the Supplement Facts or Drug Facts panel and the live Amazon listing and verify price and availability through the Amazon Creators API (this page: September 5, 2026). We weigh consistent owner reports, we do not run a lab, and we never claim physical testing. We make no claim about whether any of these products works; a page about melatonin-free bedtime products is a page about labels.

These products are dietary supplements, or in Boiron's case a homeopathic product, in the United States. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. The American Academy of Pediatrics reaches for a consistent bedtime routine first and advises talking to a pediatrician before giving a child any sleep supplement; the storage guidance that applies to melatonin gummies applies to these too, because most look like candy and none are required to be in child-resistant packaging. Poison Control: 1-800-222-1222.

Questions, answered

What is the best melatonin-free sleep aid for kids?

Genexa Kids Sleepology, 60 melatonin-free chewables at $13.99 at our September 5, 2026 check, is our pick for the most complete label and the least candy-like format. Zarbee's Kids Gentle Bedtime with chamomile is the children's-brand gummy; OLLY Kids Melatonin Free Sleep names magnesium and L-theanine. We describe each as its label states and make no claim that any of them works; a pediatrician decides, and the bedtime routine does the lasting work.

What do pediatricians recommend instead of melatonin for kids?

A consistent bedtime routine and schedule, a screen-free hour before bed, dim light in the evening and bright light in the morning, and a look at what might be driving the sleep trouble. That is what the AAP reaches for first. Melatonin-free bedtime products exist and are covered here, and a pediatrician can say whether any of them fits alongside the routine.

Are melatonin-free sleep gummies safe for kids?

A pediatrician decides on any product bought for a child's bedtime. Melatonin-free means the hormone is absent; it does not mean the product is free of ingredients a pediatrician should review, and it does not change the storage rule: a jar of flavored gummies belongs out of reach whatever is in it. Poison Control is 1-800-222-1222 for any unintentional ingestion.

What is in melatonin-free kids sleep gummies?

It varies by product, and the listing title often does not say. Where titles name ingredients on this page: chamomile (Zarbee's), magnesium and L-theanine (OLLY Kids), L-theanine, lemon balm and magnesium (SmartyPants). Genexa, MaryRuth's, Hyland's, Boiron and Nested Naturals do not itemize in the title; the panel does. Take the panel to the pediatrician.

Is magnesium safe for kids to help them sleep?

A pediatrician's question, not ours. Magnesium appears in two products here (OLLY Kids, SmartyPants) at amounts stated on the panel, not in the title. A pediatrician will want to know what else the child takes. We make no claim about magnesium and sleep in children; our melatonin vs magnesium page covers what the adult labels say.

Which melatonin-free kids sleep aids state an age?

Three in our catalog print one in the listing title: Hyland's Kids Melatonin-Free Sleep + Immune, ages 2 and up; MaryRuth's Kids Nighttime Gummies, ages 4 and up; Nested Naturals Luna Kids, children 4 and up. The others state a kids product without a range, and we report none. An age on a label is the maker's statement; a pediatrician decides for a particular child.

Are homeopathic kids sleep aids the same as supplements?

No. A homeopathic product such as Boiron SleepCalm Kids carries a Drug Facts style label under a different regulatory framework from a dietary supplement, and its ingredients are described in that framework's terms. We describe it as labeled, make no claim about it, and suggest telling the pediatrician specifically that a homeopathic product is in the house.

Can I switch my child from melatonin to a melatonin-free product?

With the pediatrician, yes; the AAP frames melatonin for children as short-term with a plan to reassess, and a melatonin-free product alongside the routine is one thing a pediatrician might discuss at that reassessment. Several brands here sell both versions (Zarbee's, OLLY, SmartyPants, Hyland's), which makes the switch a matter of reading the label and keeping the two jars apart.